We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, great getaway!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Clipper Inn and Suites
Ranked #46 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great price, great getaway!!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

First vacation I have been on in a long time!! We booked through AAA. Was amazed at the location. We got a room on the fifth floor(top). Renovations were happening at the time. The staff couldn't have been nicer and more accommodating. Room was small, but fit our purposes fine. On our last day, they were outfitting some of the fifth floor rooms with king size beds. Looking forward to our next visit, and hope we can have the fifth floor again. Thanks Royal Clipper!!!

Room Tip: fifth floor is great....but jets do fly overhead, sometimes until 1 am. But you will have that at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danmedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you. We truly appreciate such wonderful guests as you! We are excited about our improvements and would love for you to come back and enjoy them on your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    184
    86
    34
    30
See reviews for
240
106
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I recently stayed at the Royal Clipper for a family vacation and enjoyed our stay very much. We stayed in a one bedroom suite with a pull out bed and double bed in the first room and a seperate bedroom in the back along with a kitchenette. When we first arrived and throughout our stay, the hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating to our needs. The housekeepers were there each morning, bright and early, to refresh our room and towel needs and were very friendly also. The location was great with the beach a simple walk across the street lane. The hotel is also located towards the end of the beach boardwalk, so you didn't have all the car and foot traffic that you experience at the center of the boardwalk, which was great for us. The price was also great, especially compared to the cost of the oceanfront rooms for the July 4th holiday week. The only drawback were the very LOUD military planes that fly directly overhead on a constant basis, but that has nothing to do with the hotel at all and it is not a deal breaker. Overall, it was a great experience and will be visiting the hotel again the next time we visit Virginia Beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write us such a great review! We strive to provide all our guests with exceptional customer service and are glad to hear that we met your expectations. We look forward to becoming a regular part of your Virginia Beach vacation memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

When you look at the surrounding hotels, the Royal Clipper looks rather disappointing. However, the staff were extremely polite, the room was clean, and the beach was right across the street. This is not your typical hotel so don't look for spot on cleaning service, our beds were not made, or a large pool, the max was 12 people. The hotel is right on the strip, so restaurants are all around and the beach is right across the street. This fact saved us almost half of what we would have paid staying on the boardwalk. If you're looking to stay on the water and sit out on the balcony listening to the waves, then this is not your hotel. We were here for sand soccer. We spent our days on the beach and this was perfect to relax and get out of the sun and heat. I'm sure we will be back next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We make every effort to be an affordable alternative to the oceanfront properties. I am pleased to know that your stay was enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The room was very small for a family of four - and in the direct flight path of training flights (sometimes as many as 4 fighter planes at a time) that fly directly overhead 24/7 --- loud, loud, loud! The visible gaps around the doorway and thin windows did little to block the outside noise. The bathroom was so small that you had to stand against the tub in order to open the door enough to get out. The bathroom ceiling was so low that I could reach up and touch without fully extending my arm and I'm only 5'2". The shower head was surprisingly good even though a tall person would have to bend down to be underneath the spray. The room had poor lighting and our windows faced the parking lot and walkway so we were uncomfortable leaving the drapes open and having people peering in... There was a huge gap under the door and I woke up one night with a several inches long water bug crawling on my arm that had come in from outside -- the hotel did nothing to compensate us other than lower the kickplate on the door - still leaving visible gaps. We never received maid service one of the days we were there either and when we returned from the beach were given more towels only since the maids were gone for the day (at 4 pm.) The location was good - a very short and manageable walk to the beach and near plenty of shops and eateries. The room - although small - was clean. The refrigerator did not keep things ice cold even on its coldest setting and the the tv had visible chips in the screen and many stations did not come in clearly (oh, and the remote control had masking tape on it to hold the batteries in..). The pool was small - had a limit of 12 people in it at once and I'm not sure how 12 would have fit in it. The wifi signal was very weak and I ended up connecting to the hotel across the streets wifi signal which was stronger in my room than the Royal Clippers. We were disappointed in our hotel stay, but really enjoyed the Virginia Beach area. I would return to VA Beach in the future but would NOT stay there or recommend it to my friends or family...

Room Tip: first floor front rooms have a lot of foot traffic and noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
I apologize that we did not meet your expectations and thank you for taking the time to write us a review. The military jets are a part of Virginia Beach life and we appreciate all that they do as they serve our country. I understand that it is not optimal to have them fly over so frequently on your vacation, but it is not normally so intrusive. We recommend that people book directly with the hotel whenever possible, as bookings that come through other channels limit our options when issues arise. We are currently in the process of replacing furnishings in the rooms and are looking into the wifi. We appreciate your input and are using it to help make a better experience for all our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We arrived early and were accommodated as soon as our rooms were cleaned. cleaning ladies are very thorough and friendly. rooms were small but for a beach vacation all we really needed was a clean place to shower, change and sleep =0) will def book here again. if u stay here make sure you have breakfast at pocahontas one block away.

Room Tip: they have a washer and dryer for $1.25 so you can bring home sand free clothes and towels first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yami d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
I am glad that you were pleased with your stay! We do our best to accommodate our guests and their needs. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfied
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a great time - again- in Virginia Beach. This year we decided to save a little money and stay across the street from the ocean. For about 1/2 the price we got a nice, clean motel with a comfortable room.

The staff was great and responsive. Because of the nature of our weekend, we did not look for amenities, just a clean place to sleep. The Royal Clipper exceeded our expectations in many ways. Easy to find, parking was fine, easy access to beach, and about 1/2 the price of the ocean front hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that when you return to Virginia Beach we will be at the top of your list!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

What a wonderful place! My wife and I were in town for a wedding and were pleasantly surprised by the size and quality of the room we had reserved. It was so affordable that we were expecting something not quite as nice, but the room was great. The manager and all the staff were very helpful. They allowed us to check in early, attended to our every need, and even allowed us to stay in our room for hours after check out because our car was having troubles and we needed to get it towed from their parking lot. Overall, everyone at the hotel was incredibly nice and we fully intend to go back! Thank you so much!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MisterS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review! We were happy that we could offer you some assistance. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
2.3 mi away
Schooner Inn
Schooner Inn
#45 of 109 in Virginia Beach
408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Vir...
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,360 reviews
11.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#40 of 109 in Virginia Beach
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
#51 of 109 in Virginia Beach
304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belvedere Beach Resort
Belvedere Beach Resort
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
477 reviews
1.2 mi away
19 Atlantic Hotel
19 Atlantic Hotel
#57 of 109 in Virginia Beach
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Clipper Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Property: Royal Clipper Inn and Suites
Address: 36th Street & Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Clipper Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Royal Clipper Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Clipper Hotel Virginia Beach
Royal Clipper Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing