We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dolphin Inn
Ranked #93 of 111 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Butler, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We've vacationed in Virginia Beach every year for the last 18 years. This is the first time we stayed at the Dolphin Inn, but it certainly won't be our last! Let me start with the staff....everyone has been so helpful and cheerful. The front desk, housekeeping, and maintenance are very pleasant, and go the extra mile to make your stay the best! And the room is very comfortable and clean. If you're looking for luxury accomodations, then by all means, go to the HIlton! But, if you want a relaxing, enjoyable stay at a great price, then the Dolphin Inn should be at the top of your list. We love it here, and can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    68
    51
    54
    99
See reviews for
150
52
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paw Paw, West Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We return to Virginia Beach every October and stay at the Dolphin Inn. It is a good deal for the price. We have the suite with a bedroom, Fridge - Microwave - sink - and dishes. All the rooms look over the ocean with a balcony. Ask for a higher floor so you can see over the lights on the boardwalk. The hotel is just about in the heart of everything. We look forward to our trip every year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WVcondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The sofas are dirty, have torn worn places on them, our bathroom was ok except for peeling paint on the door, our bedroom ceiling had a huge black mold/dirt on it the hallways had filthy carpet, there is trash all around the exit door to the beach, dirty socks, liquor bottles, the overall impression is very disgusting. Went for a soccer tourney...wil never ever return. Gross!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, VA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel before it's been a few years but we were excited to go back. It was a lot like we remembered there are some cosmetic things but it looked like previous guest had a party of something we did not expect the hotel to buy all new furniture though. Our room was clean and that is the most important thing to us. We have stayed in pretty much all the hotels between 9-16 streets minus the boardwalk of course and this is a nice properly. The pool is small we did forget that part but the kids still had fun. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Motadean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Dolphin Hotel again this year for my sister's birthday. We requested a corner room which has a front and back balcony. This gives you the luxury of looking at the water or the main street. The staff were very friendly as usual but we were unable to use the front balcony as much as we wanted due to other guest standing and sitting in the walkway to smoke or watch the parade. We found this very disruptive. We were told upon our departure that if we had call the front desk they would have taken care of this problem. We would most differently stay here again. The room was clean and comfortable

Room Tip: corner rooms are sunny with two balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrhur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I came down to virginia beach for the first time to see my daughter and I arrived in the room with me and my mom and best friend. well! I pulled the sheets back and they were dirty . I called the office and told them . Then they came and changed the bedding on both beds. Those were also stained . Smh! This was suppose to be a fun trip and it totally turned out to be a night mare! the only good was I got to see my daughter really.

SO I WOKE UP ON THE DAY OFF CHECK OUT AND THERE WAS WELPS AND BITES ALL OVER MY BODY ! it was SO GROSS MY BEST FRIEND SAID IT LOOKED LIKE BED BUGS. SHE GOOGLED IT AND THOSE THINGS LOOK GROSS . MY MOM CALLED THE FRONT DESK WHILE I CALLED 911 for help and care . ( At that moment I wanted to sue them so bad. SO THE EMT confermed that IT WAS BED BUGS GROSS. AT THAT TIME A TERMINATOR WAS IN THE ROOM MY MOM WAS YELLING MY BF WAS TO AGRUEING AND IM STANDING THERE ITCHING REALLY BAD . THE HOTEL DENIED IT FOR A SECOND BUT AS SOON. AS THEY PULLED THE BED UP THERE WAS A LIVE ONE AND THE GUY STEPPED ON IT. THEN THE OTHER MATRESS GOT LIFTED UP AN THERE WAS EVEN MORE THERE. THE MAID SAID IT WAS BED BUGS . I USED TWEEZERS AND PUT THE BUG INTO A SANDWITCH BAGGY THAT we brought along .

It was a 5 hour drive back home once we got home we put all of our luggage n to moms extra veichcal . Luckily it's cold out so if there was any eggs on the stuff they'd freeze .that's what google said.
Then a day later after rest I went to the hospital with the dead bug in the baggy. I got seen right awAy with no waiting . I guess they thought it was serious . I told them about the hotel and that this was the bug that bit me and that I thought it was a bed bug. So they said it was good that I brought the bug that nastfully bit me all over. The doctor sent the bug off for testing . Later I found out it was confermed a bed bug and that the bug also

SO THEN EVERY SINGLE THING THAT WE BROUGHT HAD TO BE WASHED AT A LAUNDRY MAT IT WAS SOO EXPENSIVE .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beware_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
Capes Hotel
#34 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#62 of 111 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#58 of 111 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Virginia Beach
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#76 of 111 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#26 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Property: Dolphin Inn
Address: 1705 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3424
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious Comfort Right on the Beach! This Virginia Beach, boutique hotel offers you and your family uncomplicated and uncompromised comfort and warm hospitality at a truly great value. Located at the very heart of the 3-mile long boardwalk, this all suite, all oceanfront property provides space and amenities at an unbeatable location. The Dolphin Inn is the perfect place to experience your special Virginia Beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Virginia Beach
Dolphin Virginia Beach
Dolphin Inn Virginia Beach Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing