We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VACATION STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stay was very nice.Would stay there again.Hotel is older but clean and staff very nice
and friendly.I probably will not fill out this survey again.Takes to long.

Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank RALPH K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,744 - 1,750 of 2,106 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

First time at this hotel, found everything very nice, even valets helped in any way they could. The TV was alittle fuzzy on some channels and internet was a little slow but can't complain, overall stay was fantastic, needed a rest from the stress and found it here. Great experience of staff, clean, welcoming, will stay again...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank DONNA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The bed was comfy, the wifi didn't work, the hotel had an overall dirty feel. The location was great. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Front desk check in personnel on 9/21 was very friendly and helpful. This was important to start the stay that way.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Desk Staff, housekeeping, and valet attendents were all very friendly and good at their jobs.. However, this hotel seemed to be outdated and lacked amenities that I expected based on the website and booking with a large name like Ramada. There was 1 washer and 2 dryers for the entire hotel (no change machine) Our room had a lack of electrical outlets which means we had to unplugg one thing to plug in another. The televisions were old and had very poor reception. Not much of a problem for us because we were out enjoying ourselves. The workout room consisted of a few cardio machines with little or no ventilation. Also, there were no resistance machines and/or free weights. The hot tub had a major chlorine issue which was reported to desk on the first of our 5 day stay and issue was not resolved when we went home. Other guests we've met in pool area agreed that it was unbearable and likely dangerous to sit in hot tub. Being that it was the off season and a bit cold to swim in ocean, it would have been nice to have the pool area running correctly.

in short, I would recommend this hotel for 1 or 2 nights for business purposes but as far as for a vacation stay, I would think there are better places to stay in the area that have more of the value added amenities that my wife and I expected to have with this Ramada

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank NolanTrucksville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Naval jets flew over the hotel on practice runs from the Norfolk Naval Air Base every 20 minutes from 10 a.m. to 10 p.m. and the noise was brutal. I wouldn't go back to Virginia Beach again just because of that! It would have been nice to know about the noise in advance. Those fly-bys have been going on for some time according to the valet attendants. It was so loud when the jets flew over that a normal conversation was impossible.

The front desk and consierge were friendly and helpful. Cleaning staff however was so-so. The dust ruffle around the bed was dirty. Garbage cans were undersized and were filthy. Our room smelled of old cigars or cigarettes and we asked for a non-smoking room.

The swimming pool was clean, but it was too cold for a "heated" pool. We tried to use the hot tub, but we had to get out after 5 minutes. The chlorine in there was strong enough to cause sinus irritation (not an exaggeration). Informed the front desk, but nothing happened to resolve the issue.

Bathroom facitilies were too small. The bathroom sink was outside the bathroom near the door. So, after using the toilet you have to open the door before having the opportunity to wash your hands, unless you use the bathtub. A very bad design. The lighting in the sink area was very poor.

The television reception was horrible. This is the age of high definition. Not only was there no Hi-Def, but some stations were just unwatchable because of poor reception.

The sliding door to the balcony was actually quite dangerous. There is a very high flange sticking up at the base of that door just waiting for someone that is distracted, especially someone that had a drink or two, to trip and get seriously injured.

There is one washer and two clothes dryer for the entire hotel, i.e. 8 floors!!!! And, there was no change machine. The front desk would not provide change for more than two dollars. It takes four dollars to do your laundry (wash and dry).

The exercise room is the size of a walkin closet. I was packed with cardio equipment, but no resistance equipment or free weights. I have been in lots of hotels with at least some free weights to workout with, but not here.

For an advertised renovated hotel this place was a disappointment. The balcony furniture was cheap plastic chairs that could be bought at Dollar General for $10.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

If you have small children, do not go here. The band plays until 11 (which I liked) and was so loud that you couldn't escape it. If you are OK with this, the place is great. The fitness center is pretty cool, and having a nice restaurant downstairs was a plus. No continental breakfast which was a problem for anyone with a coffee addiction! The pillows were aweful. Their site says they are foam. Total lie. If you have neck issues, bring your own pillow.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#78 of 109 in Virginia Beach
514 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#59 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,959 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Ocean...
#22 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,182 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#26 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,032 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 615 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $70 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia Beach's hotel with the best view, come experience the calming ocean waters and cooling breezes of the Summer season at this seaside escape. Nationally ranked as the #1 Ramada in North America and now with brand new oceanfront rooms, we’re even better than before. Fully renovated with comfortable and contemporary accommodations, see why the Ramada is the best destination to experience seaside living in Virginia Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada On The Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Ramada Hotel Virginia Beach
Ramada Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing