We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Great employees. I enjoyed my stay here. Very clean and the manager is great. Buffet does not have a great selection but is OK. Limited and the exact same everyday. Housecleaning is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savina E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
It is a great guest that makes us great so I thank you for being you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,084
    645
    251
    110
    81
See reviews for
1,127
580
60
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We just got back from our third trip to Virginia Beach. We stayed at BW Sandcastle for 5 nights along with 2 other families. Even though w booked our trips separately, the manager was very accommodating and made sure we got rooms next to each other (I contacted the hotel ahead of time to ensure room availability). After reading some of the reviews I also asked for rooms away from the elevators and I think it's a good idea. Those elevator bells are pretty loud. The rooms are on a smaller side but very clean and update with modern décor. The breakfast is served in the restaurant downstairs and is adequate. There are enough options to feed everyone, including picky children. There is also coffee and soft drinks available in the lobby free of charge, which is very convenient. The pool is nice too and our children enjoyed it no less than the beach. Speaking of the beach it's very nice and not crowded at all. We had a very nice time and will definitely come back to BW Sandcastle if the deal is good next year.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milla18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savina E, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We are always looking ways to accommodate our guest, and with your help we was able to do just that.
So I also would like to thank you for the continues communication with our staff.
It isn't easy for us to take care of our guest if they don't talk to us.
You know the most important thing in any business is proper communication,
so again I thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have been staying at sandcastle while living both in Virginia and in Minnesota since the 70's.Its way better now that its been remodeled, good breakfast that is included in the cost of the room but not as good as last year. nice LCD flat screens in rooms...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savina E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We do appreciate the faithfulness of your continues stay here at the Sandcastle,
And looking forward too many more years on your returning back to us.
You are part of our family know and looking to a another reunion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at this location and it was our first vacation to the Virginia Beach area. The hotel has been recently updated and our room was very clean. My husband works for a cleaning company and he was very pleased with the cleaniness of our room. The room is the basic size of an older hotel room, but for 2 people it was perfect. We really enjoyed the convenience of the complimentary daily breakfast buffet. It was very easy to go downstairs grab some breakfast and begin your day. The hotel is in a perfect location, right near the Fishing Pier and amusement park. We enjoyed the fireworks over the ocean on Wednesday night as well. The oceanfront rooms with the balconey was perfect for people watching, sunset watching, and ocean watching. Every staff person from the front desk to housekeeping were extremely friendly and helpful. There were many families staying there and they seemed to enjoy the convenience to the beach as well. I would highly recommend this Best Western if you are looking for a clean room, great location, and friendly staff. We used our AAA card and received a nice discount.

Room Tip: Would recommend staying on the 5th floor or higher for great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 4 years ago, booked directly through a travel site, and while it was perfectly acceptable for a family, it was looking pretty run-down. The breakfast was mediocre, the rooms were tolerable, and the location (right on the boardwalk) was great. We hadn't been back since then and I forgot the name of the hotel.

This summer, we used Priceline's "we'll tell you how much but not where until you confirm" tool recently for a spur of the moment trip, and wound up with the Best Western Sandcastle.

I hadn't realized it was the same place until we arrived and the place (especially the driveway and curved ramp to the garage) looked very, very familiar. I asked if it had a different name in the recent past and yes indeed, it was independent.until Best Western took over fairly recently.

The interior was much nicer than before. Updated flooring, elevators, lobby, lighting etc.(it was a little shabby before). Location is fantastic. Our room was tiny - but when you get the discounted prices through something like Priceline, you don't expect a prime room size or location. And really, how much time do you spend in the room when you're at a vacation spot.

The included breakfast was much better than before as well - a lot more choices in hot food. It's in the attached restaurant now rather than a cramped room at the other end of the lobby. Staff was consistently pleasant and friendly (not that this was a problem the last time, just worth noting).

Rooms have fridges and microwaves as well which is good for reheating leftovers.

All the rooms have balconies, but the balconies are really not useful - just room for two plastic lawn chairs side by side. You can certainly sit out there and enjoy the view, but there's no room for a family to relax together.

I don't know when we'll be back at Virginia Beach but I would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are "oceanfront" but some of the ones on the end have a better view of the next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy, France
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed there five nights , in July. Of course it is quite expensive in summer time, but it was worth to, and this hotel is not among the most expensives hôtels along the boardwalk.
We really loved this hotel and were so happy to have chosen it. Whole staff was friendly and helpful. I don't use elevators so they changed our room from 8th floor to 4th floor. Perfect for me !
One morning, our rented car told us we had a flat tire and immediatly an employee came to put air in my tire and saved our day.
The room was really very nice, with a great view from the balcony, could see the dolphins from our balcony chairs, that's priceless !
Its location by the fishing Pier was a plus, we loved to go there on daytime or night, to chat with the fishermen. And the beach was just wonderful.
There is a convenient store on the ground floor where you can rent bikes or family bikes (20$ for two hours, was fun really !) and buy beach items as well as beers and wines.
Parking lot very easy, connected to the hotel. Our room was on 4th floor so we parked on the 4th floor of the parking lot and were right away in our room.
Good fruit juices in the lobby also, all day long.
Have had breakfast there every morning, the good thing is it's in their restaurant (free breakfast, they give you vouchers) up to 11 am and despite it was crowded we never waited too long to get a table. It's a buffet, and service for the beverages is fast and very friendly.
We didn't use the indoor pool, located on 2nd floor. Seemed a little bit small and too crowded when we glanced at it.
There are several restaurants with easy walking distance (on the boardwalk), but our favorite one was just in front of the hotel: Ocean Eddie's, at the fishing Pier; so that was really cool.
We'll definitively choose this hotel again when we'll come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is very family friendly, updated and close to all the happenings on the beach, including the Pier and FunPark across teh street. For those who'd prefer, teh balcony makes for excellent people watching. The included breakfast buffet has something for everyone. Thsi was our 2nd stay at this hotel thsi summer. Highly recommeded

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Constance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Guest Services at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for writing us such a positive review! The best compliment we can receive is your recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
605 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#19 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,443 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Address: 1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel located directly on the world famous Virginia Beach boardwalk. Our guest will enjoy world class service, easy access to the beach, and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel offers several types of accommodations to choose from. We offer you amazing views from 146 rooms with private balconies, two queen beds, or one king bed. All of our rooms offer you microwave and refrigerator, while our suites will provide you with a kitchenette. No matter how you must stay connected we offer free local calls, long distance access, and wireless high speed internet access. In addition, we have an on-site fitness center that overlooks the beach, on site laundry facilities, and complimentary business center. We are happy to provide you with conference rooms and meeting space for up to 150 people is perfect for your personal or professional functions. The Virginia Beach oceanfront is host to some of the best festivals and events you will find on the east coast such as; American Music Festival, Patriotic Festival, East Coast Surfing Championship, Neptune Festival, North American Sand Soccer Championship and the Boardwalk Art Show. Other nearby attractions includes Naval Air Station Oceana, Fort Story, Damn Neck Naval Base, Cape Henry Light House, Virginia Aquarium and Marine Museum, Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, and Ruddee Inlet.After spending the day enjoying Virginia Beach or working come back and enjoy the comfortable and spacious lobby or enjoy a great dinner at Pier 14. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Sandcastle Resort Va Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing