We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sturbridge MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our third stay at Barclay Cottage was, once again, as close to perfection as it could ever get! Steve and Marie-Louise provide wonderful quarters, a breakfast that is heaven-sent and a wealth of knowledge about the area. We'll never stay anywhere else in the Virginia Beach area, period!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TKozy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Louise L, Owner at Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
The very best part of owning this inn is welcoming back guests like you who become extended family and friends. Thanks for coming back again and for your sweet review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
155
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was only our second time staying at a B & B and it was a real pleasure. The B&B feels like a home away from home and the location is very convenient. Steve & Marie Louise were warm and inviting, breakfast was generous and delicious and the bedroom cozy and comfy. Couldn't ask for anything more - beats any hotel in the area hands down.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jebarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Louise L, Owner at Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your review of our inn...welcoming you into our home is a great pleasure for us and knowing that our efforts are appreciated is a wonderful reward!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a great location for the beach bleaching away from the clamour of the boardwalk and just a short drive to quieter spots on the sand or for a walk or cycle ride. Steve and Marie-Louise are attentive and genial hosts with help on every aspect of visiting Virginia Beach. We had the Scottish flag hoisted for our stay and enjoyed the breakfast table conversations immensely. The availability of the beach paraphernalia is a great help for those travelling light and much appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JAK45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Louise L, Owner at Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
How kind of you to write a review of you stay with us...and for noticing the little things we do to make life easy for travelers. I hope that the Scottish flag reminded you that, even though you were not actually in your own country, you were very much at home here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederickburg, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I were looking for a last minute getaway when a trip to GA fell through due to work commitments. After much searching in the VA Beach area, we finally found Barclay's Cottage, just about two blocks off the beach . Our hosts, Steve and Marie-Louise were a wonderful couple to get to know and they shared a great knowledge of the history of the cottage as well as the surrounding area. The house is stunning. The rooms are warm and inviting, but the wrap around porch on the second deck was the special treat that knocked this stay out of the park. It was nice to spend some romantic moments with my girl with a bottle of champagne while the sun went down. One thing is for sure: You will NOT eat lunch until late afternoon after their tremendous breakfasts. Frittatas, fresh fruit, homemade local sausages, awesome pumpkin scones...everything just amazing! The gardens at the cottage are also very romantic and well kept. Sitting in the garden with a cup of coffee in the morning before breakfast was also a special treat. The cottage is appointed with everything you could ever need, from free bicycles to use to homemade cookies everyday in the afternoon. Now as good as all this is, the best part is the accessibility to everything VA Beach has to offer. On their suggestion, we had dinner at a local restaurant, Cloe's, which was five stars. This is now our only lodging destination in VA Beach. It beats staying in a hotel by far!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Louise L, Owner at Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Sorry to be glad that your trip to GA fell through, but the silver lining is that you found us and we got to enjoy having you here! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for mentioning the extra amenities we offer...it's what we do to make our guests feel at home. And thank you for your kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was my third stay at Barclay and I knew I could count on an excellent experience. Marie-Louise and Steve are the best hosts and know how to accommodate every need. Room was clean and very comfortable, breakfasts were delicious and the atmosphere wonderfully homey! Steve and Marie-Louise know how to cater to their customers; we were there for the Shamrock half marathon and they provided us with pre-race carbs early in the morning and then adjusted the breakfast time for once we were finished with the race.
Everything was terrific - thank you again Steve and Marie-Louise.
Leslie Premo

Room Tip: Swimming pool - not applicable, short walk to the beach, who needs a pool! No fitness center but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LeslieSage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tria3, Owner at Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We were so happy to welcome you back 'home' and to realize that you and one of our other guests had met each other here before. The race was an exciting time...mostly, for us, because you did the running and we did the celebrating! Looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I am torn whether or not to actually post this review... only because I want to have a room at my disposal whenever I go to VA Beach; yes it's that wonderful!
Steve and Marie-Louise are awesome hosts! When you figure in all the amenities (delicious and very filling breakfasts, snacks, entertainment, extra beach towels, free wi-fi and much more), the rates are more than reasonable! Our bed was comfy and the room well appointed. The rooms are not expansive, but the common areas (covered porches, deck and sitting/tv room) more than make up for that. The owners were willing to work with schedules which was great because you don't want to miss breakfast! I'm looking forward to our next stay!

Room Tip: There are some rooms that share a bath; so if that is a concern make sure you reserve one with a pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JeanBean33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Louise L, Owner at Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for writing this review! We are pleased to know that you don't want to share, but it was nice of you to do it :) We'll look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Out of anywhere I could have stayed in VA beach, I'm glad my best friend and I chose Barclay. The rates are reasonable, the stay is homey, the breakfasts are great, and the location is perfect. The B&B is walking distance to the beach and a lot of great restaurants. The owners truly thought of everything! You can borrow their beach towels, chairs, bikes, umbrellas... all included in the nightly rate.. no extra money for these convenient services. The breakfasts were unbelievable. Very filling and delicious. They served breakfast at 9am so that the guests can sleep in. The rooms are neat, clean, and decorative. The owners will even book reservations for you and give you tips on where to go! This was a great choice to stay and I'm so glad we visited. I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: There are several types of rooms, all are roomy and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Louise L, Owner at Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
I'm glad you both stayed here, too. I must say that we do get the very best guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
12.2 mi away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,100 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,867 reviews
8.8 mi away
Westin Virginia Beach Town Center
Westin Virginia Beach Town Cente...
#31 of 109 in Virginia Beach
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Nor...
#36 of 109 in Virginia Beach
403 reviews
8.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beac...
#48 of 109 in Virginia Beach
285 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#29 of 109 in Virginia Beach
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 400 16th St, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1895 Victorian Coastal Cottage located in historic residential neighborhood. Turkish towels, crisp linens, heavenly beds, spa robes, modern upscale amenities, gourmet breakfasts, beach towels and all beach gear, bicycles, many extras included in rates. 2 Blocks to the beach, and short walk to 20 restaurants, 3 museums, and fishing pier. A romantic alternative to high-rise hotel/motel lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barclay Cottage b&b
Barclay Cottage Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing