We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Virgina Beach”
Review of Alamar Resort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alamar Resort Inn
Ranked #67 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Gem in Virgina Beach”
Reviewed January 26, 2008

We stayed at the Alamar for 3 days last summer. We had never been to VA beach and the choice of hotels was overwhelming. The reviews on this website were favorable and I liked the idea that it was a smaller hotel. It was truly a great choice. It is only a few blocks to the beach, which was great with small children. The room was clean and nicely furnished. The small refrigerator in the room and laundry on site was convenient. We would definitely return to the Alamar.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank vcinmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    40
    20
    14
    17
See reviews for
98
44
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2007

We were in Virginia Beach for a national dance competition. As you can guess, the hotels were booked solid. Of course, we were looking for an oceanfront hotel but the prices were well out of our range. We stumbled upon the Alamar Resort Inn and I'm glad we did. Turns out, staying at the Alamar Resort Inn was perfect! We were 1-1/2 blocks away from the ocean. We walked to the beach/boardwalk everyday. At night, we walked to Atlantic Street (happenin' street). We walked everywhere and just left our vehicle parked at the Inn. The kids just loved the pool. The staff invited us to the rooftop to watch the fireworks - best view in the city! The staff was very friendly & accommodating and certainly made us feel "at home"! Clean rooms, friendly staff, quiet environment, close proximity to beach, all at reasonable prices will insure another visit to Alamar Resort Inn!!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank KayMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2007

Stayed 5 days at the Alamar in august. Was actually booked for springhill suites but changed plans and had to switch to Alamar.

We loved staying at the Alamar. Its clean, the location is cool and the pool was exellent. We paid 119$ pr. night and since the hotel is well-kept its a bargain.

The staff is nice and very helpfull. Go there instead of paying 200-300 $ at the boardwalk.

  • Liked — The Pool
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bholst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2007

Chose the motel after reading many reviews depicting it as a quiet, clean, inexpensive motel hosting the retired RV crowd.

I wasn't surprised by anything. It was a bit like staying at the in-laws empty guest room (furnished the same), but with a nice pool. This is actually just what we needed with small kids (and the mother in law in tow). For the price, I could afford a double suite on the end so that we had plenty of room and didn't worry so much about our noisy kids.

The management was helpful and wanted us to be pleased. They went easy on me with my loose regard for the hotel rules, which I appreciated. I could do laundry almost anytime (things do close up early) and could have a beer by the pool, both pleasing. The ac was a bit clumsy and not too cold, but we understood there's not much you can do in revamping an older place.

Beach access is easy as long as you are aware of drunken beach kids racing down the drag. I never felt unsafe at or around the motel. A good drugstore is just around the corner, which came in handy.

As long as the prices stay low, I might stay again if back in town with the fam. I suspect that the hi-rise hotels are lousy in the area based on similar experience and tons of reviews.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Decor
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hopetodoitagainsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2007

When we came to VA Beach, we have had no reservation for any hotel. It was late, around 11 pm. We drove around to find a nice place to stay for 10 nights. At 16th street, i looked to my right and there it was: The Alamar Resort Inn. At first sight, it looked very very good to us and we decided to stay here. It was a good decision. The Alamar is very clean, quiet and conviniently located (one block from the beach). The staff is very friendly and always gives a helping hand. We are from Germany: To find a place like this, was just good luck for us. We will most probably come back.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank martinamv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2007

The Alamar was ok. I stayed there on a recommendation of someone who stayed two years prior. I visited with my two small children (age 9 months and 4) and cousin Aug 26- 29. We got there Sunday afternooon and left Tuesday evening around 7PM. The BIGGEST deal was there were some ants in our room. I noticed three of them when we checked in in the shower area near the drain. On Tuesday afternoon after we came from the beach six of them were sited in the bedroom area. They did come in a spray for them. The young man doing housekeeping said it was a "common" problem in VA Beach. We stayed in room 306,a one bedroom apt. Having a small child, I needed a microwave, refrigerator etc. Another big pain was carrying all of our stuff upstairs and bringing it down. I probably should have requested a ground floor had I thought about it. The pool was very nice and it is a short walk to the beach but not anything to worry about. I paid $96.00 before tax per night as I was told it was a special for end of August since it's the slow season. Management is responsive however could be a bit more friendly. You definitley get a diverse mix of people there. Overall, it was ok but I would not stay again due to the ants for sure! They were tiny ants but still ants!!
Mom of two small kids/ MD

  • Liked — Pool, proximity
  • Disliked — Ants, No elevator
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeeVeeMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Alamar for 4 nights. It was very clean, comfortable and quiet. The pool was a little small but was never crowded which was nice. I would have liked for it to be open later than 10pm though. It is 2 short blocks from the ocean front but nicer than most of the other hotels. If we come back to Virginia Beach we would stay here again.

  • Liked — close walking distance to the boadwalk and pier
  • Disliked — pool closed too early, decor a bit out dated
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa5997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#82 of 109 in Virginia Beach
148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceans 2700 Hotel
Oceans 2700 Hotel
#65 of 109 in Virginia Beach
107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#52 of 109 in Virginia Beach
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virgi...
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,301 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Virginia Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#24 of 109 in Virginia Beach
709 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach
Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Be...
#38 of 109 in Virginia Beach
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamar Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamar Resort Inn

Property: Alamar Resort Inn
Address: 311 16th St, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3446
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Alamar Resort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Style Hotel. We are about cleanliness and quality rooms. We offer a continental breakfast may 1 thru September 15th. We are a 2 minute walk to the boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Alamar Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamar Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing