We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We will definitely be returning to this hotel the next time we are in Virginia Beach. The rooms were nice and clean and the view of the ocean is great! It was a comfortable place to relax after a long day at the beach. The staff were very friendly and helpful. If I had to say something negative it would be the parking situation. You have to park across the street (unless you are lucky enough to find a spot in front of the hotel) in a parking garage and sometimes finding a spot is tough. But, other than that we enjoyed our stay. I would have liked a microwave in the room to heat up some food for my 13 month old, but we survived without it! Overall, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riss246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    450
    248
    114
    83
See reviews for
653
407
37
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maquoketa, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

The first night we stayed at this hotel we were away at a movie at the Lynnhaven Mall and we left our valuables locked in the safe. This included $500 cash. The next morning when I opened the safe our $500 was gone. We reported it to the front desk and they treated us like we were lying. They were not at all helpful and told us there was nothing they could do for us. We then called the police to file a report. The hotel was not helpful at all in assisting us calling the police. Not one employee at the front desk had any compassion for our situation. THEY JUST WANTED US TO GO AWAY!!! We filed a police report and were told that they would order the hotel to do a lock interigation on our hotel door lock.
We checked back at the front desk each day to see if anything was found or anything was going to be done to help us out. Each time we were looked at as if we were bothering them and we got the impression that they thought we were lying.
It was finally on our 4th day at the hotel that the lock interigation was shown to us and there was an entry into our room at the time we were at the movie. When we pointed that out to the staff they said it was our key that was used. We told them that was impossible since we were at a movie at that time. The hotel staff just continued to disbelieve us.
We were at this hotel for five days and this happened on our first day---Yet we were never contacted by the manager of this hotel!!!!! I had to call him after I returned home to even find out what his name was.
This is the most unprofessional hotel or business that I have ever dealt with in my life.
My family and friends will never stay at a Best Western Hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rymegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwvabeach, Manager at Best Western Plus Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 8, 2010
This guest also posted that he was robbed $260.00 at another hotel 3 weeks earlier. yet he never mentioned this happening during our investigation. The only electronic keys that entered his room was keys issues to the guest. The key that entered the room while they were at the movies, was a key issued to them. Police found no other evidence of entry to the room except the guests family. There was also no evidence found by the police of the safe being tamered with. This is the same scenerio that happened to guest in the previous review he posted for Madison, WI. That's is some coincidence..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piqua, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We stayed across the street in an Queen Suite.. it was very nice but definitely older. When we first opened the door there was a piece of candy on the floor in front of the couch, but we thought overall it looked very clean so no big deal right - ? I will say the staff was extremely nice, however, there seemed to be a huge communication problem. Our air conditioner was not blowing cold, and i went to the front desk 3 times to ask them to send maintenance up or to see if they had already been there. Each time they were very polite and said they did not know if he had been there but they would send him up again. Which finally he said it just was an older hotel and the air couldnt blow any colder. So we were debating on going to another.. but then on our third (very hot) night of what was supposed to be a week stay we saw the most giant cockroach i had ever seen walk across our floor! When we went to the front desk the staff assured us it was simply a 'water bug.' (which by the way is simply another name for a cockroach - google it) But, we had had enough and checked out immediately. The staff was extremely nice and lowered the nightly cost of our room and did not charge us any fees for checking out early. Then, when we got home I had a nice email from the manager apologizing for any inconveniences. Again.. it all depends on what you're looking for. We checked out and went to the Wyndham where we had previously stayed... a little pricier but you definitely don’t have to worry about bugs!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy21z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Went to Best Western Oceanfront in July, 2010 & was very pleasantly surprised. Hotel was very clean, staff was helpful & friendly, room was typical - 2 beds, small table & chairs, refrigerator, tv - and restaurant (Angelo's) was very good. Right on the beach & views from balcony were awesome! Location was excellent - close to all the action, yet far enough away that you didn't hear it all. Watched the fireworks right from our balcony on the 1st night we were there. Would we stay again? -- Heck yes!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weluv2travelanywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

My friend and I stayed here for one night during a girls' beach getaway. We would definitely return.

We left Richmond around 7 a.m. and arrived at the Best Western Oceanfront way early. Check-in is at 4 p.m. Yes, the parking lot is small, but we found a spot right away. We went in, explained that we were checking in that evening, and asked if they could hold our bags so makeup, medicine, snacks, etc. wouldn't be melting in my car all day. They happily held our stuff and gave us a parking permit.

After a day at the beach, we checked in. This was also quick and friendly. Our room was on the first floor, which isn't my favorite, but it was for 1 night, so no big deal. Because we were right outside an event room, we could hear plenty of noise going on in the hallway outside, but this didn't really bother us since it was only during the day/early evening.

I stepped outside to look for an ice machine, and an employee who was setting up a room for an event immediately asked me if I needed ice and directed me to a room that's usually used by staff only but that was more convenient than wherever the ice machine was. Very nice.

The room was a bit dingy, but that's about what I expect from a beach hotel. It was very clean and completely met our needs for a 1-night stay. The location is great. It's right on the beach and I think all the rooms have ocean-view balconies. It's walking-distance to all the bars, restaurants, shops, and of course, the beach.

The next day the staff again held our bags after we checked out while we spent one more day on the beach. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princsoreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Parking is horrible. The service is terrible. Room mix up placed 7 of use in one double room with a cot and 2 cribs. No microwave. No breakfast or even coffee. No help on room situation and we checked out! The hallway and elevators with no air conditioning. It was probably 110 degrees in the hallway. Sent me a broken crib. The poor workers there are working in horrible conditions. Pay the extra money if you are a family ith small children and go else where.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glozowsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

The Best Western Oceanfront was a good place for our family vacation. We stayed 5 nights and liked the location of the hotel as it was right on the boardwalk and we had an ocean view room (be careful that you don't get the standard non-ocean view rooms across the street on Atlantic Ave, as I wouldn't have wanted to stay there. They didn't have balconies and NO ocean view at all, just a view of their little outdoor pool.). But we stayed in the ocean view rooms on the 7th floor. The only real complaints I had about this hotel was that the elevators needed servicing (4 elevators that were working when we got there on Monday, but only 2 were working when we left yesterday on Saturday when it was the busiest time). Parking right in front of the hotel is probably not going to happen but it takes only a minute to use the parking garage, and those slots at least are shaded! We saw one guy make his wife stand in a parking spot in front of the hotel for like 10 minutes while he was doing something with the car (we couldn't figure out what) and she actually stood there...guarding off people like they'd have to run her over to park there. Absurd really...it didn't take any time at all to walk across the street! And if you are loading/unloading bags, you have room to do that without even finding a spot, you just pull in and unload at the front door. It really wasn't that big of a hardship...
The plumbing worked great (I always worry about that in large hotels), showers were consistent, hot, and nice. Housekeeping is sort of slow but it was so HOT there this past week that I didn't blame them any. It was just hard to "chill" in the room in the aftrnoon when they were going to be coming in to clean any second...at 3:30 pm...
I thought all the staff were very friendly.
One warning of the area (this was our first visit to VA), we thought the food pricing was expensive. Our first night we didn't know where to go so the hotel recommended Captain George's Seafood Buffet off of Laskin Ave. When we got there, it took a stand in line to get seated...and then we were told it was $28 a plate....and only my husband and I even liked seafood. But we took it anyway ( two kids suffered thru it). For that kind of price, for a buffet, per person....I would have really expected higher quality. I guess if you want to eat your fill of crab legs, you MIGHT get your money's worth after fighting the crowd and getting what you want from the buffet...but I just wouldn't waste the money or time! I seriously left hungry. Not what we were expecting for our first night there.
We bought beach chairs and an umbrella across the street at one of the beach stores...cheaper than renting on the beach. AND cheaper than the super K-Mart nearby.
The ocean/beach was great. We sat out on our balcony every night and listened/watched the waves and the people on the boardwalk. Great time. The food of the area (including Angelo's downstairs at Best Western) were all a disappointment. But, we were there for the beach.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
595 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,915 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
840 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#25 of 109 in Virginia Beach
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Virginia Beach

Property: Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Address: 2809 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3029 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS at the Oceanfront offers several types of accommodations to choose from. Our non-smoking hotel has stunning views from the private balconies of our oceanfront rooms overlooking the boardwalk. Easy beach access is also available from our non-oceanfront rooms, which are located across the street from our hotel, in a 3-story motor-inn style building with exterior corridors. Non-oceanfront rooms feature double-size beds as well as eight two-room suites with one queen bed. All rooms include microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers and complimentary wireless internet service for your added convenience. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet is also included as well! Please note: One parking space is available per reserved room. We hope you will come and experience a wonderful vacation with us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Best Western Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing