We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good for the price paid” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #17 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good for the price paid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

This motel has all ocean front rooms. The rooms have balconies that overlook the ocean with beautiful views. I've stayed here three times and loved it all three times. Very clean but plain. There are very few deceptions but for the price I paid I didn't need pretty walls. The other beachfront places are three times the price. Also at Christmas they give you free tickets to the light show on the boardwalk

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love2playflute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    186
    75
    26
    17
See reviews for
173
150
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here because of the location for the Shamrock 8k. Dingy hotel but decent indoor pool, clean rooms and renovated bathrooms. The location at the oceanfront is great. The adjoining Resturant had good food and nice specials on drinks but smelled like Lysol so we hurried up out of there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baygirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel is centrally located in the Neptune Park area of Va Beach. No frills but the rooms were basically clean except for hairs in the bathtub. Great ocean views. For the bargain winter price of 62.10 per night it was an excellent value. I love Va Beach in the winter.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We just had a wonderful stay for the Winter Wildlife package the end of February 2013. You cannot ask for a better location...just one hotel down from King Neptune Park with the beautiful statue and on-beach playground. The view from the decks are gorgeous and we were able to watch the dolphins feeding just off the shoreline every day! Our room was clean and neat, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the indoor pool is a terrific treat and one of our six year old's favorites! I've read some reviews that give the hotel lower marks because there is no microwave, but if you read the hotel description you see that none are listed so just come prepared...no biggie!You do have a mini fridge, coffee maker with fixings, hair dryer, iron and board and flat screen TV....awesome! Have also seen bad marks for TV channels but who has time to sit in watching TV...you're on the shore! Stay home to watch TV....again, no biggie! As for parking, our stay was off season so we were able to park in the lot in front of the hotel, but even if you come at peak season, they have a dedicated garage just across the street. You pull up at the front door, use a doorman trolley to unload, then go park. If you want a large, sound proof room and large bathroom with fancy surroundings, go pay for it and stay elsewhere. But if you want a family and budget friendly bargain in a very well maintained, family owned hotel in an amazing location with views you'll never forget, then this is your hotel! This is our new favorite place to stay at Virginia Beach and we will be back!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I decided to celebrate our anniversary at the oceanfront this year. I've been feeling extremely budget conscious these days so I booked a room via hotwire and ended up with the Oceanfront Inn. This is not a 3-star hotel (shame on hotwire for acting as if it is); it's a 2.5 star. I guess that half of a star makes a difference.

The outside of the building is nice enough. The lobby is cute, actually--clean and quaint. Staff were friendly, especially housekeeping whom we met on the way out of our room. Our room was on the second floor and we had our promised view of the oceanfront, which is a plus. Everything was clean, for which I was grateful, but much of the furniture was in poor condition with worn edges.

Our room had two full beds but they seemed smaller. My husband is six feet tall and his feet hung over the edge when he laid down. The pillows were okay; the mattress was okay. The blankets were still and I couldn't really pull them up over my whole body; it was awkward.

The walls are pretty thin--we could hear our neighbors using their bathroom and we could even hear one woman a couple of rooms over laughing; granted, she was extremely loud. Lots of slamming doors into the late hours. Rather than complain to the front desk, we accepted our fate and turned on the TV and the heater to block out the noise. The heater worked very well, as did the AC--I was too warm to sleep so we had to switch!

Parking wasn't available in the lot directly outside the hotel. I suspect that people may have been parking there and using it as a base to go elsewhere. We parked across the street in the designated overflow parking, which was fine.

This place is okay, but it's not really conducive to a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Get a room that's not in the middle of the hotel...maybe it won't be so loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank La_Dame_Rouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times. I find it to always be clean. The rooms are not fancy and they are small. Each one has a small refrigerator. The bathroom it very small. Two people can not get ready at the same time. The bathroom vanity was not big enough for my cosmetics. The pool is simple with limited seating around it. The location is terrific, right on the boardwalk and less than a block from one of the main stages that host bands on the weekends and national acts during large festivals.

The one problem I always have is the beds are not all that comfortable. The mattresses are hard.

Do not hesitate to call the hotel directly and try to negotiate a better rate. Each time I have done this I have saved money from what any booking site quotes me.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StayCationNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
237 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

While looking for an affordable quick weekend getaway, we found this hotel and several "specials" offered for the off season. We decided to give it a try, and we're glad we did. The property is well maintained, the rooms are relatively modern, and the hotel is overall clean and comfortable. But the best feature is that every room is ocean front with private balconies, and the entire wall between the room and balcony is glass floor to ceiling. The views are stunning any time of the day, but especially at sunrise. Combine all that with the general quietness of the Virginia Beach "boardwalk" (or more accurately "concwalk") and you have the perfect location to not only see, but hear, the surf. There is an indoor pool, with a "built in" hot tub - frankly not much of a hot tub, but it is unique. Don't plan on it being a good substitute for a real hot tub, but they get points for the effort. But the pool area is clean and well maintained and very pleasant. "Neptune's" restaurant is in the hotel and offers some nice dining choices, especially the early bird breakfast menu. The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful, including housekeeping and maintenance. TV's are flatscreen LCD's with HD channels, and one of my pet peaves, noisy A/C and heating units is not an issue here. One can barely here it running - great for good sleep especially with the door open just enough to hear the surf. The wi-fi service was spotty at best - it appeared they need some IT service. And if we'd wanted to use it, the free access to the local YMCA sounds like a good option.

All in all, this was one of the best "value" properties we've found anywhere, not to mention at the beach. Dont' be afraid to give them a try.

Room Tip: The only thing to try to get is something away from the elevators, although even though ours was clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tubaman77-CTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Vir...
#16 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#23 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oceanfront Inn

Property: The Oceanfront Inn
Address: 2901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#33 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront resort area, within 1.5 miles from the Virginia Beach Convention Center and 12.5 miles away from the local airport, The Oceanfront Inn is an ideal location for business and vacationing travelers. Right on the beach, The Oceanfront Inn offers you the ideal location to relax and enjoy all Virginia Beach offers, from nearby free seasonal events and concerts to delicious dining outlets and unique shops and attractions. Completed 2011 renovations include updated lobby, enhanced WiFi, expanded cable and updated guestrooms feature new wallpaper, new bedspreads and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing