We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Nearby Hotels
$190
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$229
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Oceanaire Resort Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$214
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Founders Inn and Spa(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$121
$94
Groupon.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$190
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
$219
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Beachfront(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$167
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Beach Club(Virginia Beach)
$262
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,595)
Filter reviews
1,595 results
Traveler rating
581
522
268
131
93
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
581
522
268
131
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskoceanfront roomindoor poolfree breakfastocean viewhot breakfastbeach frontbeds were comfortableyogurthotel restaurantnice stayboard walkoff seasonfamily vacationbalconyboardwalkbw
Filter
Updating list...
1,238 - 1,243 of 1,595 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We chose this hotel based on our stays at other Best Westerns, and this one was probably the least satisfying ever. The concierge at this hotel is what made the whole stay unpleasant. Then after counting on having a decent breakfast, just made each day start out lousy. Had we known about the lack of quality ( from the non-existant wi-fi, to the poor quality breakfast ), I doubt if we would have stayed there. With so many other choices of hotels, I think this one does not stand up as a front runner.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

It's your typical hotel. The rooms are spacious, along with the bathrooms. All of our utilities worked thankfully. There was that musty smell that is in older hotels though, if you can stand that then you're good to go :)

Room Tip: The higher up and in the center is the quietest! You get away from elevator noise, etc.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c0untrygirl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were at this hotel from Sept. 13 to Sept. 15, 2013. We had made reservations for an oceanfront room with king sized bed. The rooms in the main part of the hotel were a little bit more expensive, but worth it, the cheaper rooms were across the street from the hotel. We arrived early, but our room was ready by 2:00. The room was nice, the bed was very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was great! Eggs, sausage, waffles, French toast, grits, cereal, yogurt, toast, Danish... The only negative I could find with this hotel was that the outdoor pool was across the street from the hotel. In the summer, when it is really busy I think it would be difficult to try to cross Atlantic Ave. to go to the pool, especially with kids. They do have an indoor pool in the main hotel. We had someone pound on our door, and try to get in at 2 AM one morning, but when we called the front desk they sent security right up and they took care of the problem.

Room Tip: Spend a little bit more to get a room in the main hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ICindy1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Let me start off by saying I use a motorized wheelchair. I'm not trying to gain sympathy, just helping you to understand my disappointment. This was our first trip to VA beach, so we pretty much had to go on reviews to find a hotel. We reserved a room here (mid September), almost 2 months in advance. After reading some of the other reviews, we knew to specify the oceanfront building, which we did and got. We ALSO specified upper floor so we could sit on the balcony and see the ocean....one thing I really miss! When we got our reservation confirmation, we were on the ground floor. My husband called, and the reservation desk said they didn't have a balcony room for three nights, we COULD have a balcony room for the first night but we would have to move to another room for the other two nights. So, we took the ground floor, after being assured that we could just "roll out" onto the "balcony?", which is actually a walkway around to the other rooms on the ground floor. The sliding door track has a 3 inch high "lip", which makes it impossible to just "roll out" onto the "balcony" . Our walkway adwelcomeveryone else's, so if someone happens to need more than two chairs, they just "borrow" yours! But the most annoying and disappointing thing about this hotel is the "concierge". From the moment we walked into the hotel we were told to see the concierge for ideas for dinner, what was going on in the area, etc (what a REAL concierge does!). Even before we unpacked our car (after an 8 hour drive) we were barraged about the coupons and information she could give us. We finally got unpacked, TRIED unsuccessfully to get on line with our "free wireless" (which did not work at all the first day we were there), where I had stored all the places we wanted to go to, and the "concierge" called our room because we had not yet gotten our welcome packet (which we never did get)! So we went to see her to find some places to go eat, and basically all she wanted was to get us to sign up for a time share presentation. I could not believe it! This was supposed to be a vacation? We have stayed at several Best Westerns with positive experiences, but this was not one of them! We WILL be back to VA beach, we will NOT be staying here! Actually, I wish I could give individual aspects of the hotel, the room was actually pretty nice, the bed comfortable. The breakfast was OK, I usually had cereal and toast, but my husband was looking forward to the French toast sticks (soggy), waffles(cold) and sausage ( some days good, other days not even fully cooked).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jensmom1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights after Labor Day. Upon check in we were asked which floor we would like our room on. We choose the 5th floor, right in the middle. When we entered the room it smelled heavily of smoke, & we discovered the floor was too high up for us. We called the front desk & they were very pleasant about it & gave us a room on the North side, 4th floor. This room was very clean, however; it was smaller than the South side room, especially the bathroom. We hesitated about asking but since we were going to be there for a week, we called the front desk again & they relocated us again to one of the bigger rooms on the same floor. They were very accommodating & pleasant about it. Everything from then on was terrific. All staff at this hotel were very pleasant & helpful. We loved the ocean side balcony to sit & have our coffee or drinks, see & smell the ocean, & watch the seagulls fly by. Parking was occasionally tight but manageable with the lot across the street. We were there the week of the Shriners visit, & the parade was an extra bonus we did not count on. The street closure did not bother us. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Very clean & comfortable. The only downside was the breakfast which offered lukewarm scrambled eggs & hash browns, hard french toast, & tasteless pancake syrup, every day. We know the breakfast was free & we did not expect homemade omelets or pancakes, but plain old hard boiled eggs & make your own waffles would have been an improvement. I was grateful for the english muffins & cereal. We did not try the restaurant for lunch or dinner. Thank you Best Western for making our trip enjoyable & affordable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serena_B_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews