We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach
Ranked #42 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great staff”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

we had 3 rooms for 14 of us. stayed there 2 nights we were supposed to stay 3 but decided to go back to Williamsburg to Water Country instead. Rooms are very spacious even for 6 of us in one room. Only negatives are the bathroom is small. The only other suggestion is to enlarge the seating area for breakfast which I was told the owner is looking in to doing and add another person on to help out with breakfast. The poor person working was doing the best he could to keep up. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. They let us keep our cars in the lot while we stayed on the beach the day we checked out and then told us to use the pool shower and towels when we came off the beach. Location is good right across from the beach. But what made the stay was how nice the entire staff was.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maypo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferMeads, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
I'd like to thank you for your recognition of our service and staff. As our employees are the backbone of our hotel and the service we provide, we do take a great deal of pride in them and the work that they do. All of us here at the hotel thank you so much for staying and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    91
    46
    30
    26
See reviews for
138
75
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, VA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our family stayed here for two nights in August. Our room was clean, comfortable and spacious, with a little sofa and a view of the ocean. The bathroom is very small, but it was clean and had plenty of towels. When we arrived the fridge wasn't cold, but they fixed it promptly. The location is about a block from the beach and boardwalk. There are restaurants and attractions within walking distance. Noise wasn't a problem at all.

I recommend you just keep the car parked, because parking here is challenging. There aren't really enough spaces, but when there were none, they did have valet parking. It's a tight lot and not easy to maneuver a minivan.

The first morning, we took one look at the breakfast room and promptly went out to breakfast. It was a mob scene with not enough tables and a long line for food. The next morning was a Monday and it was not a problem. I wasn't crazy about the food and just had cereal, but my kids thought the waffles and eggs were good.

There is a small pool right off the driveway which the kids enjoyed. There is a little bar off it which was nice, though they had an electrical problem and the bar was closed while we were there. Towels are available.

We did have a rather significant housekeeping problem. On our first day we went out for breakfast and came back to the room about 10:30 to change for the beach. Housekeeping was at work near our rooms, and we said that we'd be out of there in 5 minutes. They asked if we needed trash removed or towels, and said we needed the whole room cleaned, trash emptied, towels replaced (there isn't really any place to hang towels so very hard to reuse them). When we came back to the room around 4 the room still hadn't been cleaned. On our way back out we asked that housekeeping please clean the room. They thought they already had and had checked it off their list. When we came back around 7, the room had been nicely cleaned, but housekeeping had propped the door wide open with a wash cloth and was no where to be seen! We were very glad we had used the safe! We removed the washcloth and put in on the floor outside the room, where it remained until check out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roving_Reader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferMeads, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us here at the hotel. Unfortunately (and given the nature of the resort area), parking is a general challange faced by many if not all oceanfront properties and businesses, especially during the busy months of July and August. With two parking lots available, most of the time our guests are not faced with parking as an issue and I do apologize that it was a problem while you were here. Because of the problem you faced with housekeeping, we'll review with our cleaning team the proper procedure for servicing stay-over rooms as part of our on going struggle to provide the absolute highest level of customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New-Brunswick, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My sister and I stayed at this property on August 13-15. We were very pleasantly surprised with the hotel itself. The room had two queen size beds and a sitting area with a table. It was clean and well laid out. We felt very comfortable and safe at the location and the service was excellent. The hot buffet buffet was very good. They serve eggs, sausage, corn bread, bagels toast, home fries and pastries. They also have a section for cereal hot and cold and a waffle maker. What more could you ask for? When we arrived Justin checked us in and he was very nice. We also got to know Duane who we quickly became friends with as he knew us as the Canadian girls. The location of the hotel is very convenient to the beach. Just walk across the street. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferMeads, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
I'm very pleased to read your hotel review and see that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's great that you were able to get some time away and I thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Clarion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

First off they charge me for using the safe both days I was there even tho it was never used and than after I paid my bill and made it all the way home I had a $25 misc charge for a missing pillow. Really! Who steals a pillow! A married mom with two kids is not gonna still a pillow. So I figure there making really good money charging people all these extra charges and hidden fees cause they can. Also when we first checked in the water was not working so no shower and you couldn't even flush the toilet. There is not even enough parking the elevator is so slow and the rooms smell horrible. Will never stay here again or recommend it to any of our friends who visit Virginia Beach all the time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed around the same time last year and had an enjoyable stay so we booked the same accommodations for this stay. I was disappointed in the cleanliness of the room. A dirty towel and used soap remained in the bathroom upon our arrival. I requested to have one of our beds changed. It was an 8+ hour pass the buck adventure ending with no clean bedding in the entire hotel and me laundering the sheets and making the bed at 1am. Some improvements include the poolside bar with very limited hours and the free breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank copez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The room was larger than we expected. We had a queen with a sofa/sitting area. View of the parking lot, but who cares. Room was clean, beds were very comfy, carpet looked new. Maid service was fine. I thought hotel may have been located too far down as it was on 26th, but it was a great location. Most of the action seems to be 17-26th. They have a bar that I believe is new that was a small pleasant place. the pool is on the small side but adequate. There were always a few open tables/chairs so I don't think people are spending much time at the pool anyway. I would stay again. The only comment I have is that there was plenty of space in the room, yet only two drawers to put your clothes in. Another dresser would have been nice. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshineWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

This is by far the worst hotel I've seen for customer service. No check on until 4pm, then at 4the pm it takes 35 to minutes to check in. 1 person at the desk for 10 minutes then 1 more person comes down. That really did not help eith 25 people in line. The room is non-smoking, but reaks of smoke. I stayed in room 604 on August 5th. I will never stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tank5862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferMeads, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
It is with great dissappointment that we read your recent summary of your stay at the Clarion Inn & Suites. As you can see from other guest comments, this is not our standard level of service. Unfortunately in resort locations most customers do not check out until right at check out time to enjoy the most beach time possible so this does give us a limited time to turn the hotel and get it ready for people by 4:00pm. We make every effort to get people checked in early however because 4:00pm is our check in time it is usually our busiest.

We greatly value our customers and appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of this situation. We regret your recent experience and management has already taken corrective action with the front desk to insure this does not occur in the future. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. I will be happy to personally assist you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#53 of 109 in Virginia Beach
194 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#60 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,876 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Virginia Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#24 of 109 in Virginia Beach
727 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
#3 of 109 in Virginia Beach
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#19 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Property: Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach
Address: 2604 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3144
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach. Welcome to a great all-suite Virginia Beach hotel with spacious rooms at over 400 sq feet. All rooms feature flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, sofas, and complementary high-speed wireless and wired internet access. A seasonal outdoor pool and poolside bar and grill is great to unwind and relax. Steps to the beach this property is centrally located right in the heart of Atlantic Ave and walking distance to many of the best Virginia Beach attractions. Top it off with a complimentary hot breakfast each morning. Why stay anywhere else? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites Virginia Beach
Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Super 8 Motel Virginia Beach
Super 8 Virginia Beach
Super Eight Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing