We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great Stay!!!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed at this hotel to participate int he Shamrock Marathon weekend activities. I will stay here again! The Staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. The room was very nice and faced the ocean and the breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for a great review about the Best Western Plus Sandcastle. It was a busy weekend for the Va Beach oceanfront and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay during the Shamrock marathon. Come back and see us again next year and be sure to ask about our Shamrock marathon rates!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,079
    645
    250
    109
    81
See reviews for
1,122
579
60
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2014

First they messed up my reservation date and then after I finally paid an extra 20 bucks for a less desirable room they actually told me I went to the wrong room when my key didn't work. All the time my son was waiting for me to return at the same room! Lastly the hotel next door is being painted so there is a working using a paint sander right outside my room. Never use a Best Western again. Never had this kind of issues with Hilton!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffreylhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for recently staying with us here at the Best Western Plus Sandcastle. I do apologize that your dates were incorrect at the time of your arrival, We do see that you directly made your reservation online at the Best Western reservations system and the reservation was made for March 23rd 2014. And the day you arrived was March 22nd, 2014. With you having booked a Full Prepaid/Non refundable reservation we were still willing and able to accommodate your request of checking in on the 22nd. The extra 20$ was for the rate change of the dates, not for a less desirable room. You were in the correct room you booked, the 20$ fee was the upgrade charge of the Saturday and Sunday rate difference. We hope that you decide to visit us again in the future so we can exceed your expectations next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Va, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We arrived on a Friday evening. We parked on the 4th floor of the garage. Doors to inside hotel was very convenient. Went to room with luggage and room was clean and very pretty. Smelled good. The food was great. Breakfast Bar ws good and on top of that we ordered egges the way we liked them and on top of that we ordered Morning Star Bacon. No one have Morning Star products but BEST WESTERN. Awsome!! We don't eat pork so morning star was great! We made reservations to come back in July. Looking forward to it. We were right on the Beach Front right at the Peer. If you like to fish you couldn't ask for a better location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Reginia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for such a fabulous review for our property! We take pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and hotel rooms. We are glad to hear we could accommodate your needs for breakfast with our full, hot breakfast! It does provide a great variety to chose from, as well as a few non meat items! See you in July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Hotel has been remodeled and it looks great. The staff was very helpful during our check in and checkout. Staff provided a van driver who drove us to the starting point for the half marathon. Swimming pool was clean. We used the pool and had a very good time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for recently staying with us. We appreciate the great review you left us and we are happy to hear our staff provided excellent service! Come back and see us again next year! Don't forget to mention the Shamrock Marathon because we have discounted rooms normally for the runners!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the past couple of years and every time it has been a great experience. The staff is always courteous and informative. The location and views are great. Covered parking is always a plus. The on-site hotel is wonderful.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for being a loyal and repetitive Best Western Plus Sandcastle guest! We really enjoy seeing our repeat customers that come back and see us every year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

The staff was wonderful! They allowed us to check in 2 hours early. We loved the room! It was beautiful, clean and spacious. We loved the balcony too! The wonderful free breakfast in the hotel was delicious. Unfortunately, there were guests down the hall who were completely awful. Their children were in the hall yelling and slamming doors on and off until 11pm. I finally asked the parents to please keep the noise down and to their credit they did. We really enjoyed our stay except for the added entertainment the one night.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SunnyDee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! We take pride in our customer service the staff provides as well as the cleanliness of the room provided by housekeeping! I do apologize about the noise interruptions you encountered, we did have a soccer tournament in Va Beach and had several soccer teams staying with us this past weekend! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I am a local who had a friend visit from Boston. We did not use the pool or the breakfast area. We just needed a place to sleep for two nights.

Pros:

The front desk guy was really nice and the check in/out was easy and fast. The room and bathroom were both very clean.

The view is amazing if you get an oceanfront balcony room. Make sure you get up to take some pics of the sunrise. The first floor is elevated so that people on the street or boardwalk will not be able to directly look into your room. I asked for a king bed, so we were automatically assigned to the 9th (highest) floor.

Private parking garage (an asset at the oceanfront).

Cons:

Parking garage spaces are tight and limited in height. If you have a vehicle that has oversized wheels, large antenna, or any other type of attachment to make it taller, check with the hotel to make sure your car can get up the parking garage ramp. I have a small SUV and I barely fit under the bar.

It can be noisy when people are in the hallways, but I did not hear any noise from the room beside us. If you have a room near the elevator or stairway, it would be a problem.

The heater can be noisy, but it did work well.

The first night I was there, the water was not warm in the shower (the only time I had a problem with the water). I asked the front desk guy about it and he said to run the sink and the bathtub water at the same time because the hotel was not full and the water needed to be pumped into the pipes around the building. That is kinda ridiculous.

Considerations from a local:

Even though this is not the hotel's fault, any hotel you get on the oceanfront of Virginia Beach is going to be plagued with seagulls that never sleep or shut up.

Also, the jets from the nearby military bases fly all day and all night. If you have never heard a jet break the sound barrier, then come to Virginia Beach. You will never forget it because you will be hearing it every 10 minutes for your entire stay. If you are on the 9th floor like we were, it is the worst.

During the summer, Virginia Beach is over run by homeless people and terribly behaved teenagers and college students. To get away from the crowds, go to First Landing State Park's beach or Fort Story's beach (on an Army base and they will search your car). They are only a 10 minute drive away from the oceanfront/Atlantic Ave.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank globaltrekster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for all the pros and cons for the Best Western Plus Sandcastle! We take pride in the cleanliness our housekeeping staff provides us as well as the customer service we provide. Also the sunrise is an amazing view from our oceanfront balconies so we are happy to hear you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
604 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,440 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#5 of 109 in Virginia Beach
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Address: 1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel located directly on the world famous Virginia Beach boardwalk. Our guest will enjoy world class service, easy access to the beach, and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel offers several types of accommodations to choose from. We offer you amazing views from 146 rooms with private balconies, two queen beds, or one king bed. All of our rooms offer you microwave and refrigerator, while our suites will provide you with a kitchenette. No matter how you must stay connected we offer free local calls, long distance access, and wireless high speed internet access. In addition, we have an on-site fitness center that overlooks the beach, on site laundry facilities, and complimentary business center. We are happy to provide you with conference rooms and meeting space for up to 150 people is perfect for your personal or professional functions. The Virginia Beach oceanfront is host to some of the best festivals and events you will find on the east coast such as; American Music Festival, Patriotic Festival, East Coast Surfing Championship, Neptune Festival, North American Sand Soccer Championship and the Boardwalk Art Show. Other nearby attractions includes Naval Air Station Oceana, Fort Story, Damn Neck Naval Base, Cape Henry Light House, Virginia Aquarium and Marine Museum, Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, and Ruddee Inlet.After spending the day enjoying Virginia Beach or working come back and enjoy the comfortable and spacious lobby or enjoy a great dinner at Pier 14. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Sandcastle Resort Va Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing