We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of okay.....”

Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront
Reserve with OpenTable
Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #88 of 1,428 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 57th Street
Description: The Surf Club sits right on the sand of Virginia Beach, offering the best view of the Atlantic in the city. We pride ourselves on sourcing the freshest local seafood and produce and offer quality service. We have an outdoor patio with plush seating, fire pits, a tropical bar and live entertainment.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Kind of okay.....”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

There are rave reviews but I found it average. The whole environment is off -putting. If they can't take care of the areas you can see, you have to question how clean, and well cared for are the areas you can't see???

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank millie9933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathleen_s_57, General Manager at Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at the beach. Please know that we are making changes and upgrades every day to both our physical structure as well as our operational procedures, menus, food prep procedures and more to insure that no other guests will have the same frustrations you did.
I would invite you to return as my personal guest so that I may insure your next experience here is one that you will write fondly about. Please feel free to contact me personally so that I may arrange your next visit.
Most Sincerely,
Kathleen Stangret,
Restaurant General Manager
Surf Club Ocean Grille
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    49
    40
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Breakfasts, Surprise Dinners”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Every breakfast served is delicious and plentiful, you get a lot for your dollar. You're getting gourmet service for a little more than a chain breakfast place price. My wife and I will share a plate often as there is so much. Try the French toast or the Eggs Benedict, both superb. The service staff is always friendly and will refill your coffee or water as much as you'd like without calling. Now dinner is another story. What's on the menu is not always what you get. It's a roulette game, sometimes you win. Our last meal was supposed to have been almond crusted tilapia with risotto and pureed butternut squash. What we got was a dried piece of flounder with a ton of almonds raw, buried underneath was sticky risotto with a cold splayed open butternut squash and microwaved cubed pieces of squash mixed in with the risotto. My beer was flat and the reason was they had to use room temperature glasses as they had no chilled glasses. Instead i got a semi-cold bottle of beer to replace it. It cost a pretty penny on top of it. It was the special at $18 until 7 but then it went up by $10 and it wasn't even what they described.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food poor service”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

waiter took his time doing other thngs then bringing our food other servers had to do his tables was not attentive to the people at the table

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Li S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful but,Pricey!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Beautiful, unique design & decor. Staff were very friendly & attentive. Portions were pretty small & pretty pricey. They offered a lunch buffett special but, nothing for dinner.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank hwhitehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mediocre Food; Great Location”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We ate breakfast here every day. With some pressure, they let us eat outside. The patio is lovely and seeing the ocean (complete with frolicking dolphins) was a great way to start the day. The Starbucks coffee is good but the rest of the food was unimaginative, tasteless. I ordered a muffin for breakfast and it was served still in the little plastic bag -- you know, the kind of muffin you buy at 7 11.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront also viewed

 
Virginia Beach, VA
 
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing