We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
ct
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent”
Reviewed October 11, 2007

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon.ABSOULUTLY FANTASTIC.. Beautiful Beach.. Clean facility.
We are going back again in Oct. 2007.. I would recommend this hotel !!!!!!!!!!!!! Everything you need is right there!!!!!!!!!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsjarish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    563
    226
    100
    66
See reviews for
923
525
58
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Va.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2007

We visited Virginia Beach in October 2007 during the heat wave. The air temperature and water temperature were very, very comfortable. We found the Sandcastle through a coupon book. It is rated two stars by AAA. The motel is located right on the ocean in the middle of town. It seems to be an average two star beach hotel; everything seems fine, but there are wear signs here and there, not unusual given the summer volume of visitors. The continental breakfast was one of the best we’ve seen. There are a microwave and refrigerator in the room, but no wireless internet. There is an internet outlet in the wall, but you must bring your own Ethernet cable or purchase one from the front desk for $10. The name of the wifi account is also wrong; check with the desk. The wifi is also very slow. There is an indoor pool and whirlpool, although we didn’t use them. All in all, we’d stay again during the off season. The Civil War Monitor exhibit at the nearby Mariners’ Museum in Newport News is not to be missed.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank kr51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2007

We stayed in a efficenct room included a ref. iron, ironing board and microwave . It was very clean but a little dated. They were in the middle of renivations but we did not hear any noise that disturbed us. They offered a basic breakfast of cereal, toast muffins doughnuts, etc.. The indoor pool was awful. It was very small and did not smell good. They offered free lemonade, tea, and coffee all day. The hotel had a convenience store onsite that was very reasonable. It also offered bike rentals for the boardwalk in front of beach behind hotel. My family and I rented a "Flintstone" bicycle and had a great time, There was also an arcade that the kids enjoyed very much. Overall the hotel was clean with the exception to the pool. If you have time go check out the Purple Cow resturant. It;s a 50's place and the decor is cute and the service and food os wondeful.

  • Liked — The view of the ocean was beautifu.l
  • Disliked — the pool
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyblue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skinquarter, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2007

We enjoyed our stay in September, the month we like best. The room was clean and had a good view. We like the free breakfast and the employees are really nice people to talk to. We have stayed here before & will stay here again.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank ibebigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2007

The front office staff was great when we checked in. The woman working the morning shift was very helpful and provided excellent information regarding the area and the hotel. The rooms and the hotel itself is in need of renovations, but it was extremely well priced for an oceanfront hotel. We stayed 2 nights with our two small children and we loved the proximity to the beach. The rooms were dated but clean. The pool was not what we expected. If you are looking for a great indoor pool for kids on the cooler days this is not the place for you. However, our kids loved playing on the beach and we could not beat the price for a quick getaway. The hotel was in a great location on the boardwalk. Walking distance to many good restaurants. With the money you save on the room, you can spend it at many of the better reataurants. If I was staying longer, I most likely would want to be in a room and hotel with more amenities, but it was perfectly priced for our little extra getaway in September. The only complaint that we had, was the obnoxious rude front receptionist who worked in the evenings. We had a problems with our safe (it would not close leaving metal edges not safe for a 1 year old to be around). She was not helpful at all and frankly downright rude stating there was nothing she could do when we knew for a fact that their were vacancies that evening to where she could have moved us. The gentleman working with her at the front desk attempted to apologize, but frankly our opinion of the hotel was already tarnished. It is a shame because otherwise we had a wonderful getaway.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — need of renovation
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LydiaVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINTERGREEN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2007

the rooms are clean, stocked with all the things you look for in a hotel room, the desk attendents are there to help in any way they can, the rooms are cleaned in a timely manner, the rooms are all ocean front, , the sandcastle is located where you don't have to drive or walk very far to find shops and restaurants, , i like stayng there and am going to stay there next year, sept. 2008, and there is plenty of parking , five level garage, and street parking across the street,, william perkins

  • Liked — location,
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WILLIAM121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2007

We stayed at the Sandcastle for the week of 9/16-9/23. For the price (approx. $80 a night) it was a good choice. Check-in was very quick and the front desk staff if not exactly friendly were efficient. We had an oceanfront room on the first floor, with 2 double beds, small fridge, microwave, safe, t.v., dvd player and plenty of room to put our clothes away. The room was clean and not musty smelling, although it was musty in the halls. The pool is quite small and there is no hot tub. There are 2 restaurants there and we ate in both. Avoid the seafood and breakfast buffets as they were not very good and you can find much better buffets elsewhere. The Greek restaurant was very good and I would recommend it. They have a free continental breakfast that includes toast, bagels, cereal, bananas, dough nuts and was quite good. The balcony was quite small and there is a door that opens onto it that you have to prop open to get any breeze as the windows do not open. The hotel is very close to the 15th street pier which is great if you are into fishing. The pier seems to be very crowded all the time but we fished there a number of times and caught quite a lot of different kinds of fish. I would return to this hotel again as I felt it was good value for the price.

  • Liked — Close to fishing pier
  • Disliked — English not first langauge of front desk staff, hard to understand
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Vir...
#16 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#21 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Address: 1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel located directly on the world famous Virginia Beach boardwalk. Our guest will enjoy world class service, easy access to the beach, and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel offers several types of accommodations to choose from. We offer you amazing views from 146 rooms with private balconies, two queen beds, or one king bed. All of our rooms offer you microwave and refrigerator, while our suites will provide you with a kitchenette. No matter how you must stay connected we offer free local calls, long distance access, and wireless high speed internet access. In addition, we have an on-site fitness center that overlooks the beach, on site laundry facilities, and complimentary business center. We are happy to provide you with conference rooms and meeting space for up to 150 people is perfect for your personal or professional functions. The Virginia Beach oceanfront is host to some of the best festivals and events you will find on the east coast such as; American Music Festival, Patriotic Festival, East Coast Surfing Championship, Neptune Festival, North American Sand Soccer Championship and the Boardwalk Art Show. Other nearby attractions includes Naval Air Station Oceana, Fort Story, Damn Neck Naval Base, Cape Henry Light House, Virginia Aquarium and Marine Museum, Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, and Ruddee Inlet.After spending the day enjoying Virginia Beach or working come back and enjoy the comfortable and spacious lobby or enjoy a great dinner at Pier 14. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Sandcastle Resort Va Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing