We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!”
Review of Alamar Resort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alamar Resort Inn
Ranked #69 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Ummm...I wanted to surprise my daughter and treat her for a nice break...so we stayed here durning the Nuptune Festival..the location was close to the event but we felt uncomfortable...felt like we were being watched because cameras everywhere. The advertisement said there was a lounge...gameroom...ice machine not the case.....no one in office in the evenings...seemed like once they got the money the office people disappeared...the shower handle broke on me and the owner blamed me for breaking it..this place could be a gold mine if managed properly...

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank obxsandrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamarResort, Owner at Alamar Resort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2015

The Alamar Resort Inn is a privately owned hotel in the resort area of Virginia Beach and our
focus is on providing a family environment for our guests. We get many complements and many repeat guests because we maintain a quiet and enjoyable environment and our rules are in place to make that environment possible.

This reservation was made online for 2 guests with hotel policies stated under important information. Hotel rates are always based on the number of guests, and, at check-in, this guest stated that he was traveling with his wife and one child. As stated in our polices, guests under 12 have no fee, so, initially, there was no additional charge. When the 2 additional teenage children arrived , the rate was adjusted $10 a day for each one. When this guest became angry at the rate increase, we referred her to the polices clearly stated on her online reservation information.

Unfortunately, and, to our regret, sometimes no matter what we do , there will be occasions when a guest is not happy. When this guest's rate was adjusted properly for the number of people in her party, she became angry, and , from that point on, we could do nothing right in her eyes. Every request made by this guest was honored promptly and this guest was treated with the utmost courtesy and professionalism throughout her stay. It is our goal that each of our guests have as wonderful and memorable vacation as possible

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 196 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

I spent an entire month at the Alamar while I was relocating to the area. It offered me everything I needed. The suite was clean and offered a kitchen with all the comforts of home. The owners and housekeeping staff were friendly and helpful. The location was perfect for daily walks on the boardwalk. Thanks to all for making my transition to a new town so easy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank abb23451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Alamar Resort Inn is a wonderful place to stay for your get away. The owners and staff were always friendly and helpful, and made us feel nothing but welcomed. I'm really funny about how places smell when I stay there, because some hotel smell weird, and I can gladly say The Alamar Resort Inn was very refreshing, as well as perfectly clean! Definitely appropriate for a family stay, business stay, couples, or even solo. Great location. This is the only place I would stay when I come back to V.A., and I advise everyone else to stay here too!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the Alamar one night while traveling through Virginia Beach. We knew we would get a good night's rest when we read the rules involving respect for fellow guests. It is a small hotel, just a block and a half from the boardwalk and beach. Our room was a nice size and the bathroom had been remodeled. The microwave and refrigerator were a plus. The resort is very well maintained and clean. It looked and was very cozy. We would definitely stay there again when we pass through the area. Next time we hope to stay additional nights..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SeniorTravelersPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife and I selected this location because it was pet friendly and we wanted a quick week-end get-away. We liked the friendly welcome and noticed right away the well-appointed exterior and the cleanliness of our room. However, no mention was made of the fact that the only ice-machine on the property was broken and this was a big inconvenience later in the evening. We found the surrounding neighborhood less than desirable and there was much noise and police activity well into the early morning hours. Our room was adjoining to another and every time our neighbors flushed their toilet it sounded like they were actually in our bathroom it was so loud. We did enjoy the pool and liked having a refrigerator and microwave. It is a shame this location is situated where it is because we will not return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank william l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed Monday through Friday and the place was quiet and comfortable. We had a one bedroom suite. Pros for this place was location, plenty of hot water and good water pressure, and the refrigerator was spotless. The saltwater pool was nice, along with the rooftop and second floor decks. The rooms were nice sized and for a family of 4 we did not feel cramped.

The cons were quite a few. First there not being a safe in the room and no chain lock (or other device) to lock the door other than the handle and deadbolt that had a key hole in the front. I prefer a way to lock the door where someone canot enter by key considering I have children. Second were the roaches. Granted I only found 2 and the owners must have been aware considering the pest control man came by to check back from a previous visit, it still was rather gross. For a "full" kitchen they didn't even have a toaster. Our dishwasher broke on the second day we were there after our housekeeper was so nice to do our dishes (as I had read about in other posts and found a bonus). When I went to the office to let them know that we had come back to a floor filled with soapy water I was interrogated by who I can only assume was Tina. She was very upset the housekeeper did the dishes and was rather rude about the whole incident. To her defense she did ring the room within minutes to apologize. However they never bothered to even look at/fix the dishwasher. They lock the door to the washers and dryers (and the ice machine that doesn't work) at night without warning - leaving us running late the next day while we dried our laundry that sat in the washer overnight. No TV in the bedroom was another negative.

We are the easy going type. If not I'm sure this stay wouldn't have been as good. However my husband and I agreed we wouldn't return to this establishment. We didn't feel welcome or appreciated while patronizing this establishment. Combining that with the other negatives it's worth trying somewhere else

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Latisha I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamarResort, Owner at Alamar Resort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

We appreciate this guests's complements on our comfortable , spacious and quiet hotel as well as our observation decks, outdoor saltwater pool and location. The Alamar is a 2 minute walk to the middle of the boardwalk and beach area which makes it a great access point for our guests. Our wonderful staff works hard to provide very nice and very clean accommodations for our guests and we appreciate this guest's acknowledgement of their efforts.

The Alamar Resort Inn is a family owned and family oriented hotel and is very safe and secure because it matters to us and we make it so. We care very much about all of this guests comments and want to address each item mentioned, While checking this guest in, we had a cordial and friendly conversation about Va Bch, things to do and a sushi restaurant recommendation. We spoke to them several times during their stay and they told us they were having a great time and no mention was made about having any concerns. We are proactive about pest prevention and have a weekly green treatment done in all of the rooms. Guest's cleanliness and what they may bring from home in their luggage makes regular treatment a must. Our housekeeper was concerned about all of the dirty dishes and pots with food on them left out in this guest's room so she extended this guest the extra courtesy service of cleaning the kitchen of their suite. Our housekeeper inadvertently did not latch the dishwasher completely and when this was discovered she immediately went back to the room , apologized and took care of the issue. Our guest laundry is locked at 10pm and reopened at 8 am. We would have gladly re-opened it if this guest had contacted the front desk to let us know that their laundry was still in the washer from early afternoon. The ice machine does work, but, sometimes may take a little while to replenish if a guest has filled up their ice chest. This guest had a suite and the television is in the living room and a second television for the bedroom and a toaster was just a phone call away. Guests don't all have the same needs so we tailor each guest's stay to fit their wishes. We are always available and responsive when given the opportunity.

The Alamar Resort Resort Inn wants all of it's guests to have as wonderful and memorable a vacation as possible. We thank this guest for staying with us and hope that they choose to stay with us again and if they do we will welcome them with open arms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was our fourth year here and we plan to return next year. We always appreciate the spacious room, friendly owners, and beautiful pool. The standout feature this year was the very attentive service we received from the housekeeping staff. I admit that I often forget to leave a tip for housekeeping when I stay in any hotel, I'm usually absorbed in packing. This year I made sure I left something for these hard working and friendly housekeepers. I also loved the new countertop in "my" room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank quetzalmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#82 of 109 in Virginia Beach
250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
453 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceans 2700 Hotel
Oceans 2700 Hotel
#65 of 109 in Virginia Beach
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#57 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,993 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#50 of 109 in Virginia Beach
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
19 Atlantic Hotel
19 Atlantic Hotel
#72 of 109 in Virginia Beach
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamar Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamar Resort Inn

Address: 311 16th St, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3446
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $60 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alamar Resort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Style Hotel. We are about cleanliness and quality rooms. We offer a continental breakfast may 1 thru September 15th. We are a 2 minute walk to the boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Alamar Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamar Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing