We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites Beachfront(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$172
$153
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$297
$269
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$177
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$245
$225
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$192
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$310
$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Founders Inn and Spa(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$166
$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$309
$269
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanaire Resort Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$360
$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (512)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveler rating
273
132
59
29
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
273
132
59
29
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsactivity centeracross the streetliving roomgalley kitchenrudee inletmini kitchenindoor poolweek staysouth endwashers and dryerstowel exchangefantastic stayshort walk to the beachpull out sofahot tubstove topnice place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
438 - 443 of 514 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I stayed at this property for the 2012 Polar Plunge and it was fabulous! The rooms were exactly as described and at a very affordable price in comparison to surrounding resorts. I have two young daughters who loved the heated pool and abundant activities provided in the activity center.The whole staff was beyond helpful, especially the front desk agents Brittany and Christina. Ocean Key made my girls and I feel so welcome and comfortable during our stay I will definitely be returning for the summer of 2012. Looking forward to seeing you guys again!!

Room Tip: They have balconies facing the marina and the ocean, so you have quite a selection. Not all rooms have balconies but it is definitely worth the upgrade!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Ocean Key Resort as your vacation destination for the Polar Plunge. We look forward to seeing you and your family this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

The front desk people were nice, parking is tight, we have a compact car and we had problem parking. The living room is small with low light if you want to read, no window to the outside in the living room. Dinning table is in a strange location in the living room beside the wall and very close to the TV on the wall. One lamp in the living room. Kitchen is small but we knew about this, since they told us it come with mini kitchen. Locaion of the kitchen is between the living room and bedroom, you have to pass through the kicthen to go from bedroom to living room and there is a high chance you may trip on the trash can which is in the way, it happened to me at night. The living room is good size but with only one small window to the outside. No phone in the living room, only one in the bedroom. The unit is newly remodeled. The swiming pool is in the first floor across from the front desk, no privacy, you can see people in the pool from the inside and also from outside the resort. We asked for beach view unit but were told its booked, but I think they do have because I called on the phone and they said they have if I want to reserve and pay.

Room Tip: Don't select mini kicthen and units with one small window. We stayed in 8th floor and they were doing some work in the 9th floor so select another floor below 8.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2011

We are sorry your experience was not what we hoped it would be. Thank you choosing VSA Resorts and thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed here Oct 21- 28. I don't remember staying at a resort that had such a helpful staff. Any question or need we had was fullfilled. The unit was perfect for the two of us, but would be OK for a family with children. Comfy living area, galley kitchen with everything you would need. Large bath, soaking tub, thick towels, good lighting. Quite a good size king bedroom with plenty of closet storage space with windows over-looking the ocean. We spent a lot of time on the balcony with sweeping views of the ocean and Inlet. The Ocean Key is NOT on the ocean but one block in. It is one of the few resorts that has an Ocean view despite its location. Everyday they have planned activities and van trips. Thursday 5-6 a wine & cheese reception.
You do have to take out your trash each day down the hall to the shute and exchange the towels for clean ones on another floor, which is no big deal.
This is a great location. You can walk or bike to everything. Waterman's Grille is across the street, try their Orange Crush. Great burgers and "caught that day fresh fish". Skip the chain pizza and go to IL Giardino for authentic pizza and Italian dishes, 9th St.
We loved Ocean Key for the staff, location, views.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ljewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2011

Thank you for choosing us for your vacation experience. It sounds like you were able to enjoy all the great things that VSA Resorts and Virginia Beach has to offer. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at Ocean Key Oct 1st - 8th, 2011. We had a lovely suite with all the necessities for us to be quite comfortable even with our 1 and 3 year olds. The pool was perfect and the hot tub was soothing and relaxing. The manager was a very nice guy, despite being a Cowboys fan :) The wine and cheese social Thursday evening was welcoming and enjoyable. The tanning bed was perfect for the two cloudy days and the kids area and arcade were filled with books and toys that entertained the children for hours. The location was perfect, just across the street from the beach and our room had a gorgeous view of the surf. We look forward to staying here again and again! The only areas of improvement I could suggest would be more smiles from the front desk staff (daytime staff) and perhaps making coffee available in the lobby throughout the day.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank naomi1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2011

We are very happy that you and your family were able to enjoy everything we offer here at the resort and our great location at the south end of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront. We hope to see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Super location, super service, super staff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: some romms on atlantic avenue or on pacific avenue has balcony
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

We are glad you got the most out of your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews