We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Key Resort
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites Beachfront(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$266
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$121
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$309
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanaire Resort Hotel(Virginia Beach)
$433
$295
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Founders Inn and Spa(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$130
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $107/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$250
$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$318
$309
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$374
$363
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$378
$349
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Beach Club(Virginia Beach)
$354
$335
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveler rating
257
124
58
26
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
257
124
58
26
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsactivity centerliving roomacross the streetgalley kitchenrudee inletmini kitchenindoor poolwashers and dryerssouth endweek staytowel exchangelocal attractionspull out sofahot tubshort walk to the beachnice place to stayatlantic avenue
Filter
Updating list...
386 - 391 of 484 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2012

My wife and I came down for a week and I found the room to be very nice with only one problem, in the 7 days that we stayed housekeeping never came to the room once. You have to take out your own trash and strip the bed and take towels to the 3rd floor for exchange and the remake the bed.... I do that at home. The small pool is really in the front lobby where you walk in. It is a nice hotel but you should know these things before you go there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your vacation experience at the Ocean Key Resort. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ocean Key Resort in Virginia Beach mid May, 2012 for just a couple days. In general, the hotel was just average at best. these are our observations:

Negatives:
- The indoor pool was always packed with little kids. We wouldn't consider going in.
- We could NOT find sheets without hair. Although the sheets looked clean, all of them, for whatever reason, had hair in them (not just one, but multiple strands)
- The bathroom shower curtain was stained with something. Any other hotel would have replaced that curtain.
- The bathroom floor was dirty and there was a small amount of mold on the drywall at the base of the shower.

Positives
- The hotel is a very short block to the beach, but you do have to cross a relatively busy street which could be a challenge for families with small kids.
- If you are traveling with kids and need to find an inexpensive place to stay with a kitchen and two rooms, then this hotel is probably a decent option. Just bring your own sheets if possible.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 816 that had a small window facing the beach AND the highway. Because the window is sealed you can not hear highway traffic.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ed13k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

I apologize that we didn’t meet your expectations – your experience did not meet my expectations either. I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Had a great stay. Liked everything about it. Cristina collins was very helpful. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank humblewon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

I appreciate your review of the Ocean Key Resort and Cristina thanks you as well. We look forward to your next vacation with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom with balcony overlooking Rudee inlet. All 2 bedroom units are on the fourth floor only. We had a beautiful view of the marina. Friday night was noisy with traffic sounds. Week nights were more quiet.

Kitchen is very small and the pillow topper on the bed was too thick and lumpy. Pool area was very clean and inviting and all staff are very nice. Would absolutely return!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kaddiemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Ocean Sands Resort as your vacation destination. We look forward to seeing you and your family this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

A more appropriate question is why did I leave!! Hands down best vacation I've ever had. Such a pleasant experience that I know I will be back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bdwkkane1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience at the Ocean Key Resort. We are looking forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews