We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Vac.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #17 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Louisa, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Vac.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Had a great time. Everyone was nice. The room was clean. The restaurant didn't smell like wet carpet it has a seafood smell. That is what you get with seafood. The desk staff were extremely nice to my family. Loved it and will be back.

Room Tip: Fourth floor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    186
    75
    26
    17
See reviews for
173
150
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had 2 rooms the week of 7/13/13. The hotel is in a terrific location on the boardwalk with ocean facing balconies. All of the staff (desk, housekeeping, restaurant) were very friendly and helpful and seemed genuinely interested in making sure our stay was enjoyable. The breakfasts that came with the family package were great (French toast, pancakes, home fries, eggs, fruit) and saved us money since we could eat late in the morning and just skip lunch. The sand pails with goodies inside that we were given upon arriving was a cute way to set the tone for our stay. The rooms could have been a little cleaner but we arrived early and were allowed to get in. We have stayed in VA Beach 4 or 5 times and this hotel is right up there. I also like that if we stay at Oceanfront again we would get 15% off .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherinearm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The rooms were fairly nice. But the bathroom was filthy. Hairy floor, mole in the bathroom and growing on the slates in the shower. The sink was sticky and had hair on it from the previously people.The restaurant had an odor of dirty carpet. We stayed five nights. The employees were very pleasant. There are two things that are a must. CLEAN BATHROM and CLEAN LENINS.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Poppey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Chester, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Me and my wife spent 10 days on the West Coast for Memorial Day and wanted something low key and not very expensive for our 5 year. We decided on Virgina Beach for 4 days and 3 nights. This hotel was perfect for what we needed. The room was clean, cold, and quiet. The view was amazing. The entire staff was very nice. We were able to check in 2 hours early. Free parking was a bonus. We were right near everything- boardwalk, beach, bars, places to eat, etc. I would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JByrnes976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

My family and I stayed here over the 4th of July weekend. The hotel is in a great location and all of the rooms have an oceanfront room with a balcony which is the main selling point. The front desk staff was about 50/50 on friendliness. The hotel is an older building but has attempted to update the room interiors. The bathroom showed the most wear with rust. The restaurant and bar downstairs has decent food at an okay price. I would stay here again if the price was right.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ATLtraveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had an amazing time in VA Beach all thanks to the wonderful staff. We arrived early and they were more than welcome to accommodate for our early arrival. I especially loved the fact that we had parking. We were able to keep the parking pass the entire day even after check out so we could still enjoy the beach and go out to dinner!!! I couldn't say enough about the staff...they were pleasant and welcoming from check in to checkout.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlyssaJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We checked in on July 1 2013. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Housekeeping was good to do what they could to keep rooms clean. Love that all the rooms were oceanfront. We liked being right on the Boardwalk. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Vir...
#16 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#23 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oceanfront Inn

Property: The Oceanfront Inn
Address: 2901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#33 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront resort area, within 1.5 miles from the Virginia Beach Convention Center and 12.5 miles away from the local airport, The Oceanfront Inn is an ideal location for business and vacationing travelers. Right on the beach, The Oceanfront Inn offers you the ideal location to relax and enjoy all Virginia Beach offers, from nearby free seasonal events and concerts to delicious dining outlets and unique shops and attractions. Completed 2011 renovations include updated lobby, enhanced WiFi, expanded cable and updated guestrooms feature new wallpaper, new bedspreads and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing