We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Key Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$229
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanaire Resort Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$214
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$190
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$161
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
$219
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Beachfront(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$167
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Beach Club(Virginia Beach)
$262
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$126
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (469)
Filter reviews
469 results
Traveler rating
252
119
55
24
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
252
119
55
24
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsactivity centeracross the streetliving roomgalley kitchenmini kitchenindoor poolwashers and dryerssouth endtowel exchangepull out sofashort walk to the beachhot tubnice place to stayatlantic avenuethe entire staffthird floorparking garage
Filter
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 469 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

If this is the top rated resort in Va Beach on Trip Advisor then I wonder who is rating these places. The room was adequate but shabby. The lobby and pool area are small. The staff is less than courteous and don't seem to know what is going on. Not located that well in the resort area. Find another place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

I apologize that the Resort did not meet your expectations and appreciate your feedback, as it helps to improve our guest’s experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have stayed here each summer for 9 years and have always found the staff and the resort to be wonderful, responsive, etc.... We had a bike stolen about 5 years ago when the bike rack was on the bottom floor of the garage; chalked it up to bad luck and was pleased when the bike rack was moved to the second floor, near the smoking section, where it used to be (we ride at 6 AM, so using the rack in the Activity Center is not an option since it doesn't open until 9 AM). No issues for a few years now, but yesterday two of our bikes were stolen between 8 AM and 5 PM. They were locked, the lock was gone, too. The front desk supervisor was very sympathetic, said it had not happend the whole 8 months she worked there, helped us call the police, etc... Police told us it was an "epidemic" and that a special task force has been established for this. My husband was told this AM by another worker that "at least 6 bikes have been stolen this past week". We were surprised that there was not at least a sign at the bike rack by staff alerting guests to this, that a camera was not in place (or a sign threatening a hidden camera), or that the Activity Center bike rack access hours were not expanded. This is the first lapse of customer service I have ever experienced with the resort. I have no intention of "trashing" OCR by this post, but know of no other way to warn other guests of this issue.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BEGWIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

I am very sorry you experienced this and thank you for your feedback. We did change the hours of access to the Activity Center bike rack to 7am-9pm earlier this year and I apologize that you were not aware of this change. I hope that you’ll still decide to stay with us next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Checked in July 27th and my family of four simply and loved this place. We were situated on the 6th floor (620), the room worked out well for the four of us. Master bed is very comfortable. Kitchen very useful. It is situated right next to the Rudee Inlet for jet-ski lovers like me with my teens and boat rentals or other activities. Just cross the street to get to the beach...no problem at all. Overall, a great place to stay while in VA beach. Everyone in this resort is very polite and helpful.Thanks to Olena for explaination at check-in and to Najm at check-out very early in the morning (with a smile)....both very polite.

Special thanks to the General manager Bill Mitchell for his help!

Readers; do not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gchampag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your vacation experience at the Ocean Key Resort. I am pleased that you and your family had a pleasant stay with us, and appreciate your mentioning Olena, Najm, and myself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is our second year in a row that our family of 4 has stayed at the Ocean Key Resort. We can't say enough about how great of a time we had and how we love the property. The location is ideal, and Bill Mitchell, general manager, and the entire staff go out of their way to ensure that you vacation is a memorable experience. We'll be back again next year!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craig w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience at the Ocean Key Resort. I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and mentioned our beautiful facility and wonderful staff. I thank you again for choosing VSA Resorts and we look forward to your family’s return next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a time-share property and has resort amenities, so you do get more than just a room. There are activities you can join in on and a nice rec room. The location on the beach is good, even though you must cross the street to get to the water's edge. Very good seafood restaurants nearby on Rudee Inlet. The room itself was cramped and kind of dark with only one window which was in the bedroom. Thus, you can prepare a meal in the mini-kitchen but must eat it at a table looking at walls. The kitchen was pretty well stocked but had NO sharp knives, only a few butter knives.

The bed was VERY comfortable. Sleep well!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beentheredonethat46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

We appreciate you sharing your experience from your recent stay us. I am glad to hear you took advantage of our great restaurants in the area and we look forward to your next visit to Virginia Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews