We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!”
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, MD
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay!”
Reviewed October 25, 2009

The Oceanfront Inn is a great place to stay if one is seeking an economical room with a fantastic view of the Atlantic Ocean and steps away from the gorgeous boardwalk! Josh, and all of the staff with whom I interacted were exceptional in their service and attitudes. I'm a smoker, and although the hotel is smoke-free, I didn't mind smoking outside because the hotel is right on the strip -- its oceanfront rooms/balcony are adjacent to hotels such as the Hilton, Sheraton, Courtyard Marriott, etc. So, if you don't mind a room without all the bells and whistles, I would highly encourage you to check out The Oceanfront Inn. It's clean, and the beds are comfortable. Not a place for Donald Trump, but a secure place to spend your nights. The Neptune statue is awesome!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pisces07_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    196
    77
    28
    19
See reviews for
181
161
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Stayed here in 2008 and reluctantly again in 2009. This is a very basic hotel with little to offer. The place is clean and the location is great. Other than that, there isn't much to compliment. The water pressure in the showers was absolutely terrible (confirmed by other guests as well), and there was no wireless internet signal. When we asked about the internet at the front desk, the young girl told us to try using the computer in the bathroom because the signal was better in there. Are you kidding me? And for the record, there wasn't a signal there, either. This might seem like a trivial thing, but in modern times some people DO need that sort of connectivity. We were very displeased with the service. Most employees acted very lazy and did not seem interested in our concerns. The beds are your standard hotel sleeping surface. The restaurant was improved since last year, but there are far better choices nearby with similar pricing.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyanheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2009
The following response is respectfully submitted. We encourage guest feedback and anytime a guest is not satisfied for any reason it becomes a top concern for all of us at The Oceanfront Inn, as guest satisfaction remains our top priority. Regarding the water pressure, in our commitment to practice eco-friendly practices, we use water-saving shower heads. While this may be different than some guests are accustomed to at home, hopefully the trade-off is worth saving water. Regarding the wireless signal, our management has addressed this concern previously by adding signal boosters, however, this is not a consistent issue and as with other wireless signals, the signal may be stronger or weaker at certain times. Our front office staff member had good intentions by offering suggestions to test the signal in other areas of the room. As evidenced by previous reviews, we consistently receive wonderful feedback about the attitudes and service received from our employees. Our staff will continue to be trained on proper responses to guest concerns and motivated to possess a “can-do” attitude. Our management does invest in making improvements year after year. Over the last 3 years, improvements have included new pillow-top mattresses, new hallway carpet and paint, new room carpet, fresh paint on bathroom doors, guestroom doors and hallways, upgraded curved shower rods, new shower curtains and new room signage. Our restaurant reopened with a new tenant in March to great reviews and has been a wonderful addition to a variety of choices nearby. We do strive to offer great value and service to each of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We chose this hotel because it was less expensive than some of the others while still on the beach. The location is great, you can walk right onto the beach, bike trail or boardwalk-all steps from the hotel.

The rooms are facing the ocean with a nice balcony. We really enjoyed seeing the sun come up in the morning from the balcony. We also could see the dolphins swimming south in the morning and north in the evening. The rooms are typical hotel rooms, nothing fancy but nice and clean with two double beds. Staff were courteous and helpful in recommending area restaurants and attractions.

The parking lot is not very big but we were able to park in the main lot and didn't need to drive out the entire time since everything we wanted was within walking distance. We appreciated being able to park in the hotel parking lot early on our arrival day and late on the day we left.

We definitely would stay at the Oceanfront again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncbeachgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We had a great experience at the Oceanfront Inn! We had actually stayed there 8 years ago on our honeymoon. We had our 3 yr old and 11 month old with us this time, so a little different experience :) But, loved it like we did back then. Very clean hotel, had a standard 2 Full Beds, room was very neat and the cleaning staff did a great job everyday, especially with all the sand our kids got everywhere. Bathrooom was small, but they kept it loaded with towels and clean. The downstairs staff was very friendly and helpful with directions to a few places we went. Unfortunately, I do not like seafood, but the restaurant downstairs has a seafood buffet, and seemed busy every night. One thing to point out, this hotel only has wireless internet connection. I had brought my cord b/c I can never get my wireless card to work, but they had no plugins (who wants to check work email anyway!). Overall, I would definitely recommend this place. Great time!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohiomom_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2009

My wife and I stayed here in 2004 & 2006. It was OK for the money, but you can do better for the same price after some research. This year we decided to stay at the Surfside Oceanfront Inn on 13th street. A notch higher in quality and less expensive to boot.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guitarman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2009
The following response is respectfully submitted. We encourage guest feedback and anytime a guest is not satisfied for any reason it becomes a top concern for all of us at The Oceanfront Inn, as guest satisfaction remains our top priority. Thank you for your review posted this year after your stay in Virginia Beach at another hotel. Since your actual stay with us almost 3 years ago, the hotel has made a variety of improvements including new mattresses, new room carpet, upgrades in bathrooms including marble vanities, framed mirrors, curved shower rods and new shower curtains; plus fresh paint and new signage throughout the hotel. We do strive to offer very affordable, competitive rates and receive feedback often that we offer great value. We also offer discounted rates, promotions and packages. Each guest is encouraged to visit our website, online communities, and sign-up for email specials to learn more about our ever-changing specials and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

We checked into the Oceanfront Inn in Virginia Beach on Friday, May 29th for a 3 night stay. My mother wanted to go to the beach, so my husband and I decided to take her. We wanted to have some privacy, but were't sure if we could afford 2 rooms for 3 nights. The Oceanfront Inn definately made that possible! After researching the best costs for a hotel room, with an ocean front room view and convenient to the shopping and restaurants on the strip, we called the Oceanfront Inn on Thursday with plans to check in on Friday. After speaking with Josh about reservations, he asked if we would like a room on the 6th floor (the highest floor). Of course we did! We asked several other questions and he was super nice and helpful. We were greeted by Clinton at the front desk who was one of the friendliest front desk employees I have ever encountered. When we got to the room it was a little stuffy, the a/c turned off and the room being closed up, but when we turned on the air it didn't take long to cool down at all. We opened the curtains (I was glad they were shut when we walked in because it was kind of neat to "unveil" the view which was AWESOME! This hotel is located right next door to the Hilton, and the 31st street band shell at the King Neptune statue. Far enough away from the hustle of the arcades, clubs and noise of the main drag of the strip, but close enough to walk if those types of activities are what you are coming for. A little further north of the hotel are plenty of restaurants and shopping with some very nice shops in the bottome of the 31 Ocean parking deck (mainly for the Hilton but offering public parking as well).
Now a lot of people in past reviews complained about the beds - but I have to tell you that I thought they were very comfortable! My husband and I slept very well. The only thing I could offer about the room as an improvement would be a small table in front of the sliding doors in the King rooms (double bed room my mother was in had one, but no desk so it seems to be an either / or situation depending on what kind of room you reserve). Also, the TV was a little too far off center from the bed, making watching TV in bed a little awkward, but we only turned it on at night to catch the news so it really didn't bother us. The oceanfront balcony was wonderful and we spent a good deal of time sitting out there watching the people go up and down the oceanfront boardwalk or beach. There is a handicap walk out to the lower part of the beach for folks in a wheelchair between the Hilton and Oceanfront Inn (in my walks up and down the beach I noticed these are not as common as you might expect!) but was also useful to non-handicapped folks to walk down the ocean without having to trudge through the thick dry sand. I got up every morning I was there at 5 - 5:30 to wtch the sunrise from the balcony and then went for beachcombing / photographic walks by the ocean. We had originally planned on checking out on Monday, but were so pleased by the location, the staff and the room itself we extended our stay for an extra day.

We didn't go down to the restaurant in the hotel, though I wish I had in retrospect as they seem to be about the only seafood buffet that offers fried oysters AND crablegs. We will do this next time. I spoke to a couple of folks that did eat there and they said the food was good. We did eat lunch next door at Catch 31 at the Hilton and found a wonderful upscale restaurant with an ocean view - with a menu that was not out of line with the rest of the restaurants in the area. The burgers we had were huge and tasted wonderful. Maybe the best meal we had while we were there.

We didn't use the pool either - thought it looked very clean and was never overly quiet. They will prbably not like me mentioning this, but they did offer to open it up for us about 11 (pool closes at 10) if we wanted to swim. The pool is indoors and I wanted to be outdoors - but in the heat of the day - this might be a good options for people traveling with little folks who want to get them out of the heat.

There were no issues with internet service at all - and no fee! We were able to pick up 3 or 4 signals regularly during our stay with good connectivity.

The main drawbacks I found were so minor I hate to mention them, but for the benefit of the hotel as much as the folks staying there I have this to offer. 1. Screens on the sliding glass doors for the rooms would be nice for those who would like to sleep with the doors open listening to the sound of the ocean. 2. Shampoo and conditioner would be nice as well - they only offer Shampoo - but again - if you pack right this won't bother most folks. 3. The aforementioned table in the King rooms so folks can sit in front of the patio doors and have a bite in the room.

We had no abnormal problem with bugs or anything being unclean or not taken care of. Housekeeping was very friendly and helpful with anything we needed.

Oh - the elevators do seem to have a bit of a mind of their own at busy times - but the hotel is only 6 floors - if you are that much in a hurry - take the stairs!

Kudos to Clinton, Bobbi, Butch, Josh, and the rest of the staff. We will definately be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snorky24015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamsbaby03
2 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2009

This hotel has a very nice staff, they strive to keep customer's happy from what I could see. We had an issue with some partiers about 2 doors down and within 10 minutes after I called the front desk, it was resolved. The rooms aren't the Hilton, but they were in good clean condition. We had not complaints-yes the beds are a little stiff and squeaky, but what hotel isn't that you don't pay your entire vacation fund for? We enjoyed our stay. We did have issues with the bathroom. It wasn't as clean in the shower as we expected, but was reported so hopefully no one else will have issues. Has a gorgeous ocean view and it is on the quiet end of the beach, but close to stores and food. We never saw any of the bugs that were previously reported by other customer's. All in all we enjoyed our stay at a good price.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamsbaby03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#18 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,389 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
474 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#32 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,013 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#25 of 109 in Virginia Beach
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oceanfront Inn

Property: The Oceanfront Inn
Address: 2901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#33 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront resort area, within 1.5 miles from the Virginia Beach Convention Center and 12.5 miles away from the local airport, The Oceanfront Inn is an ideal location for business and vacationing travelers. Right on the beach, The Oceanfront Inn offers you the ideal location to relax and enjoy all Virginia Beach offers, from nearby free seasonal events and concerts to delicious dining outlets and unique shops and attractions. Completed 2011 renovations include updated lobby, enhanced WiFi, expanded cable and updated guestrooms feature new wallpaper, new bedspreads and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing