We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected More From a BW Plus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We wanted to relax for a couple of days in Virginia Beach, so we booked a room at the Best Western Plus Oceanfront located at 2809 Atlantic Avenue. We were greeted warmly by Morgan at the Front Desk, who was friendly and helpful. This older hotel has been renovated, including painting. Our room was small and crowded, plus the bathroom was so small you had to step inside first, then squeeze in between the commode and shower to shut the door. The bathroom sink (extremely small with no room for toiletries) was located outside the bathroom. The bed was uncomfortable which did not result in a restful sleep. The only plus to this room is that it was oceanfront. The Shoreline Grill (located inside the hotel) emitted greasy odors into the corridor. The complimentary/full breakfast was adequate. Generally, the hotels furnish hot coffee at any time of the day – this hotel did not. We expected more from a BW Plus hotel, and it is unlikely that we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 6th floor at the end of the hall and very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cuz39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwvabeach, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We will pass along the good comment to our employee. We love hearing that our employees are treating guests with value and respect. Here at the Best Western Plus Oceanfront, our caring employees are trained to be helpful to all guests. We also appreciate your constructive critisism. Changes are scheduled for the near future and we hope you will return to our hotel to check them out! Thank you for staying with us. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,177 - 1,183 of 1,550 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights in October. It was off season and our room prices were fantastically low for a Best Western on the ocean. We had a room on the seventh floor.

The room itself was just an average size - we had a king size bed, small desk with chair, fridge and microwave & flat screen tv. The bathroom was really small but for the amount of time you need to spend in there, it serves its purpose! The best part of the room....the balcony. Sitting out there watching the sun rise, the waves, the dolphins jumping ....yes, dolphins jumping in the ocean - we watched them almost daily from our balcony. (bring binoculars!)

Continental breakfast had a bit more than some other hotels,. They had hot plates of sausages, eggs, French toast, etc ready to eat which was an added touch. The eating area was very clean and had a view of the ocean as well. Perfect for eating and then walking outside to watch the beautiful sunrise. Because it was off season however, the restaurant closed quite early each night. We would have liked to have somewhere to go down and have a drink at night before bed,

Maid service was phenomenal. The staff were always so friendly and smiling every time we seen them.

My only small minor complaint (and warning) is do not go to the desk by the doors. I mistook them for an information desk and asked them a question. Next thing I knew I was standing there for 15 minutes listening to them talk about time shares and giving my husband and I free hotels for our next stay. We have done a time share presentation once before (and will never do one again), The girl at the desk was super nice and never rude but to spare yourself some time do not ask them for directions or questions unless you really do want to spend two hours at a time share presentation.

We had a wonderful visit in Virginia Beach and a phenomenal experience at this Best Western. If we do ever go back to Virginia Beach we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: there is an extended part of the hotel across the street so when you are booking make sure that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank savvygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwvabeach, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

We are delighted your stay with us was relaxing and peaceful! Virginia Beach is home to a large population of bottlenose dolphins and it is a sight you must-see! We are glad the service you received here at the hotel was phenomenal as you quoted. We take pride in making sure our guests are well taken care of. The concierge desk also sells discounted tickets to local area attractions and provides directions to our guests so that they are able to easily navigate Virginia Beach. Thank you for your comments and hope to see you back at our hotel in the future. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Best Western Oceanfront was an excellent choice for me. I was in VB for 3 nights to attend training and this Hotel provided a great hotel experience. I booked a single King Bed for one which included a small fridge, microwave, and iron. The room was cleaned daily, new towels provided and everything was left in tip top shape. The front desk staff was very helpful, they even provided coupons for local eateries and delivery service. Every morning as I was leaving, I was met with a wonderful smile by the staff. I had dinner one night in the on site eatery and was pleased with the service and meal. I ordered the special Jerk platter which consisted of ribs, chicken breast and wings, my sides were coleslaw and french-fries. The dinner was more than satisfying. My overall stay was very pleasant and exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwvabeach, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Shane,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your business trip. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our on-site restaurant, Shoreline Grill, and that everything in your room was perfect. We appreciate you and your comments and hope you return to our hotel in the future. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Best Western Oceanfront in VA Beach has always provided good service to us and the softball team that we stay there with. We have always thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The view of the ocean is spectacular. It's nice to have such easy access to the beach and to restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 866barbarap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwvabeach, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for leaving such wonderful comments! We look forward to the softball tournaments every year and are glad your team always chooses to stay with us! We cannot wait until you all return back to the our hotel in the future. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I was very upset to learn that a soccer tournament we were traveling to was cancelled, but I was even more upset that the hotel chose to enforce it's cancellation policy of charging the first night's stay. We gave notice as soon as we were informed and it was full 24 hours before the reservation. I feel that this not only reflects poorly on your hotel, but on the city itself who made the decision too cancel without reschedule options.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
Thank Carole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwvabeach, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Carole,

We apologize for any confusion the Virginia Beach Columbus Day Soccer Tournament may have caused for you and your family. The Best Western Plus Oceanfront has taken care of all guests that were booked with us under the soccer tournament and all issues have been resolved. We do hope that since all previous issues have been settled, you and your family would visit us in the future and have a great time. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

- Continental breakfast was below average. - Front desk staff was uneducated. - Some of the staff was rude. - Time share people were annoying and didn't uphold their promises. - Hot tub was not very warm. - Business center only has one computer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwvabeach, Manager at Best Western Plus Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We apologize for the inconveniences you incurred during your staff. We are taking steps to assure that your issues will not be repeated. The management and staff are dedicated to make all of our guests have an enjoyable time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Best Western Plus Oceanfront in Virginia Beach is always a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are very clean, the view is awesome, and the staff is wonderful!!

Have stayed at this location many times and will continue to stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwvabeach, Manager at Best Western Plus Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your comments and kind words. I hope you will come back and stay with us in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
636 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#3 of 109 in Virginia Beach
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.1 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#24 of 109 in Virginia Beach
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Virginia Beach

Address: 2809 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3029 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $70 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS at the Oceanfront offers several types of accommodations to choose from. Our non-smoking hotel has stunning views from the private balconies of our oceanfront rooms overlooking the boardwalk. Easy beach access is also available from our non-oceanfront rooms, which are located across the street from our hotel, in a 3-story motor-inn style building with exterior corridors. Non-oceanfront rooms feature double-size beds as well as eight two-room suites with one queen bed. All rooms include microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers and complimentary wireless internet service for your added convenience. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet is also included as well! Please note: One parking space is available per reserved room. We hope you will come and experience a wonderful vacation with us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Best Western Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing