We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough on a budget - wont be back though.”
Review of Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dolphin Inn
Ranked #97 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good enough on a budget - wont be back though.”
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

This was a last minute booking. The staff was very friendly, but a bit lacking as far as anticipating the guests needs. We had to ask for towels each time we used the pool. But each time was quick to bring them. Brought extra towels and linens to the room right away when asked. The room needs updating, and a really good scrubbing. It was close to the Beach Street action which was mostly a plus but might have been too loud for some. The hotel really should clean the path to the beach as there was the same trash and dirty towels laying there from day 1 to day 5. Hotel should also monitor the use of the rinse off shower by users that appear to be bathing! The booking agent exaggerated the room sq ft, and didn't explain the early check out policy. The vacation wasn't ruined by these things, but easily could have been.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waterlily741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    68
    52
    57
    108
See reviews for
157
56
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Great waterfront view, friendly staff, and terrific location. Woke up to sunrises off the balcony and just walked down to the beach. Our suite was clean. Obviously it's an older property and parking is tight, but if you're mostly interested in hanging on the beach, this is a great place. One of the few one-room/suite beach options if you have a big family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gradyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Its by far not the nicest hotel on the oceanfront. It did its job though. We had a great location ocean front. Rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly! (guess they have to be to make up for how old the place is) We just needed a place to lay our heads and then we hit the beach. Ana and Arthur were great at the desk and so was Sam in housekeeing, she was the manager. We will be back bc of them and the location. parking is horrendous only downside. 1 space per room and they are small spaces. Overall decent hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I only stayed here for one night, and those 12 hours were possibly the worst I have ever spent on a holiday. Entering the absolutely filthy and smelly lobby and lift, myself and 4 family members realised we'd made a mistake. The website is completely misleading, the photos are obviously shot at a completely different angle to any I saw. Do not believe anything you read/see. We were told that 5 adults would fit comfortably; 2 slightly bigger than single beds and a broken sofa bed were all that were offered, complete with just 4 pillows. We also only had 4 towels to use in a dirty bathroom in which the hot water broke. There was no cutlery, instead 4 plastic cups. The location on the boardwalk was convenient and the view of the beach was pretty but that was down to being lucky enough to have a room facing the sea. The swimming pool was also misleading, approximately 4 strokes wide. I would not recommend this hotel to anybody, especially since it cost $300 to stay there on one of the worst nights of a holiday for me EVER. If we had not already paid the bill, we would have turned around and left immediately. Do not believe the website, and do not waste your holiday time staying there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cqs9929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southgate, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This was the worst experience ever. We checked in on Saturday 7/14/12 and stayed until 7/19/12. The rate was $300 per night for the weekends and $250 for weeknights. The location was good and thats the end of the good. The parking is the most ridiculous situation I ever dealt with. Unless your driving a scooter, it sucks. We then went to get on the elevator which took 10 minutes to get on. There is only 1 elevator in this "Hotel" that has 11 floors. Its a nice elevator but there is no air conditioning in there and with sweaty people in and out non stop, you can only imagine the smell. The room was nasty. The mini fridge as someone else said in their review was on 3 legs and ready to fall over. The jacuzzi tub was all stained and there was hair on the ceiling in the bathroom. The furniture was old and dirty, the carpet was old, and the bathroom tile was a mess. We asked before we came about a dvd player and they said they do not have them but we could bring one and connect our own. They also said they have wireless internet. When we arrived we were unable to hook up our dvd player and the maintenance guy could not do it either. I have a MAC and it would not connect to the Wi Fi so they then told me that they have a new server and they are having problems connecting to apple products. I had to go spend time away from my family at starbucks to get my work done. The balcony had some old plastic chairs and the exhaust from the central air blows right on you. So on the balcony instead of the ocean breeze you got sweltering hot air blowing on you. We called and asked for the manager but was given the run around and avoided all week. We never once got to speak to a manager. The pool is on the 8th floor and is the rather small and not well kept either. The house keeping was less than par. One day they cleaned, removed the dirty towels and failed to replace them. They left my family of 5 with no towels. We had to go find the house keeping cart and grab towels. The service was horrible until I left them a $5 tip. Then all the towels were folded really nice like and they replaced the soap. I could go on and on. This place is a joke and rip off. Do not waste your time or money. Oh yeah, its not a hotel either. Their sign says motel apartments. Needs to be torn down and rebuilt under new management.

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We booked this "hotel" because of its location and we like two room suites. The location on the boardwalk was fine but this was the nastiest hotel I have been in. Period. Then 'lobby" is a small room located off of the parking garage. You check in and then go find a space for your car and park and unload your stuff. All the "hallways" and elevators and entryways are filthy. Everything is horribly grungy, old and especially, dirty. The furnishing were old and dirty. the carpet was tattered. My wife and son would not take off their shoes in the room because the carpet was gross. To be fair the bathroom was nice and the kitchen was adequate except for the mini fridge which was on 3 legs and kept tipping over into the walkway. We were booked for 2 nites, tried to move to another hotel after immediately but nothing was available, We complained and got a steep discount on the first nite and we left after that. We just left the town a day early rather than stay in this pit. My son is still traumatized.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bchan1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I am not a person that is hard to please and I don't expect any hotel on the beach to be perfect but this hotel is just NASTY! Their website is misleading. The 2 room suite is a bedroom with two double beds, a nasty bathroom, a hallway kitchenette and a living room with a dirty pull out couch. The lady on the phone at the time of booking told me there was a master bedroom and a second bedroom. The sleeper sofa has sand all over it, the jacuzzi tub looks like it has never been cleaned with bleach! Cannot enjoy the jacuzzi which was part of what sold me on this hotel. Parking is crazy. The parking deck is packed tight, not enough parking for all guests. WiFi doesn't connect. Bathroom has mold, sheets are stained. They provide 4 pillows and two bath towels that are old and dirty for a room that sleeps 6. The yellow couch pillows are so dirty you can see dirt on them. The carpet is filthy. The pool is timy and the water is dirty. We have cancelled our weeks stay for a cheaper and much nicer room at the Country Inn and Suites next door. This is a one and done hotel! Beware!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dblocker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#82 of 109 in Virginia Beach
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#53 of 109 in Virginia Beach
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#60 of 109 in Virginia Beach
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Breakers Resort Inn
The Breakers Resort Inn
#38 of 109 in Virginia Beach
395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
#51 of 109 in Virginia Beach
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Property: Dolphin Inn
Address: 1705 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3424
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious Comfort Right on the Beach! This Virginia Beach, boutique hotel offers you and your family uncomplicated and uncompromised comfort and warm hospitality at a truly great value. Located at the very heart of the 3-mile long boardwalk, this all suite, all oceanfront property provides space and amenities at an unbeatable location. The Dolphin Inn is the perfect place to experience your special Virginia Beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Virginia Beach
Dolphin Virginia Beach
Dolphin Inn Virginia Beach Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing