We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“light curtains”
Review of Alamar Resort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alamar Resort Inn
Ranked #67 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“light curtains”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

It was really hard to sleep with an outdoor lamp open all night in front of the room. The curtains are not dark enough. The room still have an old tapestry on the wall with old toilet and bath. We had problems with the shower and was first told they could not do anything. It took about 20 minutes before they finaly came back and gave us the piece missing in order for us to use the shower. Normaly, it would not matter much, but this is Virginia beach and when you come back from the beach you need to wash the sand in a shower, not bath!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catou2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alamarresortinn, Owner at Alamar Resort Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2011
The curtains for this room are new and now that is has been brought to our attention through
this review that they may not provide enough coverage we will look into the matter.This guest did not know how to operate the shower so we went to their room and showed them how to operate it. There was not a missing part. Once they were shown how to use the shower they had no furthur issue with it. We are always available to our guests and always responsive when given the opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    40
    20
    14
    17
See reviews for
98
44
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Virginia Beach is one of our favorite place for vacation. We've stayed many times at Alamar. The hotel has everything to please my wife and I (well located, secure, clean, amenities, good price, etc.). The new owners, Tina and Ernie, are very nice people. The staff (maids and maintenance) help you enjoy your stay as well. That was great. For sure, we'll return in the future.

Room Tip: We like rooms upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cholu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Some pro's about the Alamar Resort Inn. Staff was very plesant and facility clean. Very close to anyting you may need. Suites were roomy, 3 adults and 3 children, no problem.
some Con's. Hotel is 2 blocks from beach front, altho a short walk crossing Pacific ave. proved to be a night-mare, (hang on to the young ones). If you plan on usuing the kitchen, you may want to take a few items, there is not much there. We had to go buy a spatchula. A/C unit is located in the closet of the bedroom, very noisey, also if ou like your room to be dark take eye shades, 70watts of metal halide lighting right in front of the windows. The game room is not as it appears on the web-site, the door was lock the entire week we were there and the only thing in there was a ping pong table, this room also is the access to one of the sun decks,
All in all it is was a ok hotel,but nothing to rave about. for the amount of $$$ spent for this resort, I will make sure the next time I will get ocean front.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank soccerdad_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alamarresortinn, Owner at Alamar Resort Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
This guests complements about our wonderful staff and well cared for property are very much
appreciated. Our rooms and suites are unusually large and our guests appreciate the extra space and comfort. The Alamar is a 2 minute walk from our front door to the middle of the boardwalk and beach and there are convenient crosswalks for beach access. Our suites
are a 1 bedroom apartment with a queen bed in the master bedroom and a separate room
with a complete kitchen and television sofa area and the sofa becomes a second queen bed.
The kitchen has a full sized refrigerator, stove, dishwasher, toaster, coffeemaker and basic dishes and pots with a dining room table that sits six.
We are always available and responsive to our guests and if this guest had contacted us we would have quickly responded had we been given the opportunity to assist. It is our goal that each of our guests have as wonderful and memorable vacation as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We have stayed at the Alamar for our family reunions for 4 years in a row and absolutely
love it. The rooms are spacious and immaculate and everyone loves the saltwater
pool. We get a combination of standard rooms and a two bedroom suite which has the
adjoining door so it is like a 2 bedroom apartment. There is a coin operated laundry on
the property which is so convenient especially for longer stays. Tina and Ernie, the owners,
are wonderful and they create a great environment that is quiet, clean and attractive and are very helpful and responsive.
They are continually improving things. Last year they added a fountain in from of the hotel
with colored lights at night and this year they stained the entire parking lot with a beautiful
design that is just lovely. I cannot say enough about the Alamar and highly recommend
the gem of a hotel

Room Tip: Tina and Ernie are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank lovetogarden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stayed for a week in June. We had two adjoining rooms. This was a family vacation that was wonderful! The owners Tina and Ernie, were wonderful! they made reservations for us and were always helpful with advice on where to go and what we should not miss.The rooms were kept immaculately clean. Only 2 blocks from beach but seems closer. One block back from the "action" street with all the entertainment and shops! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: I called Tina!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank angeltoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Hotel is dated. However, bathrooms were clean. Major complaint - no air-condition controls in room! Apparently, controls were in the adjoining suite and we were told that we needed to call that room at midnight and ask the occupants to turn on the air! We were not offered another room or compensated for inconvenience.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank harmonrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alamarresortinn, Owner at Alamar Resort Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
The Alamar Resort Inn is decorated in Queen Anne style furnishings which is a very well-known and popular style of decor. We appreciate this guest's complements on our room's cleanliness. Cleanliness is a priority a the Alamar and we work hard every day to maintain a high standard for all of our guests.
This guest's room is part of a 2 bedroom suite and as soon as we were notified of their concern we immediately had the air conditioning adjusted and did not hear any furthur from this guest. If we had, we would have most definitely taken additional measures. At no time was this guest instructed to call another guest - this simply did not happen. Our guest's comfort and happiness is paramount to us at all times and we are always responsive to our guests when given the opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

My husband and I came to Virginia Beach to run in the Rock n' Roll half marathon. Our friends already had their reservations there, so we just decided to join them.

I thought it was great that when I was doing the booking Tina came right out and asked, "Are you coming for the race?" I thought, 'Cool, they know what's going on!' Gave me a sense of belonging. We were supposed to arrive about 5 pm, but one delay after another with the airlines and it was after 11 pm and raining! I 'd called Tina earlier in the day when I knew we weren't gonna make it by our original scheduled time (still thinking we'd be there by about 8). She was great about it, just said to call when we landed. I knew this hotel was owned by "people" not a corporation, so that request was well within reason. My last phone call made it very obvious, we were gonna be really late, she was very understanding, told me our room number and where the key would be and that I could check in the next morning. OMG! That is rare!! So we were able to just get our key and get to bed without inconveniencing them or delaying our badly needed sleep!!

The next day we checked in with no problem. We had a couple days to acclimate before the race so we spent it checking out the beach (which is a VERY short walk from the hotel!), the race course and the rest of the town.

After the run Tina asked how we did...she remembered! During our stay we also enjoyed the rooftop balcony--incredibly pleasant, the pool and the peacefulness! This is a small hotel and because of that we felt welcome and not like a number! Our room was clean and well maintained, everything was in working order. We did not stay in a suite, but our room was quite spacious, including a microwave and a little fridge, making a huge difference for storing some of our unique workout foods and snacks.

Not sure if we'll make the TX to VA trek for another race, but if we ever do find ourselves in Virginia Beach, I would definitely stay at the Alamar again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rebatwin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#82 of 109 in Virginia Beach
144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceans 2700 Hotel
Oceans 2700 Hotel
#65 of 109 in Virginia Beach
107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#51 of 109 in Virginia Beach
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virgi...
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,301 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Virginia Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#24 of 109 in Virginia Beach
709 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach
Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Be...
#38 of 109 in Virginia Beach
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamar Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamar Resort Inn

Property: Alamar Resort Inn
Address: 311 16th St, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3446
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Alamar Resort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Style Hotel. We are about cleanliness and quality rooms. We offer a continental breakfast may 1 thru September 15th. We are a 2 minute walk to the boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Alamar Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamar Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing