We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb stay!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay. Food is excellent. Room is very comfy and extremely clean with a great ocean view. Staff was super friendly. I would surely be staying here again and would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Virginia Beach.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaden D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    563
    226
    100
    66
See reviews for
923
526
58
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edison, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Our family had fun... The hotel is nice and rooms very clean & comfortable.. and staff was very very helpful... Breakfast was very good. Kids enjoyed the beach and hotel. I will definitely stay here next time....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dborad777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our Family enjoyed the stay .Easy access to Beach, My kids loved the room and beach. Breakfast was excellent Only issue we had was, All the guests have to use one elevator (other one was broken) and it was never repaired until we checked out. Hope they have fixed it now.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Ganeshamoorthy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our reservations were made in April for the week of July 7 -12. We booked a 2 queen/sofabed/full refrigerator room with 5 people and at check in were told there was a glitch in the system and we were given a 2 queen/no sofabed/mini fridge for 4 people. We only received 4 coupons per day for the continental breakfast because that is the maximum allowed for the room, leaving us to pay $13.95 each day for one person's breakfast. We also then had to purchase a blow up mattress for our 3rd child to have somewhere to sleep. We had a cooler full of drinks and food for the full fridge we were expecting so had to continue to refill the cooler with ice throughout our stay. The front desk told us we could stay in the size room we booked for two nights and move for the rest of the week. As a family of five who traveled six hours to stay there, that was not an option we desired. We were there for work and pleasure not to unpack just to repack and unpack again. One of the elevators were broken leaving one elevator functioning for 9 floors. We were told it would be fixed within 24 hours and it was not until the 4th day of our stay. The average wait for an elevator was 7 - 10 minutes. While fixing the elevator the 2nd elevator broke causing us to use the freight elevator. Stairs were not an option with 3 children, sand toys, beach bags, beach chairs, surf boards and boogie boards...especially when we spoke to a man who just came back from the emergency room with neck and back injuries due to the stairs being wet and him falling. The employees (those who were not front desk staff) were just as unhappy as the guests and made it very clear, even with colorful language, that the front desk really didn't know what they were doing and were consistently making errors at the guest's expense. We have stayed at this hotel numerous times and have even recommended it to family who also enjoyed their stay. This year we were told the hotel is under new management and it shows....in a very negative way. The restaurant for dinner was extremely disappointing. The buffet lacked any appetizing looking food and/or variety and the menu was far overpriced. The waitress huffed and verbally complained to us when my husband and daughter ordered a virgin pina colada. There was no liquor license due to the ownership change over, so I cannot imagine making one of these was all too difficult. For what we paid that night for chicken tenders, bacon fries and a steak with coke and 2 pina coladas, we should not have been made to feel guilty for the order we placed. We go to Virginia Beach every summer, sometimes more than once, and we will be sure to avoid booking here again. We are planning a 2 and a half week road trip in Aug and were intending to book at Best Westerns along the way, but we are seriously reconsidering. We understand every hotel has a different owner, but we do not want to spend money on a gamble that the whole Best Western chain has not lowered their standards.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
5 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write a review about your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 757-428-2828.


Sincerely,

Jason C.
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Normally, when we travel (which isn't all that often to begin with), we have to spend a little more because we are a family of 6. We usually need a suite or at least an adjoining room. This time, only 4 of us made the trip, and we had to do a little cost cutting. So we picked the Sandcastle with a double-queen ocean-front room.

As others have said, the rooms are a little on the small side, but we are doing alright navigating around one another just fine. Check-in and parking were easy after a 10-hour drive, and the room was very neatly prepared and clean on check-in. I DID notice that although the air conditioner was maxed out, the room a little on the warm, humid side. I figured it was simply because this is an older hotel that has been renovated and the AC units are NOT central air. The first night's sleep was a little toasty. The next day, the battery in our smoke detector died so it started chirping. I called down to the desk about that and also mentioned the AC. Within 5 minutes, two guys were in our room assessing the situations. We left them as we went to dinner. When we got back, both issues were fixed perfectly and our room was a cool 68 degrees. Needless to say, I was completely shocked at how quick and perfect they resolved the issue, and needless to say again, last night's sleep was awesome.

We are on the 4th floor and enjoying the ocean-front view, the boardwalk, and the close proximity to the pier. Today, I tried the small fitness center rather than running the boardwalk. It is very small, but all the equipment worked well, and I was the only person in there (which was nice).

A lot of people complain about the breakfast buffet. If you've ever eaten cafeteria/buffet style breakfasts, it is fine. It's not like going to Bob Evans, but it's more than fine. Everything tasted a-okay.

I like having a convenience store and gift shop on site, but I always seem to need something. Housekeeping is on the ball, and our room is clean before we come in for lunch every day. Couldn't ask for more.

About the only complaint I have is that the elevators are slllloooooooowwww being an older hotel. If that is the worst I have to complain about then I have nothing to complain about.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitch H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheektowaga, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

First off I've never written a review and am not one to complain, but usually roll with the punches. Our stay was booked last September as they only have one 3 room suite and I wanted to ensure that my family would have plenty of space for ourselves. Travel down from our area was a breeze with no traffic issues so I was in a great mood when we arrived at 4:30 pm and attempted to check in well after the advertised 3:00 check in time. To our dismay the room was still in the process of being cleaned and we were unable to check in and enjoy the beach for the early part of the evening(apparently 7 maids called in sick). The cost for that night alone was in the upper $300's and I feel that for that price the room could at least be ready for our arrival. Well I took it in stride and the manager on duty at that time did offer a 10% discount for the night and to allow us to leave our luggage in their office while we walked the boardwalk. It was almost 5:45 by the time the room was ready, but we made the best of it. The next glitch would have to be that 1 of the 2 elevators mainly designated for the guests was down from our arrival until mid-day Thursday. They did have an additional service elevator which serviced floors 1-7 located to far right of lobby, but this was slow and noisy at best. The other elevator that was working was obviously always overloaded and wait times were some times several minutes. The elevator issue leads into my next complaint. I was using the stairwell located next to the 2 elevators and between 2 of the floors the maintenance team that was working on the elevator had apparently spilled hydraulic fluid on stairwell and did not clean it up and I quite painfully did a side plant on the landing as it was like slipping on ice. I am thankful that it ended up happening to me instead of my wife, or the mom with 2 young children behind us, but regretted it the next day as I had to visit the local ER for intense shoulder pain. The response when I went to tell the front desk about the issue was pathetic at best. I gave them the location and replay of the incident and they said they were sending up someone, which they did but then that person left the area and I went up to check to verify that it was going to be cleaned up. To my surprise there was no employee near location and I stayed there, place a wet floor sign, and guarded the area so that no other guest would potentially fall. My wife in the meantime filled out an incident report. I grabbed a maintenance man and told him he needed to stay and he stated it was oil form elevator repair attempt. I then went back down to front desk and asked to speak to manager. Jason(manager on duty at time) came to greet me and I told him story and told him if I were manager I would want to see the issue as he did not initially seem interested in looking at the scene. I took him to area and he acknowledged how slippery the stairwell was. I must add at no time did they ask if I needed medical attention. To make a long story even longer I went to ER next morning and all appeared to be well, of course besides for this review the hotel or Jason would not know because the management team never followed up on incident to check on my condition. On the flipside Edith and her housekeeping team were excellent in their performance and I hope their working conditions improve. Tamara(8 yrs hotel experience) and Alivia(2 weeks of hotel experience) were both great and accommodating whenever I interacted with them and should be commended on their performance. The entire front desk crew was helpful especially when I had to get my room key reset numerous times. The pool and breakfast buffet were nice as in past years. The biggest concern would be the "Management" and their either lack of knowledge or caring attitude. You need to take into account that there are many families that save all year and spend a lot of money to stay at your hotel and you need to step up and realize you are in the "hospitality" business and appreciate that these people chose to stay with you, don't take for granted what you have and remember people are paying for a vacation and not wasting time waiting on elevators, room cleaning, and tending to injuries obtained through negligence on your part. For those who have stayed this long through my review I Thank You as you and your family deserve a better vacation stay then this hotel. I am sure that the Management will get better and I hope they do as there are many great people that come to work everyday and put their best foot forward just trying to earn a living and help the traveler. If anyone has any further questions please feel free to ask through site as I am more than willing to make your vacation more enjoyable than mine was,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank John2713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Went to Virginia Beach on family vacation. We were quite impressed with the staff, and room. Room overlooked the beach, and pier; balcony was great for the breeze too. Only issue was the 1 elevator was broken and was for our stay. That is only negative thing!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank robertsF2313JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Vir...
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Address: 1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel located directly on the world famous Virginia Beach boardwalk. Our guest will enjoy world class service, easy access to the beach, and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel offers several types of accommodations to choose from. We offer you amazing views from 146 rooms with private balconies, two queen beds, or one king bed. All of our rooms offer you microwave and refrigerator, while our suites will provide you with a kitchenette. No matter how you must stay connected we offer free local calls, long distance access, and wireless high speed internet access. In addition, we have an on-site fitness center that overlooks the beach, on site laundry facilities, and complimentary business center. We are happy to provide you with conference rooms and meeting space for up to 150 people is perfect for your personal or professional functions. The Virginia Beach oceanfront is host to some of the best festivals and events you will find on the east coast such as; American Music Festival, Patriotic Festival, East Coast Surfing Championship, Neptune Festival, North American Sand Soccer Championship and the Boardwalk Art Show. Other nearby attractions includes Naval Air Station Oceana, Fort Story, Damn Neck Naval Base, Cape Henry Light House, Virginia Aquarium and Marine Museum, Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, and Ruddee Inlet.After spending the day enjoying Virginia Beach or working come back and enjoy the comfortable and spacious lobby or enjoy a great dinner at Pier 14. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Sandcastle Resort Va Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing