We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
colonial heights,va
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

We just returned from the weekend at the Sandcastle. It is a great place to stay. The girl at the reception desk was very polite and very helpful. The room was very clean. The food for the breakfast was good. Didn't realize how hungry we were until we got down there and saw all the food. The lobby is very tastefully decorated with aquariums full of fish. It is in a great location with all oceanfront rooms. The only thing was the parking. The parking spots could have been a little bit wider. When we go to the beach again, we will be staying at the Sandcastle.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nannyto8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    525
    220
    94
    64
See reviews for
841
482
52
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

This year was my third year at Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort Hotel. We go every February. The place is clean and the people are wonderful. The indoor pool is definitely a plus. The view from the balcony is spectacular. I would definitely reccomend this to anyone who is thinking about it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank froggirl0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

My husband and I stayed here on Valentine weekend. We were very pleased with the hotel and will definately go back there again. We had a very quick and courteous check in and check out experience. Our room was oceanside on the 3rd floor, it was very clean and spacious. They offered beverages (coffee, cocoa, juice and water) and fruit (apples, oranges and bananas) all day in the lobby. There was also a breakfast bar that had a very nice assortment of breakfast foods. The pool was warm and very pleasant. We ate at the Greek Restaurant off the lobby in the hotel and was very pleased with the food. Overall a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

My girlfriends and I stayed here this past weekend. The room was okay for what we needed- a place to stay, free breakfast, and the beach. The beds were comfortable. The television had a lot of channels and a DVD player. The parking garage was tight. I could not imagine the garage in the summer. It made us nervous and we had a small car. The breakfast consists of cereal, donuts, oatmeal, and bagels. The only problem was the bathroom ceiling. We noticed that the tiles were coming undone. I took a picture. Thank goodness we did not notice it until we left. This is a good place if you are staying on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familyoffourVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2009

We always stay at the Sandcastle when we visit Virginia Beach. We have always had wonderful experiences there and would not hesitate for a second to book a room there if we were going to the beach tomorrow. The rooms are wonderful and spacious with a balcony with a spectacular view of the 14th street pier and the dazzling Atlantic Ocean. The rooms have a phone, coffee maker, television, comfortable beds, safe, and daily housekeeping service. The hotel has a great continental breakfast every morning, 24-hour coffee and juice in the lobby, a huge beachfront store with all of the beach supplies you could ever want/need and a bicycle rental station. The staff was always very helpful and kind with any problems that may have come up during our stay. The hotel also has a great pool with sundeck, exercise room, arcade, and conference room. Furthermore, the location of this resort is great. There are 2 amusement parks directly beside the hotel for adults and children alike, the 14th street fishing pier directly in front of the hotel, all kinds of beach shops, restaurants, and beach information stations. There are also many trolley stops within walking distance as well. The prices here are very affordable for all the features and services, even in the midst of the summer months. I would rather stay here than at the Hilton or Beach Club Resort down the street. Everything was magnificent!! If you are on a budget and want a hotel with a great location, staff, wonderful amenities, and rooms, you must stay at the Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort Virginia Beach!

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I_love_2_travel8712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2009

Virginia Beach was the 2nd part of our vacation to Washington DC. I have never been to Virginia Beach, and we were looking to relax after our hectic 3 days in DC.

Before I give my review, I guess I should say I've never been a fan of Spring Break towns, even when I was young enough to par-take in Spring Break. Not quite sure what I was expecting...

We again booked based upon reviews for TA. The view was beautiful, and so was the location. There was only a door...not a doorwall to the balcony. The motel was old and run-down. The ceiling tiles were falling out in the bathroom (who's idea was that in the first place?), and water damaged. It was clean from what I could tell.....but I don't think you could ever get it to look good because everything was so old. There was a microwave and a fridge in the room, and the continental breakfast the good and a money saver. If I was truly on a budget vacation with young kids, it had everything I needed. The staff was very friendly, and there was a store with everything you forgot to bring to the beach plus some. We rented bikes and enjoyed a couple of morning bike rides, fairly reasonable, all things considered.

Since we were there after the kids go back to school,l it was mostly senior citizens and very young families. The beach was wonderful.....where could I watch dolphins in the morning and F14's flying over in the afternoon?

I have to mention just a couple things...Ocean Eddie's eats on the pier (aka FAST EDDIE). Obviously the chance to make lots of money by location alone....was a dump, the man that was seating us was holding a beer and obviously drunk, we walked out. Just wanted some seaford since I was looking at the Atlantic. We went across the street to a pizzeria (directly across from the motel...forgot the name) and it was the best hand tossed old school pizza I have ever had!

If I went to Virginia Beach again, I would pay the money for a nicer hotel. I love a good bargin, but this was a little more than I could handle.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank along0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

My daughter and I spent 8 days at the Sandcastle in October 2009. We enjoyed the hotel and the beach. The continental breakfast each morning was a real money saver as we then only had to buy lunch and dinner. The room balcony looks out onto the large fishing pier and well maintained beach. The boardwalk runs along behind the hotel and is used daily for walking, running, dog walking and bicycle riding. The room was very comfortable and cleaned daily. It had 2 queen size beds, cable TV, a DVD player, small safe and microwave. The parking garage is enclosed except for the top floor, with elevator service to all floors. The souvenir shops and restaurants are easy to walk to or a short drive if you rent a car.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Model_TNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Vir...
#16 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.1 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Address: 1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel located directly on the world famous Virginia Beach boardwalk. Our guest will enjoy world class service, easy access to the beach, and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel offers several types of accommodations to choose from. We offer you amazing views from 146 rooms with private balconies, two queen beds, or one king bed. All of our rooms offer you microwave and refrigerator, while our suites will provide you with a kitchenette. No matter how you must stay connected we offer free local calls, long distance access, and wireless high speed internet access. In addition, we have an on-site fitness center that overlooks the beach, on site laundry facilities, and complimentary business center. We are happy to provide you with conference rooms and meeting space for up to 150 people is perfect for your personal or professional functions. The Virginia Beach oceanfront is host to some of the best festivals and events you will find on the east coast such as; American Music Festival, Patriotic Festival, East Coast Surfing Championship, Neptune Festival, North American Sand Soccer Championship and the Boardwalk Art Show. Other nearby attractions includes Naval Air Station Oceana, Fort Story, Damn Neck Naval Base, Cape Henry Light House, Virginia Aquarium and Marine Museum, Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, and Ruddee Inlet.After spending the day enjoying Virginia Beach or working come back and enjoy the comfortable and spacious lobby or enjoy a great dinner at Pier 14. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Sandcastle Resort Va Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing