We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Oceanfront Inn to your Saves list
The Oceanfront Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 111 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for the weekend and felt this was a nice place to stay. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The door to the oceanfront balcony looked like it has been recently redone and was nice. The lobby was nicely furnished and there were 3 elevators, one was glass so could you see outside as you went up or down, very cool!

My only complaint about the stay was the shower, the water would go from warm to scalding hot to ice cold randomly during the shower so you frequently had to jump out of the way of the water.I tried setting it at different temperatures but this happened no matter what.

All in all I thought it was a nice hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seelie8509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Your comments are important to us as we continually strive to improve guest experiences. Our owner takes pride in The Oceanfront Inn and continues to renovate to enhance guest satisfaction.We welcome you back again! Thank you for taking your time to post your review and share your feedback, your experience is important to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    167
    70
    26
    17
See reviews for
147
128
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UpstateNYer510
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights the last week of October. The room was clean, the balcony and view were great. Although it's an older hotel, the room is up-to-date with the exception of the bathroom floor. The older tile is dated and almost gives it the look of a dirty bathroom, but its not, it's clean, The water pressure on shower was fantastic! Bed was comfy. For the amount of money charged for an oceanfront room with balcony...you cannot do any better!

Housekeeping was ok. I did find that instead of giving me a new bathmat for the floor, they picked up and folded the one I had already used because it was still wet when I went to take a shower that night. If you want a fresh bathmat every day, make sure you put the used one in the pile of used towels.

I usually don't need the front desk help but I did call on them a couple of times during my stay. Recommendation for place for dinner/drinks (Murphy's Irish Pub was EXCELLENT), permission for a visiting friend to park in the lot, etc. Everyone I dealt with was professional and helpful. I couldn't ask for anything better.

I would absolutely recommend staying here. You can't beat the price!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UpstateNYer510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your review and share your feedback.We welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

After moving to this motel after 2 days of staying in one we were not happy with, this was a big improvement. The rooms are all oceanfront with a great view. They are clean and the staff was very nice. Even though Hurricane Sandy was moving in, we still had a great time. Compared to where we stayed the first 2 days, it was also a great value!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your review and share your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe MA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Oceanfront Inn provided two of the things we most look for when we are traveling to Virginia Beach. A view of the ocean and an indoor pool. All of the rooms in the Oceanfront face the ocean. There is nothing like opening your door to the balcony and leaving it open for your entire stay. The cool breeze and the sound of the surf make it easy to sleep. The hotel itself is a little outdated but it is clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only slight problem we had was when we decided to eat at the Neptune Restaurant which was located in the hotel. They had a seafood buffet, which meant none of the regular menu was available. The staff did apologize for that but considering it was not their fault, it was much appreciated. This will be one of the places considered for the next trip to VA Beach.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the ocean so there really is not a bad room to have. IF you are a frequent visito...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFIManagement, Front Office Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your review and share your feedback. Your comments are important to us as we continually strive to improve guest experiences. Our owner takes pride in The Oceanfront Inn and continues to renovate to enhance guest satisfaction. Our staff will continue to be motivated to possess a cheerful attitude and we welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

the hotel stay as great the room was clean and comfortable. The room was also sound proof we didn't hear any other guest and that was great. the oceanfront was very enjoyable. Adam at the front desk was really great we got the best customer service from him. The other people at the front desk we not so friendly. The hotel can use some new beds the mattresses seemed to be old and not so comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jess and tony p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your review. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

I have to start by saying that I'm annoyed to discover that the hotel jacked their prices up by about $40/night this weekend while there is a soccer tournament in town...especially since they are on the "preferred hotels" list from the tournament organizers. If we wanted to come back and stay in the same rooms next weekend, it would only be $84/night instead of $124/night!
Otherwise...pros are that the location is great, right on the ocean with easy access to the boardwalk and lots of nearby restaurants and shops. The room itself is reasonably clean - sheets and towels seem fresh, not too worn looking. Not a huge room, but we had enough space to set up a pack-n-play in addition to the 2 double beds. Biggest negative is the bathroom...in addition to being really small, it was kind of disgusting! Not from a housekeeping perspective so much - everything was as clean as it probably could be - but there was rust everywhere! The sprinkler in the ceiling was caked with rust, the edges of the door, the towel rack, pretty much everything with metal on it was rusty. There is also something weird going in with the shower...when I turned the water on and let it run for a minute while I got undressed, the flow from the faucet decreased to almost a trickle! Luckily it came back when I turned the handle more, but that's strange! The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, but I think we'll check out a different hotel next year when we come back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thefords831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your review and share your comments. Our management has taken this very seriously and has addressed your concerns as needed. We regret to hear of your dissatisfaction. If there is a serious concern with a room, a guest has the option of moving to a different room so management can take necessary action to correct the situation and if necessary take the room out of inventory until the room is suitable for occupancy. The Oceanfront Inn stays competitive with rates and you might find as a consumer that other hotels in the area have fluctuating rates on weekdays, weekends and holiday weekends, like the one mentioned. Thank you for taking your time to post your review and share your constructive feedback. Your comments are important to us as we continually strive to improve guest experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barboursville, va
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was my 4th visit to Virginia Beach, and I have always stayed at the Oceanfront Inn. The room is large, comfortable, and clean. Bathroom a little small, but also very clean. Balcony looking out to the ocean great for a glass of wine, or a coffee in the am. Indoor pool is heated, and terrific for some lap swimming, but watch out for the chlorine...it's very strong.
Staff very friendly and helpful as usual!
Would recommend this hotel to anyone, as it is centrally located on Atlantic Ave., near the statue of Neptune.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cyngert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your review and share your feedback. Your comments are important to us as we continually strive to improve guest experiences. Our owner takes pride in The Oceanfront Inn and continues to renovate to enhance guest satisfaction. Our staff will continue to be motivated to possess a cheerful attitude and we welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
Schooner Inn
#53 of 111 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#30 of 111 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 744 reviews
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Vir...
#18 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Virginia Beach
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#73 of 111 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Bea...
#10 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,402 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oceanfront Inn

Property: The Oceanfront Inn
Address: 2901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#33 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront resort area, within 1.5 miles from the Virginia Beach Convention Center and 12.5 miles away from the local airport, The Oceanfront Inn is an ideal location for business and vacationing travelers. Right on the beach, The Oceanfront Inn offers you the ideal location to relax and enjoy all Virginia Beach offers, from nearby free seasonal events and concerts to delicious dining outlets and unique shops and attractions. Completed 2011 renovations include updated lobby, enhanced WiFi, expanded cable and updated guestrooms feature new wallpaper, new bedspreads and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Otel, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your The Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing