We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Ranked #17 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Novosibirsk, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the oceanfront room with king size bed and balcony. We had a good time staying there. Perfect place, wonderful view from the balcony. The room was cozy, the bed was comfortable and the linen was clean. There were no microwave in the room, but it wasn’t a problem since they have several of them available on the first floor. The AC-heat unit needed to be fixed because it blew cold air only. It was a warm night so we didn’t need it anyway. After all, we enjoyed our stay and we definitely will be back if in Virginia Beach.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evgeny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    467
    257
    119
    86
See reviews for
688
414
38
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Riley, KS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2012

My husband and I decided to stay here for our weekend getaway for New Years. Pros: The restaurant was wonderful and had great food. Rooms were quiet. View was wonderful and we enjoyed leaving the sliding door open while we slept to listen to the ocean. Cons: Bed was soooo uncomfortable! There was no padding, we could almost feel the springs. Maybe it was just that one room, but it was awful. I couldn't imaging staying a week and sleeping in that bed. Rooms were on the small side. As soon as you walked in, the bathroom was right there by the door, no entry way. Overall, the employees were friendly. I would only recommend this hotel if you need a one night retreat, but I wouldn't recommend an entire week's stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tw1nmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South China, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

My Wife and I stayed here in December and were very pleased. the Staff were very nice the rooms were clean and the location is perfect. The only thing I was disappointed about was that there was no Microwave in the room. would have made it a perfect stay.....i still however recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falling Waters, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Stayed here on several occasions and will probably stay again. Rooms are small but clean. Employees are very nice and helpful. Restaurant and bar on site but have limited hours.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

For a Best Western - this was very nice. Great location right on the boardwalk. Room was clean and bed was comfortable.

Negatives: The nighttime waitress at the hotel restaurant was extremely unpleasant and rude. Parking was tight in the lot and horrible in the free garage across the street (especially for an SUV).

Room Tip: All the rooms face the beach as far as I could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennyFanFairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Pros: The hotel was easy enough to find, and parking at the main entrance was no problem except for one night where we had to park in the free garage across the street. Even off-season, there were enough shops and restaurants open on the Boardwalk and beachfront area to have avoided driving anywhere. The front desk staffers were very pleasant and welcoming. I had requested a king bed and, upon checking in, the clerk asked which of 3 floors we would like to have. We chose the 8th floor (top floor on the oceanside) and had an terrific unobstructed view of the beach and boardwalk with a small balcony and two chairs. The housekeeping staff did a great job all weekend, and I even had one of them check with me after cleaning to see if everything was all right!

Cons: In the actual room itself, there was very little free space, most of it taken up by the bed. There was a large desk and small office chair and a sitting room chair crammed in the far corner. There was a refrigerator but no microwave and a 4-cup coffee pot that had to be moved to another location because it wasn't plugged in. There was no closet, just a hanger rack facing the bathroom sink and right next to the entrance door. I had issues with accidentally shutting my shirts in the door. The toilet and shower room were separate and at least there was enough room in the shower to move around.

Other than the space issue, which wasn't all that much of a problem since we spent a lot of time out of the room, this was a pleasant stay and we'll probably be back.

Final note: There is a "concierge" desk right in the middle of the lobby. The person stationed there would welcome you with visitor's information, then begin a presentation about a new property being built about 5 blocks up from the hotel. They would offer you a free off-season visit and a gift card, or just a larger gift card to take a 90-minute tour. I know Best Western hotels are privately owned, but I wasn't expecting a timeshare shill in the lobby.

Room Tip: This hotel has two separate buildings, so if you want an oceanfront room, ASK FOR IT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
2 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stayed for 8 days on the 8th floor and totally enjoyed the experience. The room was perfectly clean and the staff were always extremely pleasant. The view was wonderful. Every morning I could sit on the private balcony sipping my coffee, looking out at an amazing view and watching the dolphins swim by.
While the rooms are not huge or fancy and I would have liked to have a microwave, I would recommend this hotel for its budget price, good location, reserved parking, and especially the cheerfulness and helpfulness of all the staff.

Room Tip: The upper floors give you a great view out over the ocean and boardwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viph2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#77 of 109 in Virginia Beach
501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
12.4 mi away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Virginia Beach

Property: Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Address: 2809 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3029 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS at the Oceanfront offers several types of accommodations to choose from. Our non-smoking hotel has stunning views from the private balconies of our oceanfront rooms overlooking the boardwalk. Easy beach access is also available from our non-oceanfront rooms, which are located across the street from our hotel, in a 3-story motor-inn style building with exterior corridors. Non-oceanfront rooms feature double-size beds as well as eight two-room suites with one queen bed. All rooms include microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers and complimentary wireless internet service for your added convenience. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet is also included as well! Please note: One parking space is available per reserved room. We hope you will come and experience a wonderful vacation with us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Best Western Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing