We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center
Ranked #52 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
dc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2007

Me and my family stayed at the Crowne Plaza while on a minature vacation. The overall experience was totally not bad but we will never stay there again. The rooms where not clean as well as they should have been, yet the plumbling in the bathroom was rusty. The comode ran all day and night . As for the towels, we had to request for towels on a daily basis because they would never give us enough towels. We were told that we would have a microwave as well as a fridge but that didn't happen either. The best thing about the hotel was the nice lobby area, the bar and the dining area.

  • Liked — the lobby
  • Disliked — the rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank neverzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    100
    42
    25
    18
See reviews for
93
61
19
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2007

I booked a double room using my priority rewards points 6/30/07-07/01/07. The double rooms are spacious and had a desk and writing chair in the room. You will be able to view the pictures I have posted and judge the quality of the rrom for yourself but what the pictures don't reveal is the great service we received as soon as we walked into the hotel. First we were greeted with gift bags with snacks and water in the bag. Then we were swiftly checked in and let me mention that we arrived at 10:30 am and check in wasn't supposed to be till 3pm but they still accomadated us. The rooms were well kept and the pool and hot tub area downstairs were also nice and clean. This hotel was about 15 min from the beach (the front desk will print you directions.) The beds were heavenly and the front desk even were so kind to hand deliver a CD that helps you fall asleep as a special surprise. The hotel is not new but it is classy and a good choice for famalies wanting to stay close to the beach but not wanting to pay over $200 a night.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank sdthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2007

We had got the Jacuzzi Suite, which was nice and comfortable. The bed was proabably the best thing about the room. But the hotel over all was pretty dated. Especially for the money and the Brand Name of the hotel. The service was great though, and the lobby and pool area was good. Breakfast and service was pretty decent as well. All and all I would recommend it as one of the better ones in the area, but you can get better in the area for the money.

  • Liked — The bed and the Jacuzzi tub.
  • Disliked — The wallpaper, fixtures and the rest of the room.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Leightnite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2007

I definitely expect more from a Crowne Plaza. This is clearly an older hotel that has been refurbished. The lobby is quite nice, but you can quickly tell the hotels age one you get to a room. I was initially given a executive suite on the fifth floor - after exercising, I wanted to use the shower. It was not only dirty, but it didn't work. The front desk was very prompt in providing me another room on a different floor. The rooms are acceptable, but the cleanlisness needs improvement. Again, the bathroom was not super clean, but the showe did work this time and with great water pressure. Great selection of tv channels, comfortable beds, free wi-fi and acceptable work out facilities. Was fine for a night, but I would not have been happy for longer.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank UMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
130 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2006

We stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights. When we arrived we found ourselves upgraded to the top floor (quiet zone). What a brill idea - no kids, no noise and no housekeeping before 10 am! We wanted to stay on Virginia Beach itself but as all of the hotels in our price range were booked up we opted for this one which is a few miles from the beach. Knowing now (it was 4 July weekend) how busy the beach area was we are pleased that we made this choice so we had a quiet retreat away from the hussle and bustle of the beach area. The indoor pool looked nice but we didn't have the time to try it out. There was also a small outside garden area which didn't seem to be used much. All in all a pleasant stay and we would use this hotel again if in the area.

Helpful?
2 Thank FizzUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston sc
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2005

We(family of four) stayed at the Crown Plaza during the Fourth of July holiday weekend and it is a nice hotel. It's not far from any ot the city's attractions such as the beach, downtown Norfolk and the Military Base.
Around the corner from a Wendy's and McDonalds but be careful because you may end up on the interstate. Mount Trashmore is across the highway from the hotel, an interesting park you must visit.
The hotel is clean and the rooms are nicely decorated and of average size.
The bathroom could have been larger and the shower/tub updated but the countertop is of a nice marble look. Free newspaper and coffee in the lobby.
There is an indoor pool and hot tubs as well as an exercise room. Patio tables and chairs outside of the pool area. Maid service was prompt and the staff was helpful and friendly. We didnt eat in the resturant but it was always full of other tenants, familyreunion group and girls soccer team. These groups did add life to the hotel.
If you want a nice place to stay away from the beach crowd and high prices, this hotel is worth a try.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Honey11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2005

Everything went perfect. Check in was fast with 2 families of 5. We had our rooms right next to each other, which most hotels hardly ever can do. The wedding reception was a big hit. People stayed until the very end and all the food was delicious. The Gallery Ballroom is wonderful for receptions since it resembles a renovated night club. The sleeping rooms are all brand new and they include sleep amenties. I will be back at the Crowne Plaza. Call Mae Daly for any reception/meeting planning. 757-213-4388.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Nor...
#35 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westin Virginia Beach Town Center
Westin Virginia Beach Town Cente...
#28 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk
Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach...
#36 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
#62 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
2.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Virginia Beach
TownePlace Suites Virginia Beach
#59 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center
Address: 4453 Bonney Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach is located in the heart of the Town Center Business District, allowing corporate and leisure travelers easy access to Va. Beach, Norfolk and Chesapeake. We are just minutes from restaurants, shopping, attractions, military bases and the beach (8 miles) with convenient access to Interstates 264 and 64. The Crowne Plaza is within easy reach of Historic Jamestown and Colonial Williamsburg. The hotel offers 12,000 feet of flexible meeting and banquet space. Each guest room offers free wireless high speed Internet voice mail, coffee makers, make up mirrors, the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage Program which includes upgraded bedding, sleep amenities and more. Tines Restaurant & Aqua Bar features a wide range of food and beverage with, free wireless high speed Internet and wired high speed connections in the lobby. Additional amenities include an indoor pool, saunas, free business center with HSIA, 24 hour fitness center , gift shop and FREE shutle nightly to and from the Town Center entertainment area. Attractions: the Va. Science Museum, Verizon Amphitheater, and the Va. Sportsplex. The nearby Town Center features restaurants such as the Cheesecake factory, PF Chang, Ruth's Chris, Max & Erma s, and many more. Companies: Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin, Keane Inc., BB&T, SAIC, Amsec, Best Buy, Circuit City, Ford, EDS, and Ecolochem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Virginia Beach
Crowne Plaza Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing