We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay. Staff was great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach
Ranked #61 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
High Point
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Stay. Staff was great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed there the week of the Oceana airshow. It was my first time back since my days in the Navy and the staff made me and my family feel very welcome. The staff was very nice and anything we needed they were there for us. The room was great and had no problems there as well. For me though the staff is where this hotel shines. Great location. Also the breakfast bar was very very good. It wasn't just cereal and coffee. They had waffles, eggs, hasbrowns, fuit, sausage and more. Very good breakfast bar. If I ever go back in the near future, I will definitely stay there again. The manager even gave my kids some tickets to the local carnival. Very nice! Pool was clean but cool but hey it's Virginia Beach in late September what would you expect. Rooms were clean. Good stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferMeads, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. I received your voicemail as well. We really enjoyed having your family stay with us. I hope you, your wife, and kids had a great vacation. We hope to see your family back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    85
    44
    26
    24
See reviews for
119
67
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

From the moment we walked in the door, we received excellent service from everyone at the hotel. The front desk gentleman's name is Justin, and he made sure we were taken care of really well. We just moved to Virginia Beach and stayed at this hotel until we found a place to live, and Justin (and the other employees) were extremely detailed and helpful in all of their advice and guidance. As a result, I feel supremely welcomed into this city and I'm excited to call it my new home. This is by far the best hotel experience I've ever had, and every word of this review is straight from the heart.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask for a pull-out couch if you need one - I got a room like that for the sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady_Lallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferMeads, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for your review! We really enjoy having you here as well. We love when guest have an extended stay at our hotel and we can get to know them and they feel like family. I am glad you decided to call Virginia Beach home. I love this city and I couldn't imagine living anywhere else.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

This Inn really has the best staff. They are all so accommodating and helpful to make your stay with them to be super pleasant in every way. As for the room, It's very nice. The beds are so comfortable and the decor/ furniture over all is such a blessing. We stayed on the 3rd floor, and although it isnt "ocean front" we still for got to see the ocean from our room. You can see the beautiful sunrise without the across the street price ;)
Also, the breakfast was amazing. The options and the service. Like I said, Everyone is so great just to really match and exceed the quality of the Inn. They also have a pool that goes up to 8 ft, which is always fun.
I'd recommend this place to every single person, for any need whatsoever.
I wish I could stay here forever.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferMeads, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
We appreciate your kind words. We really do take pride in our hotel and I am glad it shows. Our staff is amazing and I am glad you have had a wonderful stay here. Thank you for taking the time to write this great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have never stayed at a Clarion before, so i am not sure what to compare it to chain wise. But we definitely expected more out of a hotel that is just under a year old.

Pros: decent location if you cant get oceanfront, short walk to the beach and nice location along the boardwalk. Rooms are modern and very big, beds were nice and comfortable. Breakfast was good too.

Cons: dirty.bathroom. our bathtub had hair in it and one of the soap ledges in the shower had old soap and hair stuck to it. Grossss. Staff working around the hotel were not very friendly. They only have one elevator in the hotel, it takes forever to get a ride with room enough. Pool appears to be very outdated (cant possibly be 1 yr old like they say the hotel is) and it was dirty also. Lots of hair and "floaties" lingering in that water. The water temp was also cool, i dont think it gets much sunlight b/c of the shadr of the building

All in all, we would not stay here again, but if you have a good coupon and can get a good rate i say its an alright choice.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mknutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferMeads, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. Feedback is so important is we know what we are doing right and what we need to work on. I will take your comments back to my staff and remedy these issues. Our hotel though new was a renovated building from a hotel that was there before. It opened July 25th, 2011 after extensive construction and rebuilding. Again, thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at the Clarion for the weekend. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. We all enjoyed the pool and the convenient location to the beach. The problem was that our room was so damp and humid that it smelled like mold and mildew. It felt like we were sleeping in wet sheets and nothing ever dried. We cranked up the air and that helped a little. But, I wouldn't stay there again because is was so uncomfortably damp, humid and smelly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferMeads, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. Upon furthur investigation we did indeed have a problem with the air conditioner in the room you were in and the drainage of the condinsation line. We have addressed the problem and corrected it. I apologize for the dampness that uccured in the room. Please contact me directly at 757-961-8190 or jennifer@clarionvabeach.com so we can discuss how we can make this right. As you can see by previous reviews we pride ourselves on our great spacious rooms and our amazing staff. I hope you with give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Like others have said, decent hotel and in a good location but not Oceanfront. Parking was not enough for all the guests who stayed there over Labor Day weekend. Room was HUGE and furnishings were updated. Bathroom was tiny. No counter area to set your things. No hangers and/or hooks on the bathroom door for towels, swimsuits, etc. Fridge and microwave in the rooms. No housekeeping that came daily. Breakfast was free and very good. But seating is limited. Pool area was small and the pool needed updating but the tiki bar was nice. Only 1 elevator.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank workshy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferMeads, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were surprised by the size of the room!! it was very spacious and looked very new. Location is also very convinient. Breakfast was ok..nothing speacial but saves the hassle of taking the family out. Then comes housekeeping. The room looked clean when we came in but we were seriously disappointed when we came back the next day to find the wet towels in the room, used coffee mugs not washed or replaced, used coffee and shampoo not replaced. when we asked for fresh mugs, we were told that it's the hotel policy to leave them dirty... then the lady took them, washed them in another room's bathroom, and wiped them with used towel on the rack. That was really disgusting to say the least.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maged A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferMeads, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel; we of course appreciate any type of feedback as it our most valuable tool in training our staff to better facilitate the needs of our many guests. I'm glad you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast while you were here and would like to thank you for bringing the issues you faced during your stay to our attention. As we strive to provide the best service possible to all our guests, we'll review with our housekeepers the proper procedure regarding switching towles and replacing room mugs. I do apologize for any unsatisfactory service provided on part of the hotel, and as we prepare to move forward with the constant scrunity of our service, I hope you'll give us the opportunity to exceed your expextations in the future and thank you once again for staying at the Virginia Beach Oceanfront Clarion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#53 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#24 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#34 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Virginia Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#26 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#51 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Property: Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach
Address: 2604 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach. Welcome to a great all-suite Virginia Beach hotel with spacious rooms at over 400 sq feet. All rooms feature flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, sofas, and complementary high-speed wireless and wired internet access. A seasonal outdoor pool and poolside bar and grill is great to unwind and relax. Steps to the beach this property is centrally located right in the heart of Atlantic Ave and walking distance to many of the best Virginia Beach attractions. Top it off with a complimentary hot breakfast each morning. Why stay anywhere else? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites Virginia Beach
Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Super 8 Motel Virginia Beach
Super 8 Virginia Beach
Super Eight Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing