We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exhaust all other options first.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exhaust all other options first.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Nice prime location but I would basically stay anywhere else possible.

Concierge
Not prompt or knowledgeable. Plus I got charged twice for my $644.00 bill, and still the manager has not returned my call.

Room
Decent but AC is all or nothing.
Turn off all lights before you rush out to sit on the balcony. You too will probably have to live with moths in your room, regardless. Bath towels are small and old so consider bringing your own. The legs of my ironing board had rusted off, so i couldnt use it. Yet the concierge told me to just lay it on top of the luggage rack or go without. Nice, right?

Gym
Ultra busted. Go pay a guest fee somewhere unless you want to reminisce about the '80s.

Mahi Mah's
Breakfast was better than dinner. A bit over priced, especially considering the taste of the food. I would walk down to Planet Pizza twice a day before I ate here again.

Beach
Great spot on the beach...too bad this hotel can't be bought out by a different company.

Parking
It takes forever if you utilize the valet. Just drive the block and park your car yourself in the garage. At least it's free. It should be, considering the room rate.

Overall there was enough bad to outweigh the good. The elevators constantly break down so it can 20 minutes to run up to your room. The hotel needs someone to supervise the halls and pool area because it's too chaotic with kids running all over the place, every day from 11-4. The hallways feel like a sauna, which is quite gross. Maid service needs to step it up.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabrina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    553
    501
    226
    121
See reviews for
782
631
64
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

Nice view of the beach from balcony however it is at one end of the beach meaning you have to drive/use public transport to get to most places. Rooms are slightly small. Avoid taking the corner rooms since they do not give much privacy.

Rooms are small and bathrooms are way too small. Since this building is old I felt there was a distinct smell in the rooms. Maybe it was just me. Overall an ok experience.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MSIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

I Loved Ramada Inn at the beach. I prefer the 5 star time share resorts at the beach (you can rent them even if you are not an owner), but my budget this year didn't allow it! The Ramada valet parking is awesome and front/desk lobby area looks clean and modern. The room was nice, I did experct a fridge and microwave for the price; but you can get one for $10 extra per day. There are three best things about the resport: the oceanfront location and views (sunrise was incredible); Mahia Mah's being connected (great food!) and the live music nightly right next door (ends early enough to get a good night's sleep). Loved the huge bed and fresh linens. The down side was an indoor poos vs outdoor. The pool area looked old and didn't look that well kept. All that said..I am going back for a mini weekend break in Septmember, so I must love it!

Room Tip: Call ahead to make sure your accomodations are correct (special requests like fridge, etc)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachLady23188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Room was clean and quiet (yay!). Bed extremely comfortable and every room had an ocean view. Staff was knowledgeable and friendly. Right at the south end of the board walk. Complimentary valet parking was a nice surprise. The only down side is the price (as with all beach hotels in August), but was a good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharkagirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit, MO
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here for 7 days. Staff is very friendly and always willing to help or answer questions. CONS: Cleaning crew. We ran out of toilet paper twice and both times we had to "go find" some more because it was overlooked during cleaning. Probably because the bathroom was never cleaned while we were there, only towels were replaced. Don't count on getting new coffee packets either. We had to hunt those down as well since the crew didn't notice we had drank the coffee. Our sheets were only cleaned once during our stay only because we stripped our sheets to help them get the picture :) No refridgerator or microwave in standard rooms. You must pay an extra $10+ a day for each. PROS: All the rooms face the beach so no room has a bad view. We enjoyed a beautiful sunrise every morning. Valet parking staff was awesome. Great balcony for ppl watching and views of the boardwalk and beach. We even got to see dolphins from our balcony! Kids enjoyed the bike rentals just outside of the hotel. Hotel is connected to Mahi Mah's restaurant. Coupons available for breakfast and lunch.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite for use of fridge and microwave. Saves on cost of going out to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CzechZuzka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Great restaurant bar just inside. Valet guys and gals are real cool. Covered parking is just accross the street. Live bands play right outside at night. The place is right on a good spot on the boardwalk. Bar staff is great and the food is awesome too. Rooms are all ocean view.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peleliu08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

Just back from 4 nights at the Ramada on the Beach. First, the positives... Hotel was fairly clean. It's a constant battle for them to keep up with the sand. Did a pretty good job with that. Concierge was very friendly and helpful. The view was amazing, especially the sunrise and watching dolphins play. Mahi Mah's is the restaurant in the hotel. It is a great place to eat and have some fun. Food is incredible and they have music playing which makes it very lively. On the side of the hotel, they have a band playing every night for a few hours. Very fun and the bands were great. It's loud enough for you to enjoy on your balcony, but if you don't want to listen, close the balcony door and it won't bother you. Bike rentals right outside the door!
Now, the cons...no outdoor pool. With my 10 year old, that would have made a huge difference. The front desk, although not rude...just had no personality. Didn't go out of their way to please. A smile wouldn't kill them. I called down a couple times for items. Once I had to call down several hours later to remind them. Once I called down specifically for DECAF coffee. I was thrilled to see someone in under 2 minutes!!! Unfortunately, after I drank a pot of it, I realized they gave me regular coffee. Heart is still pounding. Now, the room... it's small. Bathroom is tiny. In order to close the door, you need to squeeze between the toilet and the sink. That got old! The bed was uncomfortable for me and hurt my back and neck. Blanket consisted of a sheet, thin blanket, and another sheet on top. Thought that was weird and wished it had a comforter. AC worked but very loud. Hard to get the right temperature. Directly in front of this hotel on the beach is an unsightly black drain that is used to drain excess water from the inlet. This didn't bother me until the 2 nights they were draining. The water is black and they ran it for 13 hours straight! Now the water was dirty by the hotel and I wouldn't go in it. I had my fill of the ocean my first couple days anyway. Not the fault of the hotel of course, but still didn't make me happy.
Would I go back there? Yeah...but I'd like to try somewhere else first with an outdoor pool and maybe a bit more on the middle of the strip. Think it was a tad overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjpdap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#24 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#51 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schooner Inn
Schooner Inn
#49 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#18 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 615 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia Beach's hotel with the best view, come experience the calming ocean waters and cooling breezes of the Summer season at this seaside escape. Nationally ranked as the #1 Ramada in North America and now with brand new oceanfront rooms, we’re even better than before. Fully renovated with comfortable and contemporary accommodations, see why the Ramada is the best destination to experience seaside living in Virginia Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada On The Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Ramada Hotel Virginia Beach
Ramada Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing