We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice vacation trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Ranked #16 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice vacation trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

It was my second visit in this hotel. First time i'd stayed in ocean front room, but this time none ocean side. I guess none ocean side room is little bigger and better than ocean side. Their complimentary breakfast was good enough to start a day, and laundry room, garage parking, indoor & outdoor pool also good. My kids played all over that places. One different thing was Room service asked me why skip room cleaning and eager to clean or replace tower for my room. Maybe i gave a tip?

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jeyong P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    410
    236
    106
    77
See reviews for
592
379
35
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ligonier PA
Level Contributor
185 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Best thing about this property is that its "vacancy" sign was for real: we booked about 18 hours before arriving, near the height of the season, and it's on the beach. The queen suites are across the street, but are real suites--two discernible rooms, and spacious. Bathroom decent, queen bed OK. Our room was next to the outdoor pool, and while pool area had the typical noise, all was quiet for the night. Good, central location; everything walkable. The 877 number is a broker in Florida; found this out only after trying to use my rewards points, which I did not get b/c I did not go thru Best Western reservations. Parking very good.

Room Tip: The queen suites are across the street from the beach, but are spacious and reasonable for high seas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dukesnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western PA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

picked the best western plus for a short get away to virginia beach. mostly for the location. which is right on the beach. the room was a typical chain hotel room. clean, but there were spray tanned hands outlined on the wall. small bathroom, comfortable enough beds. the best part of the room was the ocean view. and surprisingly, the door to the balcony when closed blocked out almost all outside noise.

Room Tip: book an ocean view room if you can and i recommend at least the 3rd floor. then you can see the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TantmaRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had two rooms.  The first 3 days the hotel ran out of toilet paper and we needed to purchase our own.  The room my mother was staying in the AC was not working.  We had it serviced then it proceeded to leak and drench the carpet every night.  Each day we needed to call housekeeping to clean our room and leave is new towels.  As we were leaving a huge roach followed us to the elevator.  The topping on the whole vacation however was when my nephew (9) and my son (3) were playing in our room and discovered a 6 inch buck knife under the mattress.  I am 6 months pregnant and was looking for a nice relaxing staty on the beach.  This was not at all the vacation that we had planned.  It was filled with stress and pure disgust. 
 

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lm111380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

On a road trip from NC to NYC with my two teenager daughters and stopped here overnight. Very crowded hotel, as I suppose all hotels are in Virginia Beach. Front desk didn't have our reservation at first. The room was fine, but small. Beds adequate, nothing special. Nice view of the ocean and the boardwalk. The room was old and the AC didn't work so well. I just thought it was overpriced for what you get. If you are staying in Virginia Beach for more than 1 night, I suggest paying an extra $25 or $50 a night in a different hotel to have a great room. Otherwise, stay off the boardwalk and save your money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laidbacknyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stay at a lot of Best Westerns through the U.S. and unfortunately is one was a big disappointment. our room was relatively clean but dated. the air condition was below par and hardly working (blew cold but no fan, oh and it was over a 100F both days we were there!!!) out of three elevators only 1 worked (long line ups resulted). restaurant air was barely working so it was hot and uncomfortable there too. for the money (240/night) we should have look elsewhere.

hope bestwestern looks at this and calls out the owners to pick up there game.

Room Tip: ask to see the room first and make the air works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
224 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Had two Oceanfront Rooms at this Hotel in early May 2012, staff were very friendly with
clean rooms, nice Ocean views, easy access to the Beach, additional parking garage
across the Street, Hotel has a Bar and Restaurant in House, and thus the Breakfast
is better than most other Best Western Plus locations. They also have a Ice Cream Shop
in the Hotel. Had a great time!, Beautiful 7:00 am Beachwalk along the waterline, great sand, no rocks. Near the King Neptune Statute.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TIM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#19 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Address: 2809 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS at the Oceanfront offers several types of accommodations to choose from. Our non-smoking hotel has stunning views from the private balconies of our oceanfront rooms overlooking the boardwalk. Easy beach access is also available from our adjacent non-oceanfront room location across the street which features double-size beds as well as eight two-room suites with one queen bed. All rooms include microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers and complimentary wireless internet service for your added convenience. Complimentary breakfast is also included in as well! Please note: One parking space is available per reserved room. We hope you will come and experience a wonderful vacation with us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Best Western Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing