We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time broke the charm”
Review of The Seahawk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Seahawk
Ranked #58 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Third time broke the charm”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

The Seahawk has a great location: Open your door, and you hear nothing but the roar of the ocean.
At least that is what I *used* to hear when I went to the Seahawk. This last time, on my last night there, was a sad exception. What sounded like a drunken domestic argument got to the point where I went to the front desk to get another room. I was told I wouldn't get another room at that late hour (1 a.m.-ish) because I couldn't tell the guy exactly where the argument was coming from. I just knew it was near my room, but that was not enough for the Mighty Keeper of the Keys. So I went back to my room and was treated to the loudest, absurdest sex noises (not even in pornos do people get that noisy) in the room next to mine. I was annoyed enough to simply leave at 3 a.m. and head home. Missed my last day on the beach because the front desk clerk wouldn't help.
It makes me sad, as I really like the Seahawk on a number of counts: location, as I've said, and the old-fashioned art-deconess of the hotel, which is a refreshing change from the pricey, sterile, corporate hotels that line the boardwalk. But I've found a nearby oceanfront hotel that has similarly cheap rates and seems to have a better grip on customer service. So that's where I'll stay next time.
corporate hotel

Room Tip: just make sure you don't get next to drunken teens/twentysomethings
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    43
    25
    10
    15
See reviews for
58
22
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This was our very first time at Sea Hawk Motel ,and we enjoyed their rooms ,suiming pool, the room balcony viewing the beach,board-walk and the rest. Parking was a bit tight and if it was full we allways had parking accross the street next to Ben and Jeries ICE-CREAM. Now we are ready to reserve our room for next year.

Room Tip: Take a shower before the swimming pool don`t bring sand into it,please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Retiredinmarkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed at this hotel in July 2011 the price was good so I made reservations in July to go back Aug 26, 2011...to stay for two nites, unknowing that Irene would be coming up the east coast. I called today Aug 25, to cancel and I was told that the first night would be charged to my credit card. I have friends that are staying at 5 different hotels in VA beach for this same weekend and all my friends were able to cancel their reservations with no penlty. Knowing that NC is evacuating all Visitors (NC is only an hour away down the coast) who in their right mind would go to VA beach only to be told to leave the area. I think Seahawk should have been More considerate. I think I will stay else where from now on.....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I just made a reservation to stay at this motel for one night in September and I subsequently received a call telling me that I need to send a check or MO for the room rate for the night in order to confirm my reservation???This in spite of the fact that I used my credit card on their online reservation system to make the reservation? I have traveled all over the world and I have made reservations at hotels for many years and have NEVER been asked to send a check or MO to confirm the reservation. As a matter of fact we have never been charged until after check out. Needless to say I canceled the reservation. Curious to know if anyone else had to mail in a check before they actually arrived and stayed at this hotel when using the online reservation system, which by the way, says nothing about this whole mail a check after you give us our credit card number for a reservation.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClairAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay at the seahawk in vb...best place ever...especially after we were forced to find other accomadations due to a horrible experience at another inn on pacific ave.Staff was courteous and pleasant and very hospitable. Every room had oceanfront view with balconies. Beautiful sunrises and sunsets. 100 paces from the shore. What could be better. Clean and well maintained, for what they charged this is a gem that deserves recognition. Will definately keep them in mind next season....family in total agreement!!!! Great place for kids of all ages. Thank you Mena and Ron for having us...CO and OB from Quebec....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oolivieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henderson nv
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Well it was different. We only stayed on nite at VA beach our trip was ending and leaving from ORF so I didnt want to spend 300.00 a nite on a hotel but maybe I should have. The room was right on the boardwalk with all rooms having an ocean view, with a balcony to sit on. Room was clean. The building is older and made of brick and metal doors so everytime someone shut their door you heard this big bang! It was during the heat wave so thank God our room stayed cool. I think this place would be great for younger people with kids, but we are older and next time Ill spend the extra oney for a nicer room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sliggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Had a few days off we went to Virginia Beach from 7/18/11 to 7/21/11. We got a room at the Seahawk. The room was really nice and clean, and the people that worked there were really nice. Great location. You can't beat the price of the rooms. All oceanfront and the view was fantastic from the 5th floor.Thinking about going back in Sept. and will stay at the Seahawk for sure.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butterflyangel2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#57 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.0 mi away
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
#64 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#65 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#25 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#21 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belvedere Beach Resort
Belvedere Beach Resort
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seahawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seahawk

Property: The Seahawk
Address: 26th Street & Oceanfront, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Seahawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seahawk Motel Virginia Beach
Seahawk Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing