We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, basic and roomy cabins near the beach and hiking”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Virginia Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
First Landing State Park
CA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Clean, basic and roomy cabins near the beach and hiking”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The two-bedroom cabin we rented was fairly basic and dated, but it was clean, spacious and set back from the access road. Quick walk to a few hiking trails, including one leading to the beach, on the other side of 60. Nice, quiet and seemingly tucked away, though it's just a short drive to grocery stores and restaurants and the Atlantic Ave. scene. Pricing was a little higher than expected, even in mid-season, but we liked having our own kitchen and a fireplace, where we could toast s'mores.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank RunwiththisMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    23
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
30
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Inwood, West Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was our second trip to First Landing, first time camping there. I read some reviews prior to our visit to get an idea of the best sites in the campground. I read a couple of reviews about a certain site saying it was the best and how lucky were we that it was available when we arrived. Well, what may be good for one camper isn't always good for every camper. The lot was not level and there was no shade, and it was hot! Anyways, we found a great site for us and set up camp. I really like the privacy at this campground. The sites are not on top of each other, although some sites in certain loops are kind of close to the highway and you can hear the traffic. I love that you can take your dogs on the beach here. It was a clean park and well maintained. I love the trails for bikes although when I was there it had just rained and the trail was muddy. There is a bike trail outside of the park that follows Shore Dr (I wouldn't take kids on it as it is on the shoulder of the highway) that you can ride all the way down to the boardwalk.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank trickyvicki24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife and I usually stay here a few times a year. We have only been lucky once to actually get a amazing site located on the bay side, otherwise its in the "woodsy" section of the campground. The only problem we have come across here is if you stay on the far right section of the campground you will be fence to fence with Fort Story and their amazingly loud helicopters that fly all hours of the night and very low. Other than that, the campground is always clean and beach is nice to go for a swim or just hang out.

Room Tip: Making a reservation does NOT guarantee a specific site. When you arrive you have to pick the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trakcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I really didn't know what to expect with the cabin at the park. But I was really surprised with how nice and clean the cabin was. We had such a great time and we have already planned out next stay there. I would highly recommend this park and facilities for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nickagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We are big fans of VA state parks for camping and First Landing lived up to our expectations. It is clean and well designed to give campers convenience and privacy. The park can handle tents and large RVs, so everyone has an opportunity to camp there. We were aware of the first come first pick reservations system, but camping early in the season meant that all the available spots were good. I can see that it may be a problem in high season as some of the site are very close to the road. Biggest complaint is the VA State park's insistence on charging extra if you have dogs. Our dogs consume absolutely no resources. They are on leash the entire time and it is our responsibility (enforced if necessary by rangers) to pick up after them and make sure they do not bother other campers. On the other hand, kids and extra campers (up to the 6 person limit), do consume resources and do have an impact (both financially and by convenience) on the park and other campers. Don't get me wrong, I love kids and believe that larger groups have an absolute right to camp and enjoy the area. I just wish the VA State parks did not feel that it's justified or fair to impose an unfair tax on dog owners.
Also, a warning: the park office says to secure your valuables and they MEAN it. We did lock the cars, the RV, and put away valuables, but we did not secure our bikes. Our bikes are very inexpensive and basic, but that did not stop a thief from stealing one of them during the night. Sort of creepy to think that thieves are patrolling the campground while we sleep.
Enjoy the park, but lock up and be prepared to be unfairly taxed if you bring pets.

Room Tip: Lock up your valuables. We were robbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thejourneycontinues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We will be back! We loved our campsite next to the ocean and sand dunes. What an experience to camp with an ocean view,breezes, and the sounds of the ocean Also felt very private which we love. Now we camped in mid- march, during the week. I understand weekends fill up quickly even this time of year. We heard and saw all kinds of birds and were within close distance to beach. See pictures. Water and elec hook ups for our RV. Showers were fine You have to walk to the wooden boardwalk to get to the beach..not far really. The trails are all over and great for cycling. We cycled to Virginia beach on the cape Henry trail, it is about 6 miles one way. Had dinner and returned on the side streets and bike paths on shore line drive, a very easy flat bicycle route I felt very safe. Our site was private; we paid $42 per night with dog. The swamps are very cool and iridescent rainbow colors with the sun. The reservation system is very strange as others have noted. They assign you to a type of site and you go there and mark it. Ours was a 50 ft blue. Then we found a blue site on g loop and tagged it. At the office i kept saying we will take 37 g blue but they would not book it that way only a blue site on G loop. I believe it gets very busy here in the summer so this could be a problem especially on weekends. Lots of military power aircraft for the patriotic. Flying overhead, jets, helicopters etc. my husband loves it. Approx very hour, but in not way affected my sleep.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tkuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have camped there each summer for the past few years. Most of the time it's in the summer. There are many areas that have standing water breeding Mosquitos. So be prepared with protection. There are insecticides that can be applied to these areas to prevent the breeding of Mosqitos that is only harmful to Mosquitos. The bathrooms are clean the beach has a boardwalk through the dunes and they provide evening activities for all ages. Over all, it's a great place for a beachside vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4joeebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.0 mi away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk Airport
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - No...
#49 of 109 in Virginia Beach
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#24 of 109 in Virginia Beach
952 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Landing State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Landing State Park

Property: First Landing State Park
Address: Virginia Beach, VA
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park that offers rustic cabins and camping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
First Landing State Park Hotel Virginia Beach
1st Landing State Park
First Landing State Park Hotel Va Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing