We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation”
Review of The Seahawk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Seahawk
Ranked #63 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I traveled with my children to Virginia Beach for a Summer get away. We spent 5 days at the SeaHawk Motel and had a relatively enjoyable time. The view of the beach from the room was the best part. We did have a few neighbors who were less than enjoyable but overall the motel was very family friendly. It's a good place for the price - clean, attentive staff and great access to beach and beach activities (I barely had to use my car). The indoor pool was great - nice size, not usually crowded and heated.
Parking was very tight, but i used the lot across the street which had a lot more room. Wifi was free but pretty slow.
We would definitely return in the future!!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NotMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 128 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed 6 nights at the Seahawk, The cleaning staff was very nice and did a good job.. The hotel was clean the beds were comfortable and since every room has a balcony and it's on the beach I had a great view. I stayed on the 5th floor and really didn't have any problems with the "slow" elevator. I parked in the lot across the street and had no problem whatsoever with parking. Also has an indoor pool in case of rain and a hot tub. It is what you make of it, a decent hotel medium priced with a great location. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MFBATMAN57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Awesome view of the beach. This was our first time at Virginia beach and it was good. The beds were a bit small but we got a cot and that made it better for our daughter. The elevator was very slow, but we just used the stairs and got our exercise! The kids enjoyed the pool, we enjoyed the hot tub. Loved the location!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bmoore2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We go to VA Beach every year, we always stay at the Seahawk (Except this year, it was fully booked, Our last stay was May 2012 but that was not an option on the travel date list). It is not a big fancy place but it's clean and the staff is nice and they have had the same cleaning lady, Gloria, since our first stay theret 14 years ago. So I trust that our things are safe when we are not in our room. The only bad thing is the elevator is slow BUT you can use the stairs and since the hotel is not that big, no matter where you're at it's not a long way down.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the 3rd or 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dõdi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

As others have said, this isn't a fancy place, but it was clean and right on the beach. They only have one elevator and it is extremely SLOW! And the hallways do not have AC, so if it's a hot day be prepared to sweat your tale off as you wait for the elevator. As mentioned though, you can't beat the price or the location of the place. If your looking for a simple, no frills stay, this is a solid choice.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank sgtmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Let me start with the positives:
We were able to get a reservation less than a week prior to traveling (our preferred hotel was booked). The room was immaculate and all rooms had an ocean view with a balcony. The staff was very nice, although couldn't recommend a restaurant when asked. There was a flat screen TV.

The negatives:
The decor was extremely dated and the room needed some attention (for example, toilet paper holder was wobbly). There was a lack of amenities in the room. While there was a microwave and a fridge, there was no coffee maker (you had to go downstairs to a coffee room between 7-10am for coffee), no radio, no clock. The bathtub was a health hazard as there was no non-slip surface. It was like stepping onto a pane of glass and we had to put a towel down to keep from falling. The elevator was the slowest in the western hemisphere.

However, it was modestly priced for the high season and the location (at 25th and Atlantic) was central.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eveybp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

i too used booking.com to reserve my room. my "reciept " from there site quoted me 318.00 for 2 nights...in reality it cost me 379.16 so just beware as others have said that booking does NOT include taxes. the hotel itself...well the hot tub was nice, didn't use the pool, a can of soda is 1.00 in the machine only on the bottom floor, the elevator as others stated is so slow that most folks used the stairs and with the constant breeze off the ocean the suction would SLAM those doors all the time the housekeeping staff were very nice. was also nice having the microwave,fridge and fan.

Room Tip: rooms furthest from stairwells to avoid all the slamming doors, and if you have alot of stuff to tot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valeriez595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Alamar Resort Inn
Alamar Resort Inn
#69 of 109 in Virginia Beach
196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#51 of 109 in Virginia Beach
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#25 of 109 in Virginia Beach
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,557 reviews
1.6 mi away
Schooner Inn
Schooner Inn
#39 of 109 in Virginia Beach
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#36 of 109 in Virginia Beach
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seahawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seahawk

Address: 26th Street & Oceanfront, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $71 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Seahawk 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Seahawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seahawk Motel Virginia Beach
Seahawk Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing