We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Stay at Ocean Key"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Key Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Abingdon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay at Ocean Key"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

The efficiency suite we had OKR I would recommend to anyone. The bed is super comfortable and the room was more than we could have asked. Great value for the money. I would recommend this resort

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FranAbingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLewisRM, Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your vacation experience with us here at the Ocean Key Resort. I appreciate your comments and we are looking forward to seeing you again.

Rob Lewis
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    100
    48
    18
    16
See reviews for
202
118
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

We stayed a week in off season. Easy to travel around. Saw the Aquarium, walked the boardwalk, played mini golf with no lineups. This resort is at the south end of the boardwalk. We were given a room facing the ocean. It had a small balcony and overlooked a restaurant rather than another hotel so we could see the sand and ocean from the balcony. Large bedroom with TV & DVD and really comfortable beds. Mini kitchen and bathroom in the middle. The kitchen had full size fridge, 4 burner stove top and small dishwasher and sink so I was able to cook whatever we wanted. It is narrow. We could not pass each other while in the kitchen which was okay with my husband. He just stayed clear. Bathroom off the kitchen. Other side of kitchen is a living room/dining room. It is on the hall side so no windows. We were near the elevator which was convenient but sometimes a bit noisy. Not really bothersome though. Free laundry facilities on a couple of floors. Bring some laundry soap. Housekeeping open each day so you could exchange towels, ask for more dish soap, etc. It was easy. Staff was friendly. We had a complaint about the people above us and it was resolved. We took the tour and received a $50 cheque. It wasn't a hard sell. They showed us a two bedroom unit and it looked great.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paddy2216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarksville, MD
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

The room although small was very neat and clean. The kitchen was fully equipped. The staff were very helpful. The resort is walking distance to the beach. We got a room in the fifth floor with balcony facing the beach.The facility is close to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shylasree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLewisRM, Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your vacation with the Ocean Key Resort. I appreciate your comments and we are looking forward to seeing you soon.

Rob Lewis
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wise, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

The best room I have ever stayed in for the price. The room turned out to be a full suite with living room and bedroom connected by a by a small hallway which featured a kitchenette and the bathroom. The king size bed in the bedroom was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever found. I had a view of the ocen from my room, which was as very clean. The staff was very helpful in pointing out places to eat, etc. for us. And it was only a block back from the beach. We had boardwalk access directly across the street. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbacvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLewisRM, Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide you with a great vacation experience at the Ocean Key Resort. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Rob Lewis
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
236 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

Was scared to use a timeshare in VA Beach after some of the horror photos I saw of bad places. But, I was happily surprised.
Staff was super nice at check-in - made sure I had everything I needed.
Rooms were updated, small but had everything we needed. The amount of coffee they gave you to get started was good since there was not a coffee place located nearby.

Pool is right next to the check in desk which had no privacy but at least it was clean.

Timeshare is at the very end of the strip. We had small children so this was ok since we just walked across the street to the beach but for those who want to be in the middle of the action - it is a decent walk to much of it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnysal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLewisRM, Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your vacation with the Ocean Key Resort. I appreciate your comments and we are looking forward to seeing you and your family again.

Rob Lewis
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence Forge, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

This was a great place to stay, even if it was overnight. I just wish there was a channel guide for the TV.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adverseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLewisRM, Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to let us know we provided you with a great stay experience at the Ocean Key Resort and I appreciate your feedback concerning the TV channel cards.

Rob Lewis
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

My wife booked this resort through RCI and was able to speak to the staff prior to arrival to ensure everything was "as described" in directory. The resort has it own parking garage that is free, onsite restrauant & a local pizzeria that opened late. The room was very nicely decorated and the space utilized very well. We had a very nice view from the 7th floor with a baloney and surprisely quiet for spring break week. Although the overall resort resembled a hotel, the room were still very resort like. Lots of information on the local attractions within a 100 mile radius. We would stay again and I'm very happy that my wife planned this great week for me to celebrate my birthday. Oh, we locked our keys in the room on our way out and management was across from our room & the gladly let us back in without any hassle. Good job, Ocean Key Resort Staff!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Techbuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLewisRM, Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Thank you for spending your “staycation birthday” with us here at the Ocean Key Resort. We are looking forward to seeing you on your next birthday or in the near future

Rob Lewis
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#46 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
2.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#72 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort

Property: Ocean Key Resort
Address: 424 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Key Resort is located at the serene south end of Virginia Beach, the 142 unit smoke-free resort offers a family-oriented atmosphere with beach accents and soft colors. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Activities Center & Gaming Room• Party Deck & Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• King size pillow-top mattress• Queen size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Ocean Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Resort Virginia Beach Virginia
Ocean Key Resort Va Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing