We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well-used hotel, but excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Well-used hotel, but excellent stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

To be honest, I was a bit concerned when we first checked in. It looked a bit rough around the edges. However, it became clear that this is a well-maintained place despite being well-used. Everything worked. Cable was great. Wireless was great. Parking was a bit tight, but we parked in the annex parking garage across the street without problem. Was disappointed that it didn't have a complimentary breakfast. Like most properties in Va. Beach , it is showing it's age (bathroom could use some upgrading), but the location (right on the beach) and the price makes it a great choice. Hotel staff were very responsive to requests for additional toilet paper, blankets etc. AC was powerful (particularly important was the outside temperature was 39C and humidex was 50C (100 and 120 F). The VA. Beach nighttime outdoor entertainment was a hit. Overall, a bargain for VA. Beach, which is quite pricey in many other ways.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuartrmwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    417
    238
    106
    77
See reviews for
606
384
36
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days/4 nights while on our family vacation. We were checked in quickly and found our room to be very nice. It was clean, no smell/odor, and the view of course was great!! The room was cleaned daily. I had to ask the cleaning lady on our 2nd day if she could vaccum daily because of all the sand we and the kids brought in, but she said no problem and did so every day. There was a refridgerator in this room but NO microwave. Apparently there are no microwaves in any of the rooms. There is only a "communal" one in the arcade (which was grose by the way and I let the front desk know it needed to be cleaned). The indoor pool was nice. The beds were comfy and the bathroom was clean. Water pressure was not so good, but that's to be expected. The shower head had a 4 different massage settings so that helped. We took our bikes and the bike rack was on the back side of the hotel, by the doors that went out to the bike trail and boardwalk. That was really nice because at previous hotels the bike rack was at the front where you park and to get your bike to the bike trail you had to go all the way around. There was no free breakfast but the restaurant on the property (Angelo's by the Sea) was nice. We only ate breakfast there though. Pancakes were great. Another down fall was that the hall way in the afternoon was boiling hot which kind of made our room hotter in the afternoon. But we just learned that when we got back from the beach, to turn the AC down and it cooled down quickly. Beds were very comfy and room was quiet. We didn't hear a lot of noise from other rooms. Best thing was that this whole hotel was NON-SMOKING!!! Huge plus for me!! All in all, I'd stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth15010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Awful! Dirty rooms in disrepair. Useless desk staff. Terrible restaurant. No continental breakfast. Housekeeping was a joke. The front desk knew nothing about anything. They ran out of towels, pillows, blankets, and "do not disturb" tags. The bathroom door in our room was broken and did not latch closed. We told the desk that a truck was blocking the fire exit door and we were told that we shouldn't use it anyway, seriously!?

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandaceNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

...away from the hustle and bustle part of Atlantic Ave - which for a family with a toddler is good news. We enjoy the nightlife, however we don't want to be kept awake with the noise of music and people. No microwave in room - one for entire hotel is inconvenient. Room was nice and beds were comfortable - but the room was not the cleanest. There was a mammoth soap/hairball in the drain that didn't allow the water to go down the drain. The carpet was flithy - my sons feet and knees were very dirty after a few minutes of play on the floor. However, with all that being said, the price was right for an oceanfront view and the location was a plus, too. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csky07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

I think the title says it all. We had an oceanfront room with a balcony. The room was clean and spacious.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deshanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Although we originally booked a non-oceanfront room in the motel across the street, we decided to upgrade to an oceanfront room after travelling 10 hrs to get there. The view of the ocean and beach was breathtaking from our balcony. The hotel was very clean, the staff was friendly and courteous, and the pools were nice (although the outdoor pool was across the street at the motel, which was no problem). We were able to access the free WiFi without any problems. The only "complaint" I have is the beds were too firm.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnuFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

Bestwestern Oceanfront in Virginia Beach is a clean and friendly hotel! We stayed in an oceanfront double room. The room was a little small, but we had a great view of the ocean. The hotel is located near most attractions on the boardwalk. Overall, we were pleased with the hotel and we would stay at this property again. The only complaint was that the indoor pool had a strong smell of chemicals. Yes, this is a positive thing to ensure that germs are maintained but the strong odors in the pool made it difficult to breathe. We only used the indoor pool one time. Outdoor pool is located across the street at there non-oceanfront rooms. The outdoor pool was small, but it was well maintained. Guest services provided us with a list of recommended restaurants, and we enjoyed each place that Bestwestern recommended! We really enjoyed Virginia Beach!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Address: 2809 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS at the Oceanfront offers several types of accommodations to choose from. Our non-smoking hotel has stunning views from the private balconies of our oceanfront rooms overlooking the boardwalk. Easy beach access is also available from our adjacent non-oceanfront room location across the street which features double-size beds as well as eight two-room suites with one queen bed. All rooms include microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers and complimentary wireless internet service for your added convenience. Complimentary breakfast is also included in as well! Please note: One parking space is available per reserved room. We hope you will come and experience a wonderful vacation with us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Best Western Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing