We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“First time staying on the Oceanfront in Va Beach!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Ranked #9 of 108 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First time staying on the Oceanfront in Va Beach!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our stay was 9/9/12-9/14/12. This is the first time I've gone to Va Beach and stayed on the Oceanfront. The Sandcastle is going through renovations, but from what I saw, it will be very mod after they're done. The Lobby is very spacious and offers a free coffee bar. The front desk employees were very helpful and friendly. LeAnn who checked us in was great! We had printed off a coupon for $79.99 a night for use during the off season which started in Sept. We were able to use it Sun-Fri check out. It's not good for the weekend Fri & Sat night. Included in the price was Garage Parking, Wifi and a Breakfast Buffet. We stayed on the 3rd floor, the view was great! Was told that floor 6 down had the best wifi reception, we had no problems. The Breakfast Buffet was great! They have it in the restaurant downstairs from 7am-10am. They offer pancakes, french toast, biscuits & gravy, eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes and many more items. Scot is the manager in the restaurant and is so personable. The room was also very nice. I really liked the decor. It had a working safe, ironing board/ iron, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer and flat screen tv. The beds were comfortable. The shower had shampoo & body wash and there was no problem getting hot water quickly. House keeping also folded the towels in a really cool way, something you would see on a cruise ship. The sink is outside the toilet/shower so everytime you use the bathroom you have to open the door to wash your hands. I both like and dislike the concept. They have a pool and a little gym, we didn't use either of them, but they looked ok to me. There are shops and restaurants all in walking distance (less than 1/2 mile). We rarely drove anywhere. The Aquarium is about 2 miles away. The boardwalk and pier are right outside. There is also a bike path and you can rent family bicycles from the shop downstairs. Overall we had a great experience and will stay here again! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelynnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    483
    200
    87
    64
See reviews for
760
421
45
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roxboro, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here September 15th for a weekend getaway, it was our second time staying at this hotel. We were pleased with the price, location, the quick check-in/check-out, and cleanliness of this hotel. The room is on the small side but enough room for a small family. The room has a fridge, microwave, coffee maker; also iron/board and hair dryer. In addition, there is shampoo and body wash in the bathroom; the beds were comfortable. The view was nice, close to the pier and other activities. The hotel has an indoor pool, but we didn't use it. The complimentary breakfast buffet was very good, there was a large selection of breakfast items including fruit, the only thing is to get there early to avoid the crowd. The elevator is a little slow, but we used the stairs most of our stay just for some exercise. The hotel is under renovation, but it didn't affect our stay. Overall, it was a wonderful stay for us...no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WHC916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, NJ
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

My review of this hotel is mixed. On the one hand, there were some really great things - parking was attached to the hotel, which was very convenient when caught in downpours or for loading in and out of the hotel. The view of the ocean was amazing! The room accommodations were ok. Beds were decent, and we did receive everything we were promised - microwave, crib, refrigerator, etc. They brought up extra towels quickly when it was needed. We did spend some time in the pool, which was fun as well. Breakfast was horrible. My children have allergies and there weren't many options for just fruit. There were flies all over the place in the dining room, which was less than appetizing. We only went once during our stay and decided that we'd rather purchase breakfast items elsewhere instead of attempting to eat there. The location is perfect - right on the boardwalk, you can go out through the back of the hotel and walk down to the sand. I would be willing to stay here again in the future, but think they need to do a better job upgrading their breakfast and keeping the atmosphere appealing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKLNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at the Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort for the weekend of August 24-26, First impression was fine, it's a pretty decent hotel, we got there a later than check-in, got in the room and liked the view, the room was clean and standard, no comments about it, the view was nice even if we're on the second floor. The only problem in our room was the safety deposit box that was not working, we had to call the front-desk to have the maintenance fix it and it took at least an hour or two not to be able to leave the room. We went to the indoor pool and needed some towels, no towels, went to the front-desk and they said they're out of towels! ok we have to go back to the room and get one. Enjoyed the whole day and got to the room at midnight with my 10 year old boy, so tired, tried to open our room and key wasn't working, it took us 15 minutes to figure it out and gave up, so I made a trip to the lobby again and asked them for help, the lady on the front-desk was not really willing to help and had a frown on her face all the time we were walking on the way to the room..then it turned out the door lock had a problem, she told us we just have to play with the knob until it opens, are you kidding me?! I've never have that problem in any hotels I've stayed and for one thing, this hotel does not even cost less than $200..so the next day I asked them kindly if we could stay at least an hour later since we had a lot of issue and it delayed us from enjoying the area and they said they can't, so I said that was it, this hotel would never have any penny from me or my extended family again..The only good experience I had was the breakfast buffet, food we're ok and the servers are really nice..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank saltydonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanelle W, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay with us! We greatly appreciate our guests who take the time to provide us with candid comments and enable us with the opportunity to learn and grow. I can assure you that the inconveniences you experienced are not typical! We pride ourselves on our ability to not only meet, but exceed our guests' expectations for service and accommodations. Before responding to reviews like yours, I research the situation through the various logs and reports we keep to track our rate of success at responding to Guest Service Issues. Unfortunately, in this case I was unable to find any record of the events you reported! This can happen sometimes, especially when the online account is not that of the registerred guest and/or specific information is not provided inside the review. I would like to encourage you to contact me directly at 757-428-2828 with additional information (a room number, the last name of the registerred guest, and especially a name or description of the unsmiling Guest Services Clerk!) that may lead to more fruitful research! I take matters involving Guest Services very seriously, and am eager to to be provided with an opportunity to change your mind about the Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort Hotel in Virginia Beach, and turn you into one of our guests that come back to us year after year!
Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to hearing from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Just left hated too leave this hotel had everything u could ask for. the room was nice room 508..the staff was great, very friendly the breakfast great.,I really have nothing negative to say....KEEP UP THE EXCELLENT SERVICE WILL TELL EVERY ONE.....WILL FACEBOOK IT

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teesquest5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville,Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

we stayed here for 8 days , loved it, oceanfront, next to the pier, and close to all the action, staff very friendly, hot breakfast amazing buffet was one of the reasons we chose this hotel apart from the Location,nice indoor heated pool with bath towels constantly re-stocked,plenty of parking, though a little tight to maneuver.we had an issue with bathroom flush, maintenance was there in less than 5 minutes to fix it(wow), room service comes in early and did a good job,tipping certainly helps:-) , views and sound of the ocean mesmerizes one and all.coffee/juice available 24/7 in lobby which is so beautiful.conv store on premises,will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: get on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob-gainesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at the Sandcastle Oceanfront resort in Virginia Beach. It is a great location right along the boardwalk and oceanfront. Although the lobby was in the process of being renovated, it was clean and the staff was friendly. We had a room with two beds that was a little smaller than a lot of hotel rooms but still very comfortable. The view of the ocean and pier was fantastic. We also enjoyed the largest complimentary breakfast buffet we have ever encountered. The food was terrific and the attendants were very accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Vir...
#17 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#2 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#22 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Address: 1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel located directly on the world famous Virginia Beach boardwalk. Our guest will enjoy world class service, easy access to the beach, and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel offers several types of accommodations to choose from. We offer you amazing views from 146 rooms with private balconies, two queen beds, or one king bed. All of our rooms offer you microwave and refrigerator, while our suites will provide you with a kitchenette. No matter how you must stay connected we offer free local calls, long distance access, and wireless high speed internet access. In addition, we have an on-site fitness center that overlooks the beach, on site laundry facilities, and complimentary business center. We are happy to provide you with conference rooms and meeting space for up to 150 people is perfect for your personal or professional functions. The Virginia Beach oceanfront is host to some of the best festivals and events you will find on the east coast such as; American Music Festival, Patriotic Festival, East Coast Surfing Championship, Neptune Festival, North American Sand Soccer Championship and the Boardwalk Art Show. Other nearby attractions includes Naval Air Station Oceana, Fort Story, Damn Neck Naval Base, Cape Henry Light House, Virginia Aquarium and Marine Museum, Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, and Ruddee Inlet.After spending the day enjoying Virginia Beach or working come back and enjoy the comfortable and spacious lobby or enjoy a great dinner at Pier 14. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Sandcastle Resort Va Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing