We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Property..Highly Recommended !!”
Review of Ocean Key Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property..Highly Recommended !!”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I stayed at this property for the 2012 Polar Plunge and it was fabulous! The rooms were exactly as described and at a very affordable price in comparison to surrounding resorts. I have two young daughters who loved the heated pool and abundant activities provided in the activity center.The whole staff was beyond helpful, especially the front desk agents Brittany and Christina. Ocean Key made my girls and I feel so welcome and comfortable during our stay I will definitely be returning for the summer of 2012. Looking forward to seeing you guys again!!

Room Tip: They have balconies facing the marina and the ocean, so you have quite a selection. Not all rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Ocean Key Resort as your vacation destination for the Polar Plunge. We look forward to seeing you and your family this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    103
    49
    18
    16
See reviews for
206
120
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

The front desk people were nice, parking is tight, we have a compact car and we had problem parking. The living room is small with low light if you want to read, no window to the outside in the living room. Dinning table is in a strange location in the living room beside the wall and very close to the TV on the wall. One lamp in the living room. Kitchen is small but we knew about this, since they told us it come with mini kitchen. Locaion of the kitchen is between the living room and bedroom, you have to pass through the kicthen to go from bedroom to living room and there is a high chance you may trip on the trash can which is in the way, it happened to me at night. The living room is good size but with only one small window to the outside. No phone in the living room, only one in the bedroom. The unit is newly remodeled. The swiming pool is in the first floor across from the front desk, no privacy, you can see people in the pool from the inside and also from outside the resort. We asked for beach view unit but were told its booked, but I think they do have because I called on the phone and they said they have if I want to reserve and pay.

Room Tip: Don't select mini kicthen and units with one small window. We stayed in 8th floor and they were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
We are sorry your experience was not what we hoped it would be. Thank you choosing VSA Resorts and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, MD
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed here Oct 21- 28. I don't remember staying at a resort that had such a helpful staff. Any question or need we had was fullfilled. The unit was perfect for the two of us, but would be OK for a family with children. Comfy living area, galley kitchen with everything you would need. Large bath, soaking tub, thick towels, good lighting. Quite a good size king bedroom with plenty of closet storage space with windows over-looking the ocean. We spent a lot of time on the balcony with sweeping views of the ocean and Inlet. The Ocean Key is NOT on the ocean but one block in. It is one of the few resorts that has an Ocean view despite its location. Everyday they have planned activities and van trips. Thursday 5-6 a wine & cheese reception.
You do have to take out your trash each day down the hall to the shute and exchange the towels for clean ones on another floor, which is no big deal.
This is a great location. You can walk or bike to everything. Waterman's Grille is across the street, try their Orange Crush. Great burgers and "caught that day fresh fish". Skip the chain pizza and go to IL Giardino for authentic pizza and Italian dishes, 9th St.
We loved Ocean Key for the staff, location, views.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ljewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
Thank you for choosing us for your vacation experience. It sounds like you were able to enjoy all the great things that VSA Resorts and Virginia Beach has to offer. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at Ocean Key Oct 1st - 8th, 2011. We had a lovely suite with all the necessities for us to be quite comfortable even with our 1 and 3 year olds. The pool was perfect and the hot tub was soothing and relaxing. The manager was a very nice guy, despite being a Cowboys fan :) The wine and cheese social Thursday evening was welcoming and enjoyable. The tanning bed was perfect for the two cloudy days and the kids area and arcade were filled with books and toys that entertained the children for hours. The location was perfect, just across the street from the beach and our room had a gorgeous view of the surf. We look forward to staying here again and again! The only areas of improvement I could suggest would be more smiles from the front desk staff (daytime staff) and perhaps making coffee available in the lobby throughout the day.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naomi1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
We are very happy that you and your family were able to enjoy everything we offer here at the resort and our great location at the south end of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront. We hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrebonne, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Super location, super service, super staff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: some romms on atlantic avenue or on pacific avenue has balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
We are glad you got the most out of your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corapeake, NC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We arrived around noon to obtain a parking pass and were delighted that our room was ready. It was clean and perfect location for what we wanted to do (American Music Festival concerts) and easy walk to the beach. Only drawback was no sun deck and I had to make a lot of noise to get the attention of housekeeping to exchange towels. Other than that, great place and I'd stay again....perhaps a bit over priced but it was a holiday weekend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QVCGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
We are glad our location suited your vacation needs. We look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This is great totally awesome! Ride the bikes the family ones! Anyway pool is great bring towels because they don't let you bring the towels to your room. Don't buy flip-flops from sunstations!!!! They hurt you feet! Have fun!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay in Virginia Beach with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#45 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#76 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#21 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort

Property: Ocean Key Resort
Address: 424 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3611
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Key Resort is located at the serene south end of Virginia Beach, the 142 unit smoke-free resort offers a family-oriented atmosphere with beach accents and soft colors. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Activities Center & Gaming Room• Party Deck & Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• King size pillow-top mattress• Queen size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Resort Virginia Beach Virginia
Ocean Key Resort Va Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing