We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pass it by!”
Review of Zest - CLOSED

Zest
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: When visiting Zest located on Sandbridge Beach, customers can expect a casual atmosphere and a menu with endless options, featuring fresh local seafood, steaks, pasta, sandwiches, Sunday Brunch and more! Our specials will provide you with the freshest fish and seafood offerings available in Virginia Beach. Don't forget that Zest's award winning She Crab Soup will only enhance your dining experience! While there customers can also feel good knowing they are supporting Zest Restaurant one of the first Virginia Green restaurants. Zest is committed to great service, freshly prepared food and environmental excellence.
Virginia Beach
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pass it by!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

It's not often that I give a restaurant a bad review, but in this case I have to pass this on. On a weekend night, we arrived to find the restaurant empty. Not a good sign. We were not greeted by a hostess in this tiny establishment, but by the bartender, our waiter in sloppy sweatpants. When we were seated, we were handed our menus on cardboard album covers and told there was only one piece of steak left if anyone wanted it. The flowers on the table were dead with the petals on the table and the water goblets on the table next to us had lipstick still on the glass. I cannot remark on the quality of the skimpy menu, because at this point, if the glassware was this dirty and the staff in sloppy attire, no telling what the food is like. Needless to say, we left before ordering. Not sure if we will be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherryCannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    13
    14
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible and overpriced”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Fried oysters were cold and greasy, filet mignon was overcooked. Cocktails hardly contained alcohol. The restaurant smelled bad as if it were not clean.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jtatatattat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.E. Ohio, usa
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Mixed Bag”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Came here for dinner in a group of 6 on a wednesday in late September. The parking lot being full was not a problem as there is a city lot a bock away.

The scallop appetizer didn't come with seaweed as indicated. We were disappointed that instead of bringing it to our attention prior to preparation, they simply dumped the scallops on spring greens. While some may consider the seaweed vs greens just an ornamental preference, we were looking forward to trying the seaweed when we made our app choice. The fried green tomatoes were very good, with a bit more complexity in the breading and sauce than you might usually see.

DW ordered the 'pecan-encrusted' grouper with mashed potatoes and zucchini/squash. The veggies were excellent, fresh and crisp and prepared just right. The grouper was small and not really encrusted, but more like topped with pecans - just okay.
I had a spinach salad with sweet ripe strawberries and seasoned chicken breast. The chicken, also a small portion, was very tasty, but came out tepid.

Zest is a nice choice to have when out on Sandbridge, and I felt sincerity and effort from the staff. There's an inconsistency we saw that renders the prices too high. If you are charging prices that are on par with white linen, spectacular views, or gourmet food, you kinda need to hit your marks on one.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank happytails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food - fanciest restaurant in a beach town”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Agree with many of the other commentators re this restaurant. Odd smell when you enter (to me, it smells like a house with oil heating), Jerry Springer on the TV in the bar, giving my wife and I suspisions of what we may be getting into. But it improves greatly from there. The dining room is small, and is fancier than the other restaurants in the area (but they set the bar pretty low when it comes to decor). We started with the She Crab soup, which was fantastic, and the best dish we had during the night. We had the crab stuffed shrimp as an appetizer, the crab cakes and the shrimp with grits for the main courses. We rated these three dishes from good to very good -maybe because the soup was outstanding, and was hard to measure up to. The staff was both casual and attentive, giving us their opinions (when asked) regarding the dishes to order, Would definately go back, but try other dishes (except the before mentioned soup!).

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WNYpaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Sandbridge Restaurant!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

As always, Zest didn't let us down Friday night. The service is always great, even when there are only two servers! The food is delicious and comes out quickly. I've had their osso buco twice, 2 New Years Eve's in a row and is consistently very good. The meat is fall of the bone, melt in your mouth delicious. This past Friday I had the crab stuffed shrimp appetizer for dinner and it was scrumptious! There were 8 of us in our group and everyone was happy with their meal. We eat at Zest every time we visit Sandbridge and highly recommend it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MicheleC631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zest also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing