We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Beautiful view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #21 of 110 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent 4 nights during memorial day weekend. The staff were very nice. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The hallways are a little rundown looking. The view of the ocean was beautiful. The hotel is located away from the center of the boardwalk so it was relatively quiet.

Room Tip: Ask not to be put near the pool unless you have children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    214
    63
    24
    32
See reviews for
269
169
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

During our stay at Oceanfront Inn and Suites, the staff proved to be very helpful in making our vacation comfortable. There was a group of us (family and friends), who had rented a suite and 3 other rooms and wanted to be on the same floor. The hotel staff made it possible for all of us to have rooms on the same floor. During our stay, the A/C unit broke in our suite. The management and maintenance went above and beyond to get the unit fixed and they generously adjusted our nightly cost, due to the inconvenience. If you want a nice oceanfront suite, super friendly staff and free continental breakfast , you might want to choose to stay here. Otherwise, you can choose to stay at one of the higher, upper class hotels who charge a weeks salary (for the average person), for a one night stay. Surfside Oceanfront Inn and Suites has proven to be a nice, affordable place to stay. All staff (front desk, housekeeping, maintenance, and management), were great!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 705amandaw13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
317 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I recently spent one night at the Surfside. My friends were booked at a much more expensive hotel nearby, but when I was able to see the rooms, their expensive one was not any nicer than mine at the Surfside. Check-in was great, even fun, the people working there were very good and helpful. My room was clean, modern and had a good view of the ocean. I will definitely keep this hotel in mind for next time we are in Virginia Beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel and the rooms are dirty. I had to call to request my room be cleaned as no one had come to do so for two days. When it was finally cleaned, the overflowing trash was left behind.
On my last morning, the cleaning person entered the room which had do not disturb signon the door without knocking.

When i checked in, I combined a 1 night stay reservation with previous reservation of 3 night stay for same room. I was called on the first morning to ask why I hadnt checked out. My day was disturbed as I had to wait for new key and parking pass to be delivered.

The "fitness center" consisted of 5 pieces of equipment, three of which were broken. This enclosed room had no AC. AC and toilet in my room fuinctioned sporadically.

There are so many choices in Virginia Beach. In fact, there are more reasonable choices that are far superior.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colleen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We decided at the last minute to take a trip to VA Beach. A family friend recommended Surfside Oceanfront Inn. I am glad I made the reservation. Devin and Erin are fantastic. They will make sure that everything you need is taken care of. They have private covered parking that IS monitored. Surfside Inn also has their own access to the beach and great proximity to the pier. We stayed on the 7th floor with ocean view. It was great to sleep with the patio door open and listen to waves. Police patrols constantly and there are plenty of lifeguards on that end of the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Arrived for a 7 night stay at end of holiday, wish we had just stayed the night. Although all rooms are beachfront and overlook the ocean the noise from the resort , and some of the guests, ruined the stay. Think of Blackpool with sun and you get the picture.

What added to the noise was the daily (8am until 10pm) fly past of F1 11 jets from the nearby military base (upto 40 flew over one day !!). The noise was terrible and I now know what it must be like living in a war zone.

Although I would not stay in the hotel or resort again I would like to mention the reception staff and cleaners for thier advice and hard work, also good breakfast room with great service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was my second time staying at this hotel. View is great. Free Breakfast, Staff is very nice. Hotel is very convenient. Right on the beach, by the board walk. Pool was very nice and alot of fun. Restaurants are only a 2 minute drive away. Hotel was very busy due to tournaments but service was always there and on time. Rooms are a decent size. Bathrooms are small, sinks are outside the bathroom. Overall great price for the summer time, stayed for 4 nights with my friends.

Room Tip: Bring lots of towels... we had alot of shortages of towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatima B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meseret M, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel! We are extremely lucky to be placed in the heart of the oceanfront with enough attractions and restaurants nearby to make your stay memorable for all members of the family. The Sand Soccer tournament always attracts a large crowd, and we pride ourselves on being prepared for such busy weekends. Thank you for making Surfside your home away from home and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia B...
#19 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 588 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Bea...
#10 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Ocean...
#18 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 966 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#6 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 780 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 1211 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3539 (Formerly Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome, home to the longest pleasure beach on the planet, Four Points By Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront helps you make the most everything this vibrant city has to offer. all rooms feature a magnificent view of the Atlantic Ocean with a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Oceanfront Inn And Suites
Surfside Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Surfside Hotel Virginia Beach
Surfside Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing