We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
C'ville
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“we'll be back”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

we choose this hotel because the location and the price....much more afordable for a family of 4 than many other of the oceanfront hotels. the rooms have been remodeled and they are very nice....more modern than the pics shown on the website. not sure i would call the breakfast deluxe continental, but i guess if you have waffles you can call it deluxe. anyway, my kids enjoyed it very much. they also enjoyed having access to juice 24 hours a day in the lobby...very smart. we did have an incident with my son and one of the ledges ( that you put your shampoo on) in the shower. it fell and cut my son's foot. it was minor, but an incident nonetheless. we told management and they were sympathetic. the manager asked if we needed a doctor, which we didnt. he gave us 4 movie tickets which made everything better for my son! it was nice having the arcade and convenience store downstairs and access to the beach was super easy!

we heading back to va beach for the neptune festival and i'm sure we will be staying at the sandcastle, especialy since we have a certificate for 10% off.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C_villeChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,046
    628
    240
    106
    73
See reviews for
1,067
568
59
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed for a week, the room was clean and the cleaning staff was very nice. The pool was disgusting, there was hair floating around, the water was green. I told a maintenance person about it and he said he would clean it. He never did, it was green all week. Also they never kept an adequate supply of towels in the pool area. The deluxe continental breakfast was noting more than waffles. The lady in the breakfast room was so rude, and the room was over packed. If we go to Virginia Beach again we will probably not stay there again even though they tried to bribe us with 10% off next time, They give that to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkshrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

have been to virginia beach now for 10 years . finally found a hotel that i will rebook with for next year. hotel is in great shape with renovations going on ... beds clean, staff very helpful when needed. location great... thanks

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wkirkpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Hallway outside our room smelled like fish. Light and Fan in restroom made horrible noise when turned on. Side of TV stand was falling off. Customer service was beyond unsatisfactory. The front desk staff actually said that a coupon discount "wasn't enough to worry about" and wouldn't honor the rate. Will never stay there again and recommend anyone else looking for a good vacation not too either.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liaf18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcboo, Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
I'm sorry you were unsatisfied with Sandcastle. Because we are the closest hotel to the 14th St. fishing pier, many of our guests do go fishing and sometimes bring their catch back with them in coolers to store in the refrigerators we provide in every room. Fresh fish does have a very strong odor, though we do our best to always keep everything fresh and clean. We have maintenance staff on duty from 8 AM until 11:30 PM daily. Maintenance would have been glad to assist you with your fan and TV stand had they been notified. As part of our current renovations, all the furniture in the rooms is being replaced. I'm sorry you experienced some miscommunication during your check in. The coupons clearly state that they are based on availability and that a surcharge may apply. If we do not have the availability to honor the coupon rate, we cannot. We do offer a variety of discounts, however, that can usually come pretty close to the coupon rate, which I believe is what our Front Desk Clerk may have been suggesting. I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about our hotel, and sincerely wish that you would give us another chance in the near future to change your mind about Sandcastle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We have stayed at the Sandcastle 3 times in the last year. We love the location and value. The front desk workers are always friendly and helpful. If you like to fish on the pier, it is only steps away. The section of the beach south of the pier is also a little less crowded than the 17th-21st Street areas. There is a convenience store just downstairs on your way to the beach. For those with kids, there is a mini amusement park right next door. The continental breakfast is average, nothing special about it, but definitely a plus to have it available. They do have outside seating, but it doesn't have a view of anything. The pool is small, but nice to have an indoor option. Everytime we have stayed here, the noise level has been fine, no problems sleeping and my husband is a light sleeper.

Now for the problem...I have a sensitive allergy to dust mites and the last 2 times we have stayed here, I have suffered terribly. Unfortunately we will not be able to stay here again because I cannot breathe by the 2nd day. The rooms do get cleaned, I am just wondering if the pillows and mattresses could be updated or protected with covers to avoid dust mites.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traceysmiles14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcboo, Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
I'm so glad that you enjoy your frequent stays at Sandcastle! We're always pleased to have our repeat guests in house. I wanted to let you know, however, that all of our pillows and mattresses do have protective covers on them, as is generally done in the hotel industry. I hope you come back and see us, perhaps when the renovations are complete, to let us know what you think.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The ocean view was great and so was the location! But just like the previous person stated, it was very hot/humid and there is no AC within the hotel (hallways, lobby, elevator) other than the rooms. I saw a roach in our room the very first night and every night of our 3 night stay. I did not complain or say anything. We will just stay somewhere else next time. So in the end you're just paying for the view and the location. The maid service was excellent, the pool/jacuzzi were crappy but why would you want to be there when the beach is right out the door? They seem to be undergoing renovation, which I hope for their sakes yes, because it's desperately needed. The staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lena82in201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcboo, Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your thoughts about our property. The area has been experiencing hotter-than-usual temperatures lately, so I do apologize about the temperature in the common areas. I appreciate that you took the time to compliment our staff - we are very proud of their level of customer service! I am puzzled, however, regarding the insects you claim to have seen in your guest room. We do take the preventative measure of having a regularly scheduled contracted pest control company, and, as you stated, our housekeeping service is impeccable. As such, I find the existence of "roaches" in our hotel doubtful at best. As a side note, we do not have a jacuzzi in our pool area. The small circular pool is in fact a shallow kiddie pool. We are indeed undergoing renovations, and hope that you'll come back to visit us when they are completed. I'm confident we will be able to not only meet, but exceed the expectations you have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

It was ok. Its a rather old hotel, and and while it is decent appearance wise, safety wise its a nightmare,i have 3 children we were on the 6th floor. one of my children is a 3 year old toddler who has a very small frame, and could easily slip through the wide slats on the balcony railing. so sitting out on the balcony was out while he was awake also the locks on the balcony door are very low. too low for families with small children to feel safe. I would be afraid to go into the bathroom in fear the child would open the door and fall off. The pool was nice, but the ladder needs replaced, one of the steps is loose, and it should be in the shallow end. I am 5'1 and when i step off the ladder it is already in the deep over my head. unexpected. makes it difficult to take young children in. just move the ladder down a few feet and it would be ok. though it was very difficult for a handicapped member of our party to get in and out. most of the staff was very helpful, the view was amazing. but safety updates are needed. just because you dont "have to"make safety updates doesnt mean you shouldnt. I just want parents of very young children to be aware of the possible dangers, getting a good price is not worth the possibility of a child losing their life.i was a nervous wreck in the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
597 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,396 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,918 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Address: 1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel located directly on the world famous Virginia Beach boardwalk. Our guest will enjoy world class service, easy access to the beach, and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel offers several types of accommodations to choose from. We offer you amazing views from 146 rooms with private balconies, two queen beds, or one king bed. All of our rooms offer you microwave and refrigerator, while our suites will provide you with a kitchenette. No matter how you must stay connected we offer free local calls, long distance access, and wireless high speed internet access. In addition, we have an on-site fitness center that overlooks the beach, on site laundry facilities, and complimentary business center. We are happy to provide you with conference rooms and meeting space for up to 150 people is perfect for your personal or professional functions. The Virginia Beach oceanfront is host to some of the best festivals and events you will find on the east coast such as; American Music Festival, Patriotic Festival, East Coast Surfing Championship, Neptune Festival, North American Sand Soccer Championship and the Boardwalk Art Show. Other nearby attractions includes Naval Air Station Oceana, Fort Story, Damn Neck Naval Base, Cape Henry Light House, Virginia Aquarium and Marine Museum, Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, and Ruddee Inlet.After spending the day enjoying Virginia Beach or working come back and enjoy the comfortable and spacious lobby or enjoy a great dinner at Pier 14. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Sandcastle Resort Va Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing