We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oceanfront Inn”
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cranford, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Oceanfront Inn”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The location of this hotel is just at the end of the resort section of Virgina Beach, I wouldn't suggest going any further down below 30th street. We chose it because it was close and convenient to the convention center as we where there for a wrestling tournament over memorial day weekend. The hotel has a great view over looking the beach and board walk, just next to the Neptune statue. It is right on the beach which was awesome, over all we were very pleased with our room and our stay. It was clean and the staff was very help and curtious, there were some slight plumbing issues they managed for us quickly so we were happy. There is an on site restaurant which we only had breakfast at but it was very good and quick service. We are a family of 4 with teenage boys and would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor offers great views and you can get away from some of the night time noise, avoid the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happygilmore10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your review. We appreciate your comments. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    199
    78
    28
    19
See reviews for
187
163
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2012

It was great. Great view from balcony of ocean. Room was clean and service was great for a good price during the summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for posting your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamesville, New York
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here last year and it was great! The staff were all friendly and helpful save for one woman whose name escapes me, the pool area was always clean and comfortable, the rooms were very adequate for a family of four. The hotel opens up to the boardwalk and has plenty of everything you want right there on the beach. Awesome time!

Room Tip: Stay oceanfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your review. Your comments are appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Overall we enjoyed our stay The night Staff Led by Clinton was exceptional. We have stayed multiple times over the last 8 years at you hotel While it needs a llitle updtaing in decor and structure its value is well worth it.

How ever your Daytime Desk need attention. . I have never found Bobbie to be personable or welcominmg at any visit and so I prefer to do all my dealing with anyone else. Bobbie need an etiquiet class and lessons in how to treat customers. Plus her choice of clothing and hair styles does not lend one to think she has any idea of what a busness person would choose who is in the customers eye at all times.


Kudos to the Night staff led by Clinton otherwise I would stay somewhere else

Room Tip: Side room are a bargain for teenage children some mom and dad can have privacy and still stay in yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albetr F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIO
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Cheap rates with aaa discount
Nice staff
Rooms are basic but clean and have a fridge free wifi and a wonderful patio overlooking the beach. We even could see the dolphins from our room!

Restaurant on site : very good seafood buffet for 30$

Pool on site but we didn't use, it looked clean and small

Fitness room: maybe 2 machines nothing special, but you can workout on the awesome 3 mile boardwalk!

All in all if your going to just hang out at the beach and enjoy the boardwalk and just want a clean nice place in a great location just to sleep this place is for you!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessbess808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your review and share your constructive comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our amenities. The dolphins do always put on a nice show...and your private balcony or the boardwalk are perfect scenic spots!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at The Oceanfront Inn at Virginia Beach from April 20 till April 21, 2012 in a room for four guests (2 beds). We had an ocean front view from our balcony. The hotel has a great location, nice long boardwalk and a lot of places to eat around. The hotel has a nice warm swimming pool. We had a car and it was good to have a quite big parking lot in front of the hotel. The only thing that we didnt like about Virginia state is that they have a law which doesnt allow stores to sell alchohol after 10pm. so, in case if you are not in a mood to go to a bar and simply want to enjoy some drinks in your room, our advice - get it during the day ;-) Hope our advice helps and you have a great vacation in Virginia Beach !

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siberianna89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your review and share your comments. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our in-laws visit Virginia Beach every summer and have stayed at the Oceanfront Inn for the past few years. We decided to visit this past July and the rates were cheaper than some of the surrounding hotels. The hotel is average but it is in a prime location. The lobby was small but the staff was friendly and helpful. Parking can be difficult if the lot is full but I was lucky to get a spot in the main lot. There is a small parking garage right across the street for overflow. The lobby is small and elevators are old but they do the job. There is an indoor pool but located on the Atlantic Ave side...would have loved it if it were outdoor or located on the beach side.

The rooms were average...most have balconies with amazing views of the beach, ocean and boardwalk. The rooms have small bathrooms, comfy beds, great air conditioning, a flat-screen tv, refrigerator and microwave along with an open closet, set of drawers, desk/chair and arm chair. There are sliding glass doors that open to the balcony where you will find two chairs and enough railing space to hang your wet towels.

There is one restaurant on site with indoor and partial outdoor seating. The outdoor area is covered but when the weather is good the walls have huge openings for views of the boardwalk and beach. We had drinks one evening and they were good and reasonably priced. Another evening we had the buffet which included some american food, lots of seafood, sushi and crab legs. The food was good but the buffet was a little pricey if you don't love seafood.

There isn't a gift shop on site, but there were two conveniently located across the street. Plus there are tons of options along Atlantic Ave for anything you may need including food, beer, wine, etc... Across the street on Pacific Ave there was a place, Murphy's Pub. Such a convenient location and great place for some drinks at the end of the night.

Back to location...great for beach access. If you are in the main lot, leave your umbrellas, chairs, etc... in the car. So much easier than bringing everything to the room. On the side of the lot, there is a walkway right down to the beach. We'd bring our stuff down in the morning and return it to the car when we were done at the beach. The hotel is just a quick walk up from the beach so restroom access is convenient...just don't forget your room key...you need it to access the bathroom. The hotel is within walking distance to many restaurants and attractions, but there is also a stop right outside the hotel for the bus that runs up and down Atlantic Avenue.

The only downfall was the rooms are not very soundproof. We had many families on our floor and you could hear a lot of noise. Granted...not the hotels fault (I blame the guests for their lack of common courtesy) but could be irritating if you have rowdy guests near you.

Overall, we would stay at the Oceanfront Inn if we visited Virginia Beach again. The price was right and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Most rooms have balconies...make sure to reserve one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristine_LongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your review and share your constructive comments. Our rooms do include a refrigerator, coffee-maker, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, flat-screen television and a private balcony overlooking the boardwalk and beautiful ocean. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,440 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
1.6 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#36 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#77 of 109 in Virginia Beach
501 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oceanfront Inn

Property: The Oceanfront Inn
Address: 2901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#33 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront resort area, within 1.5 miles from the Virginia Beach Convention Center and 12.5 miles away from the local airport, The Oceanfront Inn is an ideal location for business and vacationing travelers. Right on the beach, The Oceanfront Inn offers you the ideal location to relax and enjoy all Virginia Beach offers, from nearby free seasonal events and concerts to delicious dining outlets and unique shops and attractions. Completed 2011 renovations include updated lobby, enhanced WiFi, expanded cable and updated guestrooms feature new wallpaper, new bedspreads and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing