We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good overall.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good overall.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Nice view from the room. Free breakfast with alots of verities to choose from but too bad they don't have eggs and bacon. It'll be a complete breakfast with those. Otherwise it's a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yung2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    221
    67
    25
    33
See reviews for
283
175
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky River, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights in August. The front desk was polite. When we got to our floor, we were overwhelmed by the pungent smell of alcohol. Obviouslly, someone left there garbage in the hallway garbage can and it stunk like hell. Upon entering the room, it was small, but very clean. My wife is a "bedbug" nut and she looked long and hard, but did not see any signs of a bug of any time. The room had a moderately strong deodorizer smell, but was not bad. The beds were fairly comfortable. The bathroom was tiny-the sink was in a separate room from the toilet and tub. The counter top for the sink was very small also.
Like I said, this was not a high end hotel. A person basically sleeps here and that is it. When on the balcony each evening, there was an aromatic smell of burning marijuana coming from another balcony. I was not able to figure out from where. There was a restaurant on the 1st floor that was always busy.
On some better notes, the view of the beach was wonderful. We overlooked the boardwalk. The beach was huge and the water was comfortably warm. The waves were big enough to keep us busy, but not too big to do any significant harm. Both the beach and the boardwalk was kept exceptionally clean by the city.
If you stay here with the intentions of staying at a Taj Mahal-you will be disappointed. If you want beach and a place to flop- this would work wonders for you.
The pool is on the 5th floor and from what I can see, not too pleasant. The pool room had a bad odor to it. We did not go in-preferred the beach anyway
As for Virginia Beach, there is plenty for everyone. It is not crazy like Myrtle Beach, but it is busy. We saw a couple of aircraft carriers, the Navy jets practicing daily. We were even entertained on Friday with the recuits doing PT on the boardwalk. In a nutshell, Virginia Beach was fun.

Room Tip: Rooms were very very clean. We were happy with them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugarbear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

As a last minute 4 day trip I booked Surfside since it had vacancies and was much cheaper than other hotels directly on the beach - I knew the hotel was old and run down and I did not expect much - room was clean but dumpy looking - bathrooms were partially renovated - beds had ill fitting sheets and had no support - the worst thing was that the air conditioning hardly worked - my husband got a fan from the front desk and they did not even ask why he wanted one - so that tells you something right there. The pool was an ancient indoor pool with what looked like algae on the sides and a" hot tub" that must have broken 10 years ago.

On a good note the breakfast buffet was free and pretty good. Get there early to avoid the crowds. Front desk was friendly and maid service was very good. microwave and small fridge were free- unlike some hotels.
I liked the lobby, which most people would consider retro 70's - it had tropical plants, a rock pond, and tanks with tropical fish and a cool looking eel.

All and all - if you want to be directly on the beach - in a great location, in a clean, cheap but run down hotel - this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExNJGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

In Particular we want to thank Antwien, Erin, Laura and the housekeeper Maryna. We enjoyed our stay and would love to come back again next year. Sincerely, Armen and family.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Armen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinetop, ky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

From the moment we walked through the door the staff was very friendly and willing to help out in any way. Fitness area, pool, laundry, breakfast in the morning (with lots of options to choose from), very clean room, great oceanfront view....what more could you ask for....I loved this hotel and will be staying next year when we visit virginia beach again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unknown64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

We booked this hotel after searching for weeks for a good place to stay in Virginia Beach. All of the other hotels in this price range either had really bad reviews or were not oceanfront. Surfside was exactly what we were looking for! We got to the hotel 2 hours before the actual check in time. Since our room was not ready yet they offered to change our room on the 7th floor for one that was ready on the 3rd floor. We decided to wait for our room on the 7th floor but I thought it was very accommodating for them to offer the other room to us. We were able to park in the parking garage while we waited for our room and walked around the boardwalk. When we did get to our room we were pleasantly surprised by how nice it was! We had a room with 2 queen beds and it was perfect for 2 couples! Everything was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the view was amazing! The only thing I can say against the room was that the AC was not very cool. It basically was blowing semi cool air that kind of cooled the room. It was VERY warm out with a heat index of about 103 so i'm sure when its a bit cooler it works better. The free breakfast was pretty good and the 24 hour coffee/juice in the lobby was a good addition. Check out was a snap and again the staff was very nice and even gave us a coupon for 10% off our next stay that doesn't expire! All and all we were very happy with the Surfside Oceanfront Inn and Suites and we will be staying there the next time we go to VA Beach!! Thanks!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshsgrl512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

overpriced, the sheets were old, the pool was dirty we didnt even get in, the halls smelled bad since its an old building I wanted to use the restroom before checking in and the cleaning lady took me to this little creepy room, kind of like a storage.
the staff was unfriendly, we found a tick on my husbands back that he got from the hotel, the "manager" didnt even apologize for the incident, not even offer us a discount, they were very rude.
++++ right in front of the beach+++++breakfast was ok++++

definitely no COMING BACK

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unsatisfide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcboo, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions with us. I'm sorry you were unsatisfied with the service you received at Surfside. You booked your reservation through a third party booking agent, and sometimes rates can differ. Next time be sure to call the hotel directly - we may be able to offer you a better rate. When you checked in, our lobby restroom was occupied so our staff member allowed you to use the employee restroom located in our lower level - an action which I consider to be fantastic customer service! I apologize that our employee facilities were not to your liking. I wish you would have brought the issues you mentioned regarding the pool, sheets, and hallways to our attention while you were with us in order to give us a chance to address them. I am puzzled as to why, if you found the hotel so disagreeable, you chose to request a late check-out. Although we were unable to grant a late check-out this particular morning, we did allow you to remain parked in our garage after check out in an attempt to give you a little more time to enjoy your vacation. When you returned to the hotel after visiting the beach to report the insect you had detected, our manager informed you that she was not qualified to verify that the insect was a tick, and suggested that you visit a local walk in clinic if you were concerned. She was left with the impression that you were indeed on your way to the local walk in clinic, and that you were planning to follow up with her. I do apologize for any miscommunication or misunderstanding during this exchange. However, because you booked through a third party we had no control over discounting your rate or returning money to you since we did not have your funds. Thank you for staying with Surfside and for sharing your thoughts. We hope you'll change your mind and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 1211 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3539 (Formerly Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome, home to the longest pleasure beach on the planet, Four Points By Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront helps you make the most everything this vibrant city has to offer. all rooms feature a magnificent view of the Atlantic Ocean with a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Surfside Oceanfront Inn And Suites
Surfside Hotel Virginia Beach
Surfside Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing