We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center
Ranked #48 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I was a little disappointed with our hotel room after reading all of the positive reviews about the hotel. We visited this hotel July 3rd-5th. The hotel lobby was nice and we were greeted warmly when we arrived to the hotel late at night. However, our room was average. The room was musty when we entered and looked dated. I was expecting a remodeled room. The bath tub was discolored, the bathroom was very small and the wall paper was worn. We noticed the next day that a room right next to us and across from us looked different (more amenities) than ours. So, perhaps, some rooms look better than the one we had. We spent most of the day at the beach which was about 8 miles away and convenient to get to by car. Since it rained very hard on the evening of July 4th, we had dinner at the hotel. The waitress let us know that the food would take 25-30 minutes. It actually took one hour ( I don't think the restaurant was expecting many people since it was July 4th). However, the food was pretty good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brookekim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2011
Thank you for your input and please be assured that yours as not indicative of the way we want our valued travelers to leave feeling. While we sometimes may not meet everyone’s expectations however we certainly care enough to try rectify problems during their stay. Please feel free to contact me for further follow up on your stay, Thank You Mark R Smith CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    103
    43
    25
    19
See reviews for
94
62
20
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

My husband and I decided to take a mini weekend road trip to Va beach. But just our luck it pretty much rained the whole weekend. We wound up hanging around the hotel. And we actually had fun. We hung out at the indoor pool and jacuzzi. We ordered room service. A little slow. But im sure with the weather a lot of people stayed in. The staff was nice and attentive. The room was spacious and clean. This isnt the first time that Ive stayed at a crown plaza. I love this chain. This one was no different and the bed was actually so comfy that my husband and I had to look under the bed to see what kind of mattress it was. Sealys for those of you wondering. lol

Room Tip: No tips. All the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillygirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed here June 18 and 19, 2011. The room was very clean and the bedding was exceptional. We did not hear any noise from other customers either night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank puffinCary_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Staff was very professional/will recommend this hotel to my peers.
Meeting area again;l was clean and professional

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronald_fetherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

I love this place we always stay there on ORF overnights. I would live there if I could. I like the quiet halls, quiet rooms and the decor is out of this worl, when I first saw it after the remodle I was not so sure, but I actually enjoy it and have lots of great pictures. The staff is great as well, during one check in we had a snafu but they fixed it. Housekeeping is great too!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tashalynn29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

My wife and I visit Virginia Beach and Norfolk every two or three months. We have sampled the airport area, the oceanfront and downtown Norfolk yet our stay at the Crown Plaza two weeks ago stands out as "the best of all" Convenient location to all points, great night sleep, and accommodating staff. GREAT VALUE !!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardStT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2011

This is a great hotel. I stayed here for more than 30 days in Febuary and March of 2011. During this long stay the hotel met and exceeded all my expectations. The service personel at this hotel are simply outstanding. The front desk manager, Savannah, is very kind, professional and incredibly efficient. The front desk people always have a ready smile and a freindly hello whenever I went through the lobby. They were often available to answer my questions and provide some local insite.
The restaurant is nice. Fairly straight forward but clean and of very good quality. The food was very good and well presented. The wait staff and bartenders are all excellent. Tim the bartender really keeps the customers satisfied and easily carries on good conversation with the patrons. I sense that the people that work at The Crowne Plaza like working there.
The rooms I had were all spacious and comfortable. The beds were very nice and I slept better than I usually do in a hotel. The housekeeping staff do an outstanding job with the service on a daily basis. Again these folls nare friendly and always have a kind word. Nice flat screan TV's in all the rooms.
The big plus for this location is the fitness center, pool. hot tub and sauna. None of these things are the biggest or the best, but to have them all in one place is very rare and very welcome after a long day of work. Two big thumbs up fpre these amminities.
The parking was very close and very accessable. This is also a big bonus as parking in much of Virginia Beach is at best a pain.
I would eaggerly recomend this hotel for any business traveler. To me however the acid test is how easily the hotel converyted to a family hotel when my family came to visit. Another big two thumbs up.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kc_hyatt31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Nor...
#34 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westin Virginia Beach Town Center
Westin Virginia Beach Town Cente...
#28 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk
Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach...
#44 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#5 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
#60 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
2.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Virginia Beach
TownePlace Suites Virginia Beach
#61 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center
Address: 4453 Bonney Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23462-3815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach is located in the heart of the Town Center Business District, allowing corporate and leisure travelers easy access to Va. Beach, Norfolk and Chesapeake. We are just minutes from restaurants, shopping, attractions, military bases and the beach (8 miles) with convenient access to Interstates 264 and 64. The Crowne Plaza is within easy reach of Historic Jamestown and Colonial Williamsburg. The hotel offers 12,000 feet of flexible meeting and banquet space. Each guest room offers free wireless high speed Internet voice mail, coffee makers, make up mirrors, the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage Program which includes upgraded bedding, sleep amenities and more. Tines Restaurant & Aqua Bar features a wide range of food and beverage with, free wireless high speed Internet and wired high speed connections in the lobby. Additional amenities include an indoor pool, saunas, free business center with HSIA, 24 hour fitness center , gift shop and FREE shutle nightly to and from the Town Center entertainment area. Attractions: the Va. Science Museum, Verizon Amphitheater, and the Va. Sportsplex. The nearby Town Center features restaurants such as the Cheesecake factory, PF Chang, Ruth's Chris, Max & Erma s, and many more. Companies: Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin, Keane Inc., BB&T, SAIC, Amsec, Best Buy, Circuit City, Ford, EDS, and Ecolochem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Virginia Beach
Crowne Plaza Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing