We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Ranked #16 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Dumfries, United States
1 review
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Staff is rude specially management. not helpful or caring at all. my husband had to rush me to a hospital because I became very sick; in the crazyness of leaving I left my cell in the room. When I called the next day spoke to two staff members , one of them was a manager, who was very apatic and just told me that if I was so interested in finding my cell phone that I just file a report with the police. I did not expect that answer; specially coming from management. something more like " I will inform my staff and call you if we find it"

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Glendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    424
    244
    110
    79
See reviews for
616
390
37
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel and it's grounds are supposed to be non-smoking. However, the hotel doesn't enforce it and there are people smoking cigarettes and cigars on their balconies and at the pool. If you happen to get a room above a smoker then plan on being smoked out. We complained several times and nothing happened.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Springtime01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwvabeach, Manager at Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We apologize for the inconveniences you incurred during your staff. We are taking steps to assure that your issues will not be repeated. As a non-smoker, I can understand your frustration. The management and staff are dedicated to make all of our guests have an enjoyable time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here week of Sept. 2. Views from balcony of the all oceanfront hotel is spectacular. THE DOWNSIDE: The building as a whole needs upgrading/refurbishment. I hear its done every 5-6 years. Also bathroom is small. Pool is actually across the street and is very small. No outsidev, its inside the restaurant. Complimentary continental breakfast is the exact same every day, scrambled eggs, french toast sticks , and sausage patty/link. Cereal x 3 types also available with various breads for toasting.
UPSIDE: Overly friendly staff and very helpful no matter what you need. Clean rooms made up everyday . Food at the restaurant which hosts the breakfast is actually quite good. Price of room was reasonable for amenities and location. Fitness room was well equipped. Did I mention the balcony view. AWESOME!! Ask for a room on top floor and really soak in the incredible views.

Room Tip: They have rooms by the pool ACROSS the street remember to ask specifically for an oceanfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dflan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

the Best Western on Atlantic Avenue offers a great location with an easy walk to the beach and to a wide variety of restaurants. The bike trail is outside the door, with many of the restaurants offering bike racks outside. The hot continental breakfast is welcoming with a wide variety of choices. The only downside, although not caused by the hotel, is that you must depart before 8:30 am on the first Saturday of September because of a parade which begins at 29th Street (the hotel is at 28th). Otherwise, you must wait until 2:00pm.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank SoloRider_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwvabeach, Manager at Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments and kind words. I hope you will come back and stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanardsville, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We really love this hotel. Everyone is polite and friendly and makes you feel right at home. It's close to everything but you can always take the trolley for a great price. Breakfast buffet isn't bad but its free so you can't expect 3 egg omelets. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwvabeach, Manager at Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments and kind words. I hope you will come back and stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel was very clean, the staff was pleasant and cheerful. The beach view was great. Everything was in working order and everything was clean on arrival. The bathroom a little smaller than I've experienced in other hotels but it was okay for a 2 day trip. You definitely can't be a too tall or chubby and fit in that shower comfortably, there is absolutely no turnaround room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 572mariannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emory, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013

we were in town for the half marathon. the last shuttle for the starting line left at 6 am. my daughter called the hotel to ask that some breakfast items -- coffee, juice, fruit -- be made available to the runners prior to 6. she was told that the breakfast hours (6-10) were "set in stone".

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#21 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Property: Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Address: 2809 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3029 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS at the Oceanfront offers several types of accommodations to choose from. Our non-smoking hotel has stunning views from the private balconies of our oceanfront rooms overlooking the boardwalk. Easy beach access is also available from our adjacent non-oceanfront room location across the street which features double-size beds as well as eight two-room suites with one queen bed. All rooms include microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers and complimentary wireless internet service for your added convenience. Complimentary breakfast is also included in as well! Please note: One parking space is available per reserved room. We hope you will come and experience a wonderful vacation with us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Best Western Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing