We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outside looked old but inside nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Clipper Inn and Suites
Ranked #36 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Last minute on way hm from dc and williamsburg decided to do va beach with no reservations. Staff nice and frienly, room had been redone. Close to beach.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fortripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 540 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2011

What a DUMP!! This was a last minute trip for us to get out of New York for a while so this was the only place available for my family to say with a weeks notice. We now know why that is. The location was the only thing going for this place. Across the street from the beach. Every thing else was horrible. The pool was smaller than most people have in their back yards. The check in office stunk! While in the room late one night about 11pm we opened the door for 3 minutes. The guy running the joint came running right up pacing past our room asking us why the door was opened and if we had the AC running! What a scum hole!!!!! We will never stay there again. The rooms are so small you can barely close the bathroom door!!! For $120 plus tax a night, not worth it. It pays to book in advance.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rebecca-rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

The service was great and the staff was very friendly. Its a great value for the price and very right across from the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonnie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

This is my 3rd year staying there and I'm planning on another trip this summer. Hotel has very little employee turn around, same people have been there for the past 3 years I've been going. If there's a problem in the room they're very quick to resolve it, prices are reasonable over all a great stay!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vagal68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Husband and I stayed there for 2 nights (thurs and fri) memorial day weekend. Dante and other gentleman helping at the desk were very pleasant, and helpful. Room was clean, it had a fridge, and microwave, good water pressure in shower. It was quite. BUT no water in pool. And we were told the pool would not be open for summer season. Beach was right across the street, shopping all in walking distance, few blocks down they have where bands played. Not a lot of parking in the front, so once you park, try not to go out again by car. But overall, I would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1coolchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

The hotel was one street over from the beach. The view of the ocean from our room was 509 was a slight one. The room was nice and clean. The check in was welcoming and friendly. Love the granite on the shower wall. Only problem we had was the parking had a big suv. Overall the stay and location was good. Will return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60931Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Yhe stay at the Roual Clipper Inn was a unique one/ First of all we checked in late, and they were very accommadating, however there wasn't any internet and when you asked them for the access code the only thing you are abe to receive is the home page for the motel. This motel is in need of some desperate renovations

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virgn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virginia Beach
1.5 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#64 of 109 in Virginia Beach
496 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#23 of 109 in Virginia Beach
508 reviews
0.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#16 of 109 in Virginia Beach
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
16.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Clipper Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Address: 36th Street & Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $100 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Clipper Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Clipper Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Clipper Hotel Virginia Beach
Royal Clipper Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing