We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great great great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Just left hated too leave this hotel had everything u could ask for. the room was nice room 508..the staff was great, very friendly the breakfast great.,I really have nothing negative to say....KEEP UP THE EXCELLENT SERVICE WILL TELL EVERY ONE.....WILL FACEBOOK IT

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teesquest5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,047 - 2,053 of 2,356 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

we stayed here for 8 days , loved it, oceanfront, next to the pier, and close to all the action, staff very friendly, hot breakfast amazing buffet was one of the reasons we chose this hotel apart from the Location,nice indoor heated pool with bath towels constantly re-stocked,plenty of parking, though a little tight to maneuver.we had an issue with bathroom flush, maintenance was there in less than 5 minutes to fix it(wow), room service comes in early and did a good job,tipping certainly helps:-) , views and sound of the ocean mesmerizes one and all.coffee/juice available 24/7 in lobby which is so beautiful.conv store on premises,will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: get on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob-gainesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at the Sandcastle Oceanfront resort in Virginia Beach. It is a great location right along the boardwalk and oceanfront. Although the lobby was in the process of being renovated, it was clean and the staff was friendly. We had a room with two beds that was a little smaller than a lot of hotel rooms but still very comfortable. The view of the ocean and pier was fantastic. We also enjoyed the largest complimentary breakfast buffet we have ever encountered. The food was terrific and the attendants were very accomodating.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The back of hotel the side facing the street was under renovations which made it look worse than the hotel actually was. The rooms were very nice, amazing views, and a large continental breakfast made the stay a great one, I very much approve of this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cnhartley5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from August 3,2012 until August 6. The hotel is in a great location and great access to the wonderful beach. They have one of the best breakfast buffets we have seen. Everyone was very friendly. When we come back to Virginia Beach, we will stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steelers60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We just got back from the Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort Hotel. I can only say the hotel was wonderful. The hotel was clean, and the people were very nice. Our entire family had a great time from the 15 year old to the 80 year old. The hotel was perfectly located near shops and restaurants. Was just a short trip to the ocean. I just want to say was a fantastic time and we will be back

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teri1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Hello, we stayed at this Hotel the end of July through begining of August and not at all impressed. Elevators are very slow. Hallways are dark. Cheap remodel. We had paper towels tucked around the fire sprinkler in our bathroom. Before booking this room we were told remodel was finished it was anything but!!! Painting going on in hallways..we always had to walk around them.. find different routes. One day at breakfast we had to sit outside because all tables were full....we were welcomed by the sound of hammering, pounding, ect and the smell of paint. They were actually spray painting something and the fumes were blowing right at us! Rooms much smaller than appearing online. Service at front desk not that informed. Had a charger stolen. Housekeeping did not keep our room cleaned even though we left a significant tip everyday. Extra charges charged to our credit card once we left the premises. Had to call and straighten that out. All that being said.....staff was freindly, resteraunt ok (cold food everyday) but wait staff freindly as well. Would we stay there again NO! And the parking lot is horrible very steep inclines and low ceilings....safe to say you may occur vehicle damage.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere and pay a couple extra bucks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank the3bakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanelle W, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for your candid review! I apologize that you were inconvenienced by our renovations, and were uninformed about the status prior to arriving. Unfortunately, our completion date has been delayed many times due to circumstances outside of our direct control. We have done our best to minimize any disturbance to our guests, but unfortunately, with a renovation of this magnitude underway, sometimes we have been less successful in our efforts than we would have liked! I apologize again for the credit card mix up! As I said when you called and spoke to me about this, the Guest Services Agent who assisted you at check in mixed up the credit cards because you were one of two rooms using the same card type and checking in at the same time, While that certainly does not excuse charging a guest's card in error, I do recall that this situation had already been resolved when you called and spoke to me! Also, a fact I didn't mention when we spoke, I adjusted the correct bill and did not charge the card on your second room for the additional vehicle parking. This was our mistake, and I hope my actions prove that we sincerely care about our guests and the opinion they take with them when they leave us! I hope you come and visit us again, possibly next summer after the renovations are, in fact, complete? I would relish the opportunity to serve you again and change your mind about our property!
Thank you again for your feedback, and have a lovely day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
631 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#18 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,518 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
451 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Address: 1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $90 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel located directly on the world famous Virginia Beach boardwalk. Our guest will enjoy world class service, easy access to the beach, and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel offers several types of accommodations to choose from. We offer you amazing views from 146 rooms with private balconies, two queen beds, or one king bed. All of our rooms offer you microwave and refrigerator, while our suites will provide you with a kitchenette. No matter how you must stay connected we offer free local calls, long distance access, and wireless high speed internet access. In addition, we have an on-site fitness center that overlooks the beach, on site laundry facilities, and complimentary business center. We are happy to provide you with conference rooms and meeting space for up to 150 people is perfect for your personal or professional functions. The Virginia Beach oceanfront is host to some of the best festivals and events you will find on the east coast such as; American Music Festival, Patriotic Festival, East Coast Surfing Championship, Neptune Festival, North American Sand Soccer Championship and the Boardwalk Art Show. Other nearby attractions includes Naval Air Station Oceana, Fort Story, Damn Neck Naval Base, Cape Henry Light House, Virginia Aquarium and Marine Museum, Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, and Ruddee Inlet.After spending the day enjoying Virginia Beach or working come back and enjoy the comfortable and spacious lobby or enjoy a great dinner at Pier 14. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Sandcastle Resort Va Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing