We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsatisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Unsatisfied”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We chose this hotel based on our stays at other Best Westerns, and this one was probably the least satisfying ever. The concierge at this hotel is what made the whole stay unpleasant. Then after counting on having a decent breakfast, just made each day start out lousy. Had we known about the lack of quality ( from the non-existant wi-fi, to the poor quality breakfast ), I doubt if we would have stayed there. With so many other choices of hotels, I think this one does not stand up as a front runner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    450
    248
    114
    83
See reviews for
652
407
37
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Locust Grove, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

It's your typical hotel. The rooms are spacious, along with the bathrooms. All of our utilities worked thankfully. There was that musty smell that is in older hotels though, if you can stand that then you're good to go :)

Room Tip: The higher up and in the center is the quietest! You get away from elevator noise, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c0untrygirl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were at this hotel from Sept. 13 to Sept. 15, 2013. We had made reservations for an oceanfront room with king sized bed. The rooms in the main part of the hotel were a little bit more expensive, but worth it, the cheaper rooms were across the street from the hotel. We arrived early, but our room was ready by 2:00. The room was nice, the bed was very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was great! Eggs, sausage, waffles, French toast, grits, cereal, yogurt, toast, Danish... The only negative I could find with this hotel was that the outdoor pool was across the street from the hotel. In the summer, when it is really busy I think it would be difficult to try to cross Atlantic Ave. to go to the pool, especially with kids. They do have an indoor pool in the main hotel. We had someone pound on our door, and try to get in at 2 AM one morning, but when we called the front desk they sent security right up and they took care of the problem.

Room Tip: Spend a little bit more to get a room in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICindy1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Let me start off by saying I use a motorized wheelchair. I'm not trying to gain sympathy, just helping you to understand my disappointment. This was our first trip to VA beach, so we pretty much had to go on reviews to find a hotel. We reserved a room here (mid September), almost 2 months in advance. After reading some of the other reviews, we knew to specify the oceanfront building, which we did and got. We ALSO specified upper floor so we could sit on the balcony and see the ocean....one thing I really miss! When we got our reservation confirmation, we were on the ground floor. My husband called, and the reservation desk said they didn't have a balcony room for three nights, we COULD have a balcony room for the first night but we would have to move to another room for the other two nights. So, we took the ground floor, after being assured that we could just "roll out" onto the "balcony?", which is actually a walkway around to the other rooms on the ground floor. The sliding door track has a 3 inch high "lip", which makes it impossible to just "roll out" onto the "balcony" . Our walkway adwelcomeveryone else's, so if someone happens to need more than two chairs, they just "borrow" yours! But the most annoying and disappointing thing about this hotel is the "concierge". From the moment we walked into the hotel we were told to see the concierge for ideas for dinner, what was going on in the area, etc (what a REAL concierge does!). Even before we unpacked our car (after an 8 hour drive) we were barraged about the coupons and information she could give us. We finally got unpacked, TRIED unsuccessfully to get on line with our "free wireless" (which did not work at all the first day we were there), where I had stored all the places we wanted to go to, and the "concierge" called our room because we had not yet gotten our welcome packet (which we never did get)! So we went to see her to find some places to go eat, and basically all she wanted was to get us to sign up for a time share presentation. I could not believe it! This was supposed to be a vacation? We have stayed at several Best Westerns with positive experiences, but this was not one of them! We WILL be back to VA beach, we will NOT be staying here! Actually, I wish I could give individual aspects of the hotel, the room was actually pretty nice, the bed comfortable. The breakfast was OK, I usually had cereal and toast, but my husband was looking forward to the French toast sticks (soggy), waffles(cold) and sausage ( some days good, other days not even fully cooked).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jensmom1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights after Labor Day. Upon check in we were asked which floor we would like our room on. We choose the 5th floor, right in the middle. When we entered the room it smelled heavily of smoke, & we discovered the floor was too high up for us. We called the front desk & they were very pleasant about it & gave us a room on the North side, 4th floor. This room was very clean, however; it was smaller than the South side room, especially the bathroom. We hesitated about asking but since we were going to be there for a week, we called the front desk again & they relocated us again to one of the bigger rooms on the same floor. They were very accommodating & pleasant about it. Everything from then on was terrific. All staff at this hotel were very pleasant & helpful. We loved the ocean side balcony to sit & have our coffee or drinks, see & smell the ocean, & watch the seagulls fly by. Parking was occasionally tight but manageable with the lot across the street. We were there the week of the Shriners visit, & the parade was an extra bonus we did not count on. The street closure did not bother us. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Very clean & comfortable. The only downside was the breakfast which offered lukewarm scrambled eggs & hash browns, hard french toast, & tasteless pancake syrup, every day. We know the breakfast was free & we did not expect homemade omelets or pancakes, but plain old hard boiled eggs & make your own waffles would have been an improvement. I was grateful for the english muffins & cereal. We did not try the restaurant for lunch or dinner. Thank you Best Western for making our trip enjoyable & affordable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwynn oak, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2013

i have been staying at the best westerns since we found the one in sayre, pa while taking my daughter to visit colleges. we fell in love with them. they have everything needed for comfort. the staff has always been helpful and kind. the places have been clean and the food good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kesha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed on the Oceanfront side, King room and loved it. What a beautiful view -all rooms face the ocean. It is so peaceful to sit out on the balcony (2 chairs provided) and sip your coffee (coffee maker provided in room) and watch the sun rise or set. It is worth the money to stay Oceanfront. The hotel is located in a great spot on the boardwalk with lots of shops and restaurants close by.

The breakfast provided is a great way to start the day. The rooms have little frigs in them so you can grab some extra creme and store in there for your coffee in the morning. There is also a microwave in the room in case you have some leftovers to heat up. Very handy.

We didn't use the indoor pool but it looked very nice. Great for families.

Check-in was efficient and quick. When we first pulled up we were afraid there wasn't enough parking in front of the hotel, but there is a huge parking garage right across the street, so no worries.

We've stayed here on several occasions and have been very happy each visit. The staff whether at the front desk, in the restaurant or maintenance have always been very friendly.

Go and enjoy!

Room Tip: Go for the Oceanfront room it is worth it! The higher up the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tikihutmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwvabeach, Manager at Best Western Plus Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments and kind words. I hope you will come back and stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
595 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,915 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
840 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#25 of 109 in Virginia Beach
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Virginia Beach

Property: Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Address: 2809 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3029 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS at the Oceanfront offers several types of accommodations to choose from. Our non-smoking hotel has stunning views from the private balconies of our oceanfront rooms overlooking the boardwalk. Easy beach access is also available from our non-oceanfront rooms, which are located across the street from our hotel, in a 3-story motor-inn style building with exterior corridors. Non-oceanfront rooms feature double-size beds as well as eight two-room suites with one queen bed. All rooms include microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers and complimentary wireless internet service for your added convenience. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet is also included as well! Please note: One parking space is available per reserved room. We hope you will come and experience a wonderful vacation with us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Best Western Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing