We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wintersville, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dishonest”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We reserved three rooms for one night on our way to the Outer Banks. I had found a coupon online for a substantial savings, but it said for walk-in only. Before making the reservations, I called Surfside and asked for the correct way to do it so as to be able to take advantage of the coupon rate. I was told to go ahead and make the reservations online, then to present the coupon when checking in and the rate would be applied then. When we did arrive, we were greeted by a smart mouth young guy who informed us that we were absolutely not going to get to use our coupons. What every happened to the customer is always right? Apparently they don't use that motto at the Surfside. This guy was extremely rude and would not listen to a word we said. I was promised the manager would call when she returned to work the next Tuesday; didn't happen. Other staff members besides that desk clerk were quite nice and friendly, though. As for the room, it was very clean, but do not go by the pictures on Surfside's website; couldn't be farther from the truth. The hallways are dingy with stained carpets, bad lighting and no air conditioning. Ice machines are inconveniently located only on the 6th and 7th floors.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvthebeach0579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay P, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to review our hotel. I apologize that you were not greeted with a warm welcome because our staff is always complimented on their friendly personality. As far as the coupon, it is a promotional discount on a walk-in basis only and I do apologize that you were misinformed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    227
    71
    25
    34
See reviews for
291
179
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were looking for an affordable mini-vaca at the beach and the Surfside accommodated beautifully. Location is really nice, just south of the fishing pier so maybe a little less crowded than some other areas. Also nice to have a boardwalk right down to the beach. Have to agree that the staff totally rocks - here's looking at YOU, Erin! Unusual that the balcony access is a door, not sliders, and the windows don't open. We just propped open the door for our requisite waves-crashing sleep experience. Great value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackNDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay P, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fabulous time while in the hotel and the south end of the beach. Also, glad you experienced the soothing sounds of the waves. I will be sure to let the staff know they "rock". Looking forward to your visit next time you are in Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruckersville, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were a little cautious at first because of the low price, but this is one of the best places that we have ever stayed at in Virginia Beach! I personally think the best part was the nice staff. Every time I would pass or see a staff member, they would ALWAYS greet me, saying "Good morning" or "Hello, how are you?" I really can't think of anything to complain about! I will definitely be staying with Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites again!

Room Tip: The parking garage for this hotel seemed a little low, but I did see a couple SUV's parked. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay P, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the hotel met your expectations. I will let the hotel staff know how welcome they made you feel while in our hotel. We strive to achieve the “Best Customer Service” to our guest.
We look forward to your return visit while in Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Pump, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Overall I really liked this hotel. The rooms were nice and clean. The staff was great. The free breakfast each morning was great. The only complaints would be that outside in the back towards the beach could have been cleaner and their pool area needed some remodeling. The pool was clean; but the back wall was kind of ick; needed updating and repairs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay P, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad you got to partake in the complimentary breakfast. This is a nice way to start your day. We do have wonderful staff that always shows an interest in our guest. Thank you for your feedback on the pool area. I will pass this information to the maintenance staff. See you next time you are in Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in July and absolutely loved our stay here. The location was awesome! Even more so since our favorite place to have dinner while in VA Beach is right down in the lobby (Fish Bones), and breakfast for the best biscuits & gravy right across the street.

Unfortunately, we made another trip in August and wanted to save money by staying in a cheaper motel a block away. What I missed the most other than the beautiful ocean view was the comfy BEDS!! Oh how we wished we had just come and paid the money to stay in this hotel! Can't wait until next Summer...we will definitely be staying here :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lena82in201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay P, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your stay with us. See you next summer or sooner if your travels bring you to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Surfside was the perfect hotel to view the Rock n Roll 1/2 marathon. The finish line for the race was right at the hotel. The hotel staff was courteous and helpful. Great location for the boardwalk, restaurants and activities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay P, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
We appreciate your feed back from your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us while in Virginia Beach. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesconset, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Tried the Surfside Oceanfront for a second year in a row. Rooms appeared to be repainted this year and various maintenance tasks were underway. Carpeting in hallways appeared quite shabby looking, but painting was happening in those same hallways. I suspect carpeting will be replaced next. Overall, the hotel is making a nice effort to please. SMALL NOTE: A possible change to the hotel supplied shampoo. It has a funky smell. Not really pleasant. This is still a beach hotel, but is was better than last year. I give a 7.5 out of 10 ............

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ridgbie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay P, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We are in the process of making renovations to the hotel. We look forward to your visit with us next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Vir...
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 1211 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3539 (Formerly Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome, home to the longest pleasure beach on the planet, Four Points By Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront helps you make the most everything this vibrant city has to offer. all rooms feature a magnificent view of the Atlantic Ocean with a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Surfside Oceanfront Inn And Suites
Surfside Hotel Virginia Beach
Surfside Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing