We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
virginia
1 review
“Never Again”
Reviewed June 5, 2007

Toilet stopped working within an hour of being there. Hotel had us wait all day until night said maintenance was coming and then said there was no maintenance that day . Finally they had us move to another room and in that room nothing was plugged in and working I had to plug everything in. bathroom had hair all over floor and pool was discolored. Only thing that was good was the view!!

  • Liked — veiw and being on the beach !
  • Disliked — the stay
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kimny2va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,084
    645
    251
    110
    81
See reviews for
1,127
580
60
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2007

our family was very disappointed with our room. hotel was installing a new boiler system right underneath our room, so we had all the noise all the time. also, we could not even use our balcony because the workers were right there. no privacy at all. when we complained to management, the manager stated that she would leave us a certificate for a complimenty return visit. when we left the next morning, she had never left it. we also asked for an important wake-up call for the mornig we left. we never got that either. i believe that if a manager promises something, they should remembr it. we paid alot of money for a room for a week that we could not even enjoy

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — customer service
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vbarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkersville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2007

Just stayed a weekend. Room was nice, but alittle small.
Great views, & in the middle of things. We wished we tried their buffett, but wasn't that hungry, & ordered off menu: very good & avg. prices, but the buffett looked nice! One elevator was only working. Clean place, updated rooms. The free continental breakfast is very nice. Will stay again!!

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
Thank micjest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2006

Stayed here for a Military Reunion. Not a new flashy chain but everything was much better than expected. Good staff great location. Clean rooms. Very Happy.

  • Liked — location and parking
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VolvoGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horn Lake, MS
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2006

This was a bargain find. Nothing fancy but nothing bad, The price was right and the hotel was no less than expected. The bad reveiws contained in Trip Advisor betray a lack of understanding of the price relationship with the rest of the area. All in all a not unpleasant experience,

  • Liked — The price and view
  • Disliked — Needs updating
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not eat at the buffets
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mutt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Heights ,VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2006

We stayed on the 5th floor, what a Great View!...The Buffet was pricey but the breakfast buffet was well worth the $$ in case you miss the continental breakfast which was very nice.

The bathroom was a little small meaning the shower head was to short for myself and my husband , we are over 5'8 and the shower head didn't move enough to accomodate.

The Housekeeping was right on time in cleaning and making our beds and you get a newspaper at your door every morning.

It was a Beautiful sight to wake up to the Dolphins playing in the water so close that you could see them frolicking very close to the pier and we really enjoyed watching them.

This hotel is well worth the $ if you go when rates are lower say in Sept when the crowds are gone but it's still warm enough to enjoy the surf and sand.

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — Rather not say.
  • Tips/Secrets — Come in September when the rates are lower.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ryesbabygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zippy1234
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2006

We stayed at the Sandcastle the week of August 7th. We stayed in the 2 room suite on the 9th floor. It includes two bathrooms which was really nice. The hotel is a bit dated, but for the price it was worth it.

The staff was friendly, the room was clean. We slept quietly every night. My only complaint about the housekeeping is that they did not replenish the in-room coffee maker every day. Since I look forward to my morning coffee, this was a biggie for me.

The hotel is at an excellent location. The only downside to the hotel is that the elevators are slow and you'll find yourself spending a lot of time waiting for them or riding on them. Also, the hotel hallways and elevator are not air-conditioned. It was pretty stifling outside of our room.

To sum it up, we did enjoy our stay and we would stay a the Sandcastle again.

We enjoyed Virginia Beach. We ate at the Seaside Galley restaurant in the Sandcastle on our first day and we enjoyed it. We also ate at Fishbones next to the Sandcastle. Good food and service.

We had a bad experience at Giovanni's at 20th and Atlantic. The hostesses were annoyed with us from the moment we walked in (they remided me of those girls from the "Simple Life"). We were with my wife's sisters family which made it a total of 8. Even though the restaurant wasn't busy, and there were tables available on the first floor, they wanted us to go to the second floor which would require us to carry the kids strollers up two flights of stairs. When we asked for a first floor table, the hostess rolled her eyes and pointed at a corner and told us to fit where we could. We ended up a two different tables. They refused to let us have 2 checks (even though we had to use two tables) and there is a mandatory 18.5% tip for all patrons (not just parties of 8+). The food was okay, but we will never go there again. They were rude and unwelcoming.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Elevators
  • Tips/Secrets — No
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Zippy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
605 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#19 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,443 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Address: 1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel located directly on the world famous Virginia Beach boardwalk. Our guest will enjoy world class service, easy access to the beach, and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel offers several types of accommodations to choose from. We offer you amazing views from 146 rooms with private balconies, two queen beds, or one king bed. All of our rooms offer you microwave and refrigerator, while our suites will provide you with a kitchenette. No matter how you must stay connected we offer free local calls, long distance access, and wireless high speed internet access. In addition, we have an on-site fitness center that overlooks the beach, on site laundry facilities, and complimentary business center. We are happy to provide you with conference rooms and meeting space for up to 150 people is perfect for your personal or professional functions. The Virginia Beach oceanfront is host to some of the best festivals and events you will find on the east coast such as; American Music Festival, Patriotic Festival, East Coast Surfing Championship, Neptune Festival, North American Sand Soccer Championship and the Boardwalk Art Show. Other nearby attractions includes Naval Air Station Oceana, Fort Story, Damn Neck Naval Base, Cape Henry Light House, Virginia Aquarium and Marine Museum, Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, and Ruddee Inlet.After spending the day enjoying Virginia Beach or working come back and enjoy the comfortable and spacious lobby or enjoy a great dinner at Pier 14. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Sandcastle Resort Va Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing