We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Tough to Rate” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Ashburn, VA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tough to Rate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have been going to the Oceanfront for over 15 years. Honestly, it has always been about location on the strip and the beach access for us at a reasonable price. It is certainly no frills but the beds are comfortable and the room is pretty clean with all oceanfront views. The restaurant in the hotel, Neptunes, is actually a pretty good choice for breakfast and their seafood buffett is at least as good as most of the ones we've tried and not as crowded. It's a classic example of you get what you pay for, so if you are looking for a slightly less expensive beachfront alternative this fits the bill.

Room Tip: Not much difference but higher floors have slightly better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RogerS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    184
    74
    26
    17
See reviews for
169
147
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is my second stay at the Oceanfront Inn. I was there for a conference at the hotel next door. By staying at the Oceanfront Inn, I saved a lot of money over the Hilton and had a nice room with a private oceanfront balcony. The hotel has great free wifi. Parking was abundant and easy in and out. The hotel was close to everything with easy access to the beach, bike path and local shops, grocery stores, restaurants, etc. A nice Harris Teeter store is just 2-3 blocks inland which made it convenient to pick up groceries, snacks, drinks, etc. I will definitely try to get back again.

Room Tip: 6th floor rooms have no one over you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

This place was a cut above our usual pick for a quick beach stay. The hotel staff was very pleasant and we had no issues with the room. I liked being farther north than usual, right by the statue of King Neptune and with a boardwalk down to the sand right outside the door. The on premises restaurant was very convenient and the food was good. We definitely hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JackNDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed at The Ocean Front Inn for 7 days in July 2014 and we had a wonderful stay. We were booked at another hotel and moved due to the filth. We walked over explained our plight to the front desk staff. They let us look at the room before we booked, it was clean, smelled pleasant, the bathroom was spotless, the beds were comfy and the balcony had sliding glass doors that were clean and clear where we watched the dolphin show each and every morning while drinking our complimentary cup of coffee. There is a small refrigerator in the room convenient to store food so you can eat breakfast and or lunch in the room to save money. It is an older hotel but well taken care of. The indoor pool was clean and clear the kids loved swimming in it, There were always fresh towels available. The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. There were staff walking around cleaning the elevators, the stairwells, the grounds and the common areas the entire time we were there. The location of this hotel is perfect you are one hotel from Neptune's Park where they play free concerts every night . The hotel is located on 29th and 30th streets, the board walk is 40 streets long so you are in the middle of everything. The beach is amazing a few steps from the hotel and the view from the room is breathtaking. I would highly recommend you to stay here if you want a clean room for a reasonable price that is family friendly. We met so many nice people who were visiting Virginia Beach at the same time as us, was so much fun!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 623 it is on the left end of building, very quiet in the room. We never heard any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

The hotel was very nice and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Loved the location and the ease to get to the beach.
Nice to have a restaurant attached that had reasonable prices and the food was worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location. The rooms are a bit dated, but overall, it is an amazing value. The restaurant in the hotel offers great breakfast values as well. The rooms are clean and the front desk and cleaning staff are great. We have stayed here 4 times.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was a good hotel for our stay.
We stayed for two nights and we went to the room only for sleeping and showering.
The proximity to the beach makes it an ideal hotel. You just need to cross the sand to get to the beach. You will not need to worry about crossing busy streets with all your beach gear
The hotel has seen better days, but it's location makes it worth your stay.
There is lots to do from morning until late at night other than the beach if you wish.
It is a noisy hotel. A lot of action around the hotel. at all times

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Vir...
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oceanfront Inn

Property: The Oceanfront Inn
Address: 2901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#33 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront resort area, within 1.5 miles from the Virginia Beach Convention Center and 12.5 miles away from the local airport, The Oceanfront Inn is an ideal location for business and vacationing travelers. Right on the beach, The Oceanfront Inn offers you the ideal location to relax and enjoy all Virginia Beach offers, from nearby free seasonal events and concerts to delicious dining outlets and unique shops and attractions. Completed 2011 renovations include updated lobby, enhanced WiFi, expanded cable and updated guestrooms feature new wallpaper, new bedspreads and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing